Insulator Companies

 

List Includes U. S. and Foreign Companies

and Company Catalogs in the Files of the

Insulator Research Service

R=∞ Home

The original company listing was put together as a searching guide for a research trip to the Smithsonian Natural History Museum catalog archives in August 2006.  A special thanks to Caleb Thimell for supplying his list of foreign insulator companies and to Rick Soller for his input and company listing on his web site.  Recent resources for additions to the list and historic details came from the links shown below with a few individual contributions, most notable being Jean-Pierre Volatron.  A special thank you to Bill Meier for dramatically improving the table formating and file size.  Please check back periodically as new information is added and updated frequently.  

A special thank you to Christopher Simon Marshall who is a collector of German porcelain and ceramic *manufacturer* info, a history nerd. He does not collect insulators or porcelain figures.

The update date is shown below.

 

For additional historic information, try these links:

 

HELP!!  Please help me make the company listing as accurate as possible.  Use the email link on the Home page (elton @r-infinity.com) to offer corrections, additions, comments, etc.  This list is a work in progress.  All help is welcome!

(updated May 17, 2017

R=∞ Home

 

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Company Name Insulator Markings Dates of Operation Location Comments and History
A (top)
A. E. Co. Inc. [see Automatic Electric Co.] A. E. Co. Inc.      
A. J. Wilkinson & Co.     Boston, MA  Electrical supplies
Abengoa S. A.     Seville, Spain Abengoa, S.A. is a Spanish multinational corporation, which includes companies in the domains of energy, telecommunications, transportation, and the environment. The company was founded in 1941 by Javier Benjumea Puigcerver and José Manuel Abaurre Fernández-Pasalagua, and is based in Seville, Spain.
Accessories Mfg. Co. GATE INSTALATOR   Chicago, IL electric fence insulators
Acme Porcelain Works   1900-?? Trenton, NJ The plant started in June 1900 by Noah W. Boch. The company manufactured electrical porcelain specialties. He also operated at the time American Porcelain Works at Berryville, NJ.
Adamant Porcelain Co., Ltd. A.P.C.L. 1904-1910 Broadway, VA Converted from the abandoned Broadway plant. One source says the company failed by 1910. (see next listing; same company)
Adamant Porcelain Co., Ltd. A.P.C.L. 1904-1910 Harrisonburg, VA (Broadway 18 miles away) Converted from the abandoned Virginia Pottery Co. plant, which was purchased in the Fall of 1903 and was in full production by May 1904. One source says the company failed by 1910. The President and General Manager of both plants was William Harris Tantum who came from Trenton, NJ when the company was formed.
Adamant Porcelain Co. HOLD FAST 1907-1929 East Liverpool, OH According to Jack Tod's Electrical Porcelain book, the Adamant Porcelain Co. was organized in 1907 by J. C. McQuilken, W. J. Curry, W. A. and T. J. Andrews to make electrical porcelain. The plant was located on West Seventh Street. In 1905, the company specialized in porcelain textile thread guides. It was refitted to make sanitary ware in 1912 and closed in 1913. The defunct company was purchased by Harry Peach and George Reid (formerly of the East Liverpool Porcelain Co.) in 1915 and name was changed to T. V. Milligan Porcelain Co. and product sold under the "Adamant" name. However, the Adamant Porcelain Co. was listed as a new incorporation in The Mansfield News on May 8, 1915 (see article 7298) with George H. Reid as owner. The 5-kiln plant was destroyed by fire on February 7, 1918. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured porcelain nail knobs. According to the 1909 History of the Clay-Working Industry in the U. S., Adamant started in 1904 in Broadway, VA and 1905 in Harrisonburg, VA. The 1926 EMF Electrical Year Book listed the company making pin-type insulators.
A.D. Elektroporcelan Arandjelovac     Arandjelova, Serbia Porcelain insulators
Aerial Insulator Co.   1920's - 1930's Green Bay, WI Manufacturer of radio antennas.
Agarwal Salt Co.   modern Bikaner, India Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
AGROB Corp. TREVERIS   Munich, Germany  
A I Industrial Products Ltd DOULTON 1982-early 1990's England Name changed from Allied Insulators Ltd with purchase by the Fairey Group Ltd and Doulton Insulators was brought in at this time. The Doulton division was known as Allied Doulton Insulators. In the early 1990's that division became part of the Beauford group.
Aire and Calder Bottle Co.     England The 1851 Official Catalogue of the Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of all Nations page 125 described this company: "The Aire and Calder Bottle Co. Breffit, Edgar, Castlefor, near Pontefract, Manu. -- Bottles for dispensing and general purposes, with patent hollow corks and combination stoppers. Glass tablets, with inscriptions in glass. Glass insulators, for telegraphs."
Ajax Electric Co. AJAX ??-1920's? Jersey City, NJ The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical supplies such as wiring devices, switches, panels, electric railway material, overhead trolley equipment, etc. Address was Montgomery St and Baldwin Ave. President, W. C. Banks.
Ajax Electric Specialty Co. AJAX 1918-1920's? St. Louis, MO The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured porcelain portable lamps, radio and wiring devices. Address was 1011 Market St. President and general manager was James S. Cuming; Vice-president, Oscar Walters, Treasurer, E. H. Blehle.
Akron High-Potential Porcelain Co. H. P. CO. 1906-1910 Barberton, OH The Barberton Pottery Co. was incorporated around November 1901 by H. B. Camp and George J. Pryor, of New Castle, Pa., and G. P. Good and F. M. Atterholt, of Akron. However, that organization may not have resulted in a working company. The September 9, 1902, the Trenton Times reports the Barberton Pottery Co. was incorporated. Investors were A. W. Blackburn and George C. Pryor along with Charles M. Karch, C. H. Schubert, J. E. Whigam, John McNamara, A. F. Stuhldreher, George Cox, and B. F. Tracy. In February 1903, the newly elected officers were H. B. Camp, president; A. J. Cartwright, vice-president; Supt. Geo. G. Pryor, secretary and general manager; and L. C. Miles, treasurer. In 1904, the company had expanded their production to include pin-type dry process insulators, but no specimens have been attributed to this company. The Dollar Savings Bank Co. filed suit for repayment of a $2,500 note, which forced bankruptcy on about July 15, 1905. The Barberton Pottery Co. plant had seven 16-ft kilns and one 8-ft art kiln, which were fired with coal. They were actively making third rail insulators in 1905 when that part of the business was purchased by Akron Smoking Pipe Co. (Akron Porcelain and Plastics Co. history book, Molding A Legacy, published in 1989 states the date was March 1, 1909). It had seven 16-ft kilns and one 8-ft art kiln, which were fired with coal. They were actively making third rail insulators in 1905 when that part of the business was purchased by Akron Smoking Pipe Co. (Akron Porcelain and Plastics Co. history book, Molding A Legacy, published in 1989 states the date was March 1, 1909). After Barberton Pottery Co. was declared bankrupt in July 1905, the property was purchased by O. C. Barber, H. B. Camp and M. O'Neil. In August, A. L. Dyke, who represented the Electrical Porcelain Co. of East Liverpool, incorporated the company Electrical Insulator Mfg. Co. for the purpose of taking over the plant after it had been idle for a year. He took an option on the plant and made plans to convert the fuel to natural gas. He wanted to convert it to wet process electrical porcelain pin-type insulators, but could not overcome the difficulties. One month later Dyke let his option expire. Through Barberton Pottery Co.’s connection with Ohio Brass (Ohio Brass was selling Locke insulators), the company president, George H. Kile, requested the assistance of Fred Locke, but he sent his oldest son, 20-year old Morton, instead. Morton attempted to convert the plant to wet process porcelain, but failed after nearly a year into his 5-year contract. Morton said they were too interested in making dry process porcelain insulators. Mr. Kile asked him to leave around Thanksgiving 1906. Morton signed an agreement to dissolve his 5-year contract, which infuriated Fred Locke who traveled to Akron. When Fred walked out of Mr. Kile's office with the document Morton had signed, he was promptly arrested. Charges were dropped when he agreed to drop the issue. When Mr. Dyke let his option expire, he formed the Akron H-P Porcelain Co. in early October 1906. The incorporators were M. Otis Hower, George H. Kile, Samuel Kile, A. L. Dyke and H. E. Andress. Mr. Dyke brought a number of skilled workmen from East Liverpool to Barberton to get the plant running on wet process porcelain. He also reached an agreement with Ohio Brass to purchase the entire output for one year. He also changed the operation to eliminate drying before firing in a kiln in order to reduce manpower and time of handling (surely this idea was a failure). The plant was restarted in November 1906 and wet process porcelain pin-type production was successfully started some time after that. In July 1907, Ohio Brass acquired exclusive control over all of the company's insulator production and had all their production marked with the OB logo. A. L. Dyke left in April 1908. By 1910 the Akron company was in receivership, and Ohio Brass acquired the company in a receiver's sale in August 1910. The name of the company was changed to The Ohio Insulator Co., a wholly owned company by Ohio Brass. Presumably production of insulators for O-B just continued without interruption or change. See "Ohio Brass Co."
Akron Insulator & Marble Co. A. I. & M. CO.; STANDARD 1894-1904 Akron, OH  Company was incorporated on August 8, 1894 with the name changed from Akron Marble & Novelty Co to Akron Insulator & Marble Co. by Jas. P. Loomis, Albert L. Bouman, Adelbert L. Daniel. Jas. P. Hemphill, and Samuel C. Dyke. It was referred to as the "Akron marble works". Plant was located at 973 Grant St. Samuel C. Dyke was superintendent until he ran away with an employee (young widow) in January 1896. A. L. Dyke was the manager until 1905. Company manufactured pottery knobs, tubes, cleats. In early 1904, it was consolidated with the Colonial Sign Co. and the H. B. Camp Pottery under the new name of Colonial Sign & Insulator Co. (see article 8716).
Akron Marble Co.   1893-1894 Akron, OH  Abbreviated name for Akron Marble & Toy Mfg. Co. Manufacturer of pottery knobs, tubes, cleats
Akron Marble & Novelty Co.   1893-1894 Akron, OH Incorporated by Samuel C. Dyke in January 17, 1893. He had previously founded the Akron Stone Marble Co. in Nov. 1892. Akron Marble & Novelty Co. became Akron Insulator & Marble Co. Plant was commonly referred to as the "Akron marble works".
Akron Porcelain & Plastics Co.   1984-present  Akron, OH Successor to Akron Porcelain Co. Manufacturer of specialty porcelain
Akron Porcelain Co.   1928-1984  Akron, OH New plant built on 400 feet of railroad frontage in Kenmore, OH (now Akron) on the Akron-Barberton Belt Line Railroad and the company name was changed from Mogadore Insulator Co. 
Akron Smoking Pipe Co. A. S. P. CO. 1890-1920 Akron, OH  The company was incorporated on September 3, 1890 by Fred Butler, president; John W. Butler, J. C. McMillen, Charles H. Palmer, treasurer; and Charles Baird. They bought out the business of five smoking pipe companies. In 1895 they ceased making smoking pipes and began the manufacture of pottery knobs, tubes, and cleat insulators.  The company moved in May 1896 to a new plant at Mogadore, OH. Name changed to Mogadore Insulator Co. on April 20, 1920.
Akron Smoking Pipe Co.   1888-1920 Pamplin City, VA They only made smoking pipes.
Aktiengesellschaft Brown Boveri & Cie     Baden, Switzerland  
Alberhill Pottery Co.   1921-?? Los Angeles, LA Formed as a subsidiary in 1921 of the Alberhill Coal & Clay Co. They hired T. H. Young, one of the ceramic engineers who has been using the research laboratory, and who was formerly general superintendent of the Jeffery-Dewitt Insulator Co. to be in charge of the insulator department.
Albert & J. M. Anderson Mfg. Co. AETNA; HECLA c. 1890's-?? Boston, MA Supplier of trolley line equipment, composition insulators (Aetna Insulators), wooden strain insulators
Alberts & Kluft AKA   Tilburg, Netherlands  
Alden Electric Co. ALDEN ELECTRIC Co September 1899-January 1903 Chicago, IL Electrical supply company at 52-54 West Van Buren St organized by Fred H. Alden, president; Carl J. Schlesinger, vice-president; and Jacob Geiserowich, secretary, treasurer. They owned the Illinois Insulated Wire Co. One pair of glazed wiring cleats are know with the recessed-embossed making. Company was bankrupt by January 1903.
Alexander, Barney & Chapin, Inc.     New York, NY Electrical supplies, porcelain cleats and spools (marked U.P.W.), Victor Split Insulator (marked "The E. S. Greeley & Co., NY), glass insulators - CD 133, 126, 134, 162 and 145, floor insulators, Brown's screw glass insulator, oil insulator, tree insulators, etc.
Algoma Eastern Railway AER 1911-1958 Canada White porcelain insulators with under-glaze ink marking AER were used on this railroad line. The railway was incorporated in 1911 and leased by the CPR in 1931 and became fully controlled by CPR in 1958.
Alley Agate Co.   1932-1949 Pennsboro, WV Company was started in 1932 by Lawrence E. Alley. It made marbles and blue and green glass radio antenna strain insulators. A few years later he move the plant to St. Marys. In 1947 the company name was changed to Alley Glass and Manufacturing Company. This reflected the wider product line of more than marbles. Mr. Alley retired in 1949.
Allgemeine Elektricitata-Gesellschaft   c. 1894 Berlin, Germany Electrical supplies and insulators.
Allied Doulton Insulators     England See A I Industrial Products Ltd. Management buyout in the late 1990’s saw Allied Insulators purchased along with Wade Ceramics to form the Wade Allied Group. The Milton manufacturing site was closed in 2001, Allied Insulators now operates from the Stone factory and supplies the insulator market via strategic foreign partnerships.
Allied Insulators Ltd.   1959-1979 England In 1959, the merger of Bullers Ltd and Taylor Tunnicliffe & Co. created the company Allied Insulators Ltd. In 1979, named changed to A I Industrial Products Ltd. In 1985, Allied Insulators and Doulton Insulators became part of the Fairey Group and the business was known as Fairey Insulators.
Allied Porcelain        
American Automatic Electric Sales Co.     Chicago, IL Telephone supplies, Hemingray, Whitall Tatum
American Electric Co., Inc. AMERICAN ELEC CO INC 1893-? Chicago, IL Telephone supplies; they sold U-188 dry-spot insulators made by Square D from 1925 to 1929 (see Automatic Electric Co.) Address was 6401 S. State St. President and Treasurer, P. C. Burns.
American Electric Porcelain Co.   1910's East Liverpool, OH Operated a number of plants in East Liverpool. In 1913, these plants were shut down and operations moved to a new 21-kiln plant in Parkersburg, WV.
American Hard Rubber Co.   1898-1930's College Point (New York City), NY The original company was founded in 1854 by Conrad Poppenhusen to make flasks, cups, and buttons using vulcanization process for hardening rubber patented by Charles Goodyear. In 1898 several rubber companies were merged to form the American Hard Rubber Co. The company moved to Butler, NJ in the 1930's and soon closed due to competition from plastics. Known antenna insulators are of the small strain type, "Radion Brand". The reddish brown rubber has a metal eye-loop on each end.
American Hot Cast Porcelain Co.   c. 1867-1878 and later?? Philadelphia, PA Located at the corner of York and Gaul streets, Richmond. Founded by Waldron J. Cheyney using his 1867 patent (64,196) for adding cryolite to glass to form an opaque glass that looks similar to porcelain and subsequent patents 69,315, 69,316, 69,317, 69,318. The cryolite glass was also used to make the "Haley" insulator, which was shown in the 1873 Chester catalog.
American Iron Glass Pipe & Plate Company National Insulator Co. 1884-1885? Haverhill, MA There is a possibility that the Iron Glass Works was the actual factory location where many of the American Insulator Company insulators were produced. At least some of the "National Insulator Co" embossed insulators were almost certainly made here.
American Insulator Co. AM.INSULATOR CO. N.Y. c. 1883-1886 Boston area, MA Although insulators made by (or for) this company are embossed "AM.INSULATOR CO. N.Y." (on the base), business offices were located in both New York and Boston according to directory listings. Possibly the actual manufacturing facility was located in the Boston area, and may have been the American Iron Glass Pipe & Plate Company (Iron Glass Works) factory at Haverhill, Massachusetts. In addition, recent evidence has surfaced which indicates the Lyndeborough Glass Company, South Lyndeborough, New Hampshire (1866-1888), produced some of the American Insulator Company insulators. Samuel Oakman patents were used.
American Insulator Co. AICO; AMERINE 1916-1920's New York, NY John Wesley Hyatt invented Celluloid in 1866. At the turn of the century (c. 1900) Emile Hemming developed cold molding and founded the American Insulator Co. in 1916. Baekland invented the first truly synthetic plastic in 1909 called "Bakelite". By 1927 the company name was American Insulator Corp. with headquarters listed as 52 Vanderbilt Ave., NYC. The cold molding plant was in New Freedom, PA and the Bakeline plant was in Danbury, CT. Manufactured sockets, bushings, receptacles, connectors, casings, table outlets, etc.
American Insulator Co.   c. 1900 Anderson, IN Patent No. 660,140 granted to Cassius Alley October 23, 1900 for a 2-part insulator with fluted sides that fit inside a hole drilled in a crossarm to hold the conductor. See article ID 5149.
American Insulator Corp.     New Freedom, PA The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured molded insulation, insulators, etc. President, Emile Hemming.
American Iron Glass Pipe & Plate Co.   1884-1885? Haverhill, MA Company was organized on March 31, 1884 and started production in mid-December 1884. It was referred to as the "Iron Glass Works" and the "Iron Glass Co.". Produced insulators (CD 110.5 and CD 110.6) for the National Insulator Co. A bankruptcy notice appeared in the March 28, 1885 issue of The Engineering and Mining Journal.
American Jobbers Supply Co.        
American Lava Co.   1902-1920's? Chatanooga, TN Address was 1429 William St. (see Steward (D. M.) Mfg. Co.) The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured lava for mechanical and electrical purposes. President, P. J. Kruesi; vice-president and general manager, John Kruesi; secretary, H. R. Smartt; treasurer, W. A. Jeffords. In 1924 the president and sole owner was Paul L. Kruesi. "Lava" is actually the mineral Steatite which is machined in its natural condition and then treated and baked (unglazed) at about 2,000 degF to harden it.
American Marble Co.   circa 1901-1904 Akron, OH Listed in 1901 Powers' Central Station Directory and Buyers' Manual as making clay insulating cleats. Probably name change from American Marble & Toy Co. because various insulators found at that site from the 1904 fire were marked AMC.
American Marble & Toy Mfg. Co. AM; AMC 1891-1904  Akron, OH The company is sometimes listed as the American Marble & Toy Mfg. Co. Standard porcelain began probably in mid-1890's; markings on insulators were AM and AMC; plant destroyed by fire in 1904. The plant was located at State and Center streets on the canal. It was started in 1891 by Samuel C. Dyke, A. L. Dyke, and other local Akron businessmen. This company was the largest toy manufacturer in the United States during the 1890's. Almost every type of marble known to exist was made at this factory including hand gathered glass marbles, glass marbles cut from canes, stoneware marbles, china marbles, plain clay, low-fire, porcelain, glazed, painted, etc. Sam Dyke left the company in the Fall of 1892. One reference (page 12 of book Molding a Legacy) suggested the company started making insulators in the mid to late 1890's. They did make pottery (clay) knobs, tubes, and cleats with the markings A. M. C. The plant was destroyed by fire in 1904. Today the factory site is covered by a beautiful park which also includes the American Marble and Toy Museum. The February 1905 issue of "Brick" stated the company "is contemplating the erection of an electrical porcelain plant and is looking for a suitable location."
American Mica Co. NUMICA c. 1899-c. 1910 Newton, MA Mica insulation
American Porcelain Co.   1906-? New Castle, PA In June 1906 it was announced that A. L. Dyke of New Cumberland, WV had purchased the New Castle Pottery Co. with the intent to turn it into making electrical porcelain. The pottery had formerly manufactured hotel and thin vitrified china. The plant had 6 kilns. Some sources gave the location as New Brighton, PA. However, in 1907 the company is listed as making tubs, sinks, etc.
American Porcelain Co. (The) AMERICAN; AP in a circle 1914-1932  East Liverpool, OH This company was established in 1914 in East Liverpool, Ohio. The original plant was built in 1845 and had been occupied by three former pottery companies between 1845 and 1914. American changed the product to electrical porcelain and made all forms of dry press insulators until its operations were suspended in 1932. A 1921 electrical industry directory listed American Porcelain Co. among companies manufacturing pin-type insulators. Although it is not conclusive proof of manufacture by this company, a dry press U-98 pin-type insulator was found in this plant's dumpage. The specimen carried a customer marking of "COOKE WILSON E. S. CO.", which is the Cooke-Wilson Electric Supply Co. started in 1905 by Abbot S. Cooke and Walter J. Wilson. The 1926 EMF Electrical Year Book listed the company making pin-type insulators.
American Porcelain Co. APCO (dental) 1930's Chicago, IL Dental porcelain
American Porcelain Mfg. Co.   1854-1857 Gloucester (Trenton), NJ A company by this name in Gloucester, NJ was incorporated in 1854 by John C. Drake, Abraham Bechtel, George B. Keller, Peter Weikel, and Martin H. Bechtel of Philadelphia, PA. Charter expired in 1899. No information about the company.
American Porcelain Mfg. Co.   1858- Greenpoint, NY The pottery was founded in 1858 by Anthony and Francis Victor Boch on Eagle Street, near Franklin and lasted for about two years.
American Porcelain Works   1894-1915 Trenton, NJ Owned by Noah W. Boch and located in Berryville, near Trenton. Works location was Artisan and Murray Streets. In 1898, products were specialties, knobs and electrical goods and jardinières. Company was incorporated on April 19, 1910 with $125,000 in stock. Agent was listed as John C. Rittenhouse. Boch also started the Acme Porcelain Works in East Trenton, NJ. in 1900. Charter declared void on January 26, 1915.
American Potteries Co.   1898-? Jersey City, NJ Trust of 18 potteries in Ohio, West Virginia, and western Pennsylvania incorporated on December 15, 1898 with a capitalization of $27,000,000 and 1,000 share outstanding. Address was listed as 243 Washington St, Jersey City, NJ (see article). Bell Pottery Co. of Findlay, OH filed suit against the trust in January 1899. Options on acquiring or combining the 18 potteries into one company expired in February 1906 as the third and final attempt to form a trust failed. A similar trust or combining of companies was finally accomplished in 1911 with the formation of the General Porcelain Co.
American Sign Co. MILHAM   Kalamazoo, MI sign insulators
American Sundries Co. AMERICAN SUNDRIES CO.   Brooklyn, NY Electrical supplies
American Telephone and Telegraph Co.        
American Union A. U.     A short-lived competitor to Western Union.
American Vitirified Conduit Co.   circa 1901 New York, NY Made 50,000 third rail insulators for the Manhattan elevated train.
Anchor Electric Co. anchor logo 1894-?? Boston, MA Electrical supply company sold porcelain wiring cleats, cut-outs, switch bases, sockets, receptacles, etc.
Anchor Electric Co.   1915-1920's? Chicago, IL Address was 557 West Jackson Blvd. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured automobile lamps, incandescent lamps, vacuum electrodes, etc. President, treasurer, general manager, E. E. Caralun.
Anciens Etablissements Parvillee Freres & Cie (Former Establishment Parvillee Brothers & Co.)   1899-1949 Cramoisy near Paris, France See Parvillee
Anderson (Electric) Porcelain Co. A. P. Co. 1903-1911  East Liverpool, OH Tod's EP book indicated the plant was started in 1900. However, an article dated Jan. 10, 1903 stated the plant construction was complete; and a later article in April 1903 stated the plant construction has started. Oct. 1902: "The new works will be erected by T. E. Anderson, formerly of the Knowles, Taylor & Anderson Co., but lately district general manager of the American Sewer Pipe Co. Mr. Anderson will erect his new works in what is known as the East End, where his old works were located, and at first will engage in the manufacture of wiring tubes only, but will, later on, make a full line of electrical porcelain, including insulators, cleats, knobs and special works." The company was incorporated in April 1903 with a capital stock of $50,000 by George O. Anderson, Margaret B. Anderson, Edna P. Anderson, Thomas F. Anderson, Thomas B. Anderson. The stated products would be insulators, tubes, cleats, porcelain, pottery ware, brick, saggers, stilts, pins and other potters' supplies. Manufactured electrical porcelain. Merged into General Porcelain Co.
Andrae (Julius) & Sons Co. [see Julius Andrae & Sons Co.]        
Andre (M. M.), Pillivuyt, and Co.   1850's Foecy, Cher, France From 1878 Journal of the Society of Telegraph Engineers: "The first order for this pattern was given on April 4, 1850, to Doulton, of Lambeth, to be made in his brown stone earthenware. On August 27, 1850, Mrs. Walker dug the first turf of the first hole for the first pole of the above branch at Red Hill Junction, on which pole this form was then first used. On November 22, 1852, the original order for the same form in porcelain was sent to M.M. Andre, Pillivuyt, and Co., of Foecy, Cher, France. Their first consignment came to hand on January 31, 1853, which is, I think, the first introduction into this country of porcelain as an insulator for telegraph wires."
Angle Insulator Co.   1920's Philadelphia, PA Sold the porcelain angle insulator patent 1,213,011, January 16, 1917.
Anglo-American Potteries     ?? Company was organized about June 1903 to build five potteries in the western U. S. One was suppose to make electrical porcelain.
Anylite Electric Co. ANYLITE 1918-1920's? Ft. Wayne, IN The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured lamp socket dimmers and dimming sockets. President, G. A. Jacobs. Address on Wall St.
Appleton Electric Co. APPLETON ELECTRIC CO. 1900-1920's? Chicago, IL The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical supplies, outlet bushings. President, treasurer, A. I. Appleton. Address was 1703 Wellington Ave.
Arabia Porcelain Company ARABIA   Helsinki, Finland Manufactures porcelain insulators as well as many other types of products from fine pottery to toilets.
Argillon   2003-present Redwitz, Bavaria, Germany History tied to Siemens when Siemens acquires ceramics plant Neuhaus-Schierschnitz. Insulator plant at Redwitz was started in 1950. In 1998, Siemens Fabyka Izolatorow SP. Z. o.o., Jedlina Zdroj started production of medium and low voltage insulators in Poland. Since September 2002, Argillon has belonged to the American Private Equity Firm KKR (Kohlberg Kravis Roberts & CO.). KKR is one of the worldwide leading capital investment companies that was founded in New York in 1976.
Armstrong Cork Co. Armstrong; A in a circle; Armstrong's 1939-1969 Millville, NJ Armstrong purchased the Whitall Tatum Co. in Millville, NJ in 1939. The company was purchased by Kerr Glass Manufacturing Corp. in 1969.
Arrow Electric Co. ARROW; E with arrow through it   Hartford, CT plug fuses and wiring devices
Artistic China Co.   1886-1904? Trenton, NJ The company was incorporated in December 18, 1886 with capitalization of only $10,000. The company name may have changed to Artistic Porcelain Co. when that company was incorporated on October 24, 1904.
Artistic Porcelain Co.   1896-1915 Trenton, NJ It is not known if this company was the successor to Artistic China Co. One reference said in 1898, products were specialties, knobs and electrical goods and plant was located at Cedar Land and Chambers street. Noah W. Boch was the manager of the company and owner. NJ records show the charter for the company expired in 1900. Then records show the company was incorporated on October 24, 1904 and located at Chambers and Williams Streets. In 1910, the address was William, Chambers and Cedar streets. Agent was listed as Joseph C. Sharkey. Capital stock was increased to $50,000 on January 9, 1906. One reference said Noah W. Boch filed for bankruptcy in January 1906 with address at West End Ave and Murray street with liabilities of over $20,000, but at that time did not hold stock in the company. Evidently Boch lost control of the company with the bankruptcy, but continued operation of the American Porcelain Company. The Artistic Porcelain Company continued operation after Boch left. Around May 1909, Artistic moved to the old Standard China Works plant (owned by Warren Kimble) on Prospect Ave and the new decorative tile manufacturing company, Mueller Mosaic Co., took over the Artistic plant at Chambers street and Cedar lane. In 1909, Artistic filed suit against Boch, who was making door knobs for Artistic at his American Porcelain Co., for selling knobs to other concerns. In 1912, the company had 50 employees and was located on Prospect street. The Artistic company was put into receivership in 1915. Charter declared void on January 18, 1916.
Art Potteries Private Limited   modern Kolkata, India Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Ashworth, George L., & Bros.   1880's Hanley, Staffordshire, England Manufacturers of battery cells, insulators, shackles, and all sorts of electrical goods. The pottery was in Hanley, Staffordshire.
Asturias ASTURIAS   Gijon, Spain Made by Gijon Fabril, SA during Spanish civil war (1936-39) in the town of Gijon, Spain in the Ovilda province in northeastern Spain. The company was known for their art glass. They were a manufacturer active during the Spanish Civil War. At least one CD 106 is known with the embossing.
Austin (A. O.) Insulator Co.   1933-1969 Barberton, OH A. O. Austin left Ohio Brass and started the company. After he died in 1969, the company was purchased by British company Decca, Ltd. and plant was moved to near Toronto.
Austin Insulators Inc.   1969-present Mississauga, Ontario The company was owned by Decca, Ltd., Racal-Decca (1980), and then Litton Marine. In the year 2000, the company, the employees purchased the company. Manufacturer of tower base insulators, guy strains, feed-through bushings & RF insulators.
Australian Consolidated Industries A.C.I. c. 1950-?? Sydney, Australia In the 1940's, several other smaller glass companies were merged into C.C.G. and name was changed around 1950 to Australian Consolidated Industries.
Australian Glass Manufacturers' Co. A.G.M.; AGEE ??-c. 1950 Sydney, Australia In early 1926, the C. C. G. was formed by a merger of Crown Glass, Ltd. with the Australian Glass Manufacturers' Co., which owned a majority of the shares. C.C.G. merged with Australian Glass Manufacturers in 1942. In the 1940's, several other smaller glass companies were merged into C.C.G. and name was changed around 1950 to Australian Consolidated Industries. AGEE is pronounced "A. G."
Australian Porcelain Co. Proprietary, Ltd.   1914-1927 Yarraville, Victoria, Australia Manufacturer of porcelain insulators. Company started in 1914 and acquired the Australian Porcelain Works Pty Ltd in 1916. It was managed by members of the Crow family including James Crow and Robert Crow. The company, which produced high tension porcelain insulators, was located at the original site of the Yarraville Woollen Mills. The Australian Porcelain Company Pty Ltd changed its name in 1927 and was registered as the Australian Porcelain Insulator Company Pty Ltd on September 29, 1927.
Australian Porcelain Insulators Pty. API 1927-1965 Yarraville, Victoria, Australia The Australian Porcelain Company Pty Ltd changed its name in 1927 and was registered as the Australian Porcelain Insulator Company Pty Ltd on September 29, 1927. . In January 1965 the company became a subsidiary of the English company Royal Doulton, and was renamed Doulton Insulators Australia Pty Ltd. Mr G H Beanland was appointed as the company's Managing Director. During 1977, Doulton Insulators Australia Pty Ltd met difficult trading circumstances and in the 1970s Royal Doulton sold this subsidiary.
Auth Electrical Specialty Co.     New York, NY Electrical supplies, batteries, and battery rests
Automatic Electric Co. A. E. Co. Inc. 1891-present?  Chicago, IL  The Automatic Electric Co. was founded in 1891 by Almon Strowger after he received a patent on March 11, 1891 (447,918) for the first automatic telephone exchange, which allowed dialing a phone number. He was an undertaker in Kansas City undertaker who suspected telephone operators were diverting incoming calls to his competitors. Strowger developed an automated switchboard that could bypass human operators. The company later sold telephone supplies which included the U-188 made by Square D in Peru, IN from 1929 to 1951.
B (top)
Babson Bros. Co. SURGE ??-1999 Chicago, IL Surge electric fence, CD 100 and CD 100.2. Company was purchased by the German company, Westfalia Landtechnik GmbH and renamed the company Westfalia-Surge, Inc.
Bailey & Co.   1880's London, England Fulham Pottery S. W. manufactured battery jars, porous cells, and insulators.
Bain Electric Mfg. Co.   1891-1905 Chicago, IL Company was incorporated either December 1890 or January 1891 by Foree Bain (a well-known mining engineer and patent attorney), M. F. Allen, and B. S. Gray. The company is involved in designing, manufacturing and installing apparatus for telegraphy, telephony, electric lighting and power. When George T. May, associated with Bain for 3 years, became a partner in the Bain Electric Mfg. Co, the name was changed to Foree Bain & May. See Chicago Novelty & Electrical Co.
Bain (Foree) & May   1905-?? Chicago, IL When George T. May, associated with Bain for 3 years, became a partner in the Bain Electric Mfg. Co, the name was changed to Foree Bain & May.
Baker & Cutting   late 1859-Sept. 1860 San Francisco, CA Manufactured bottles and threadless insulators before the Civil War. Here is a quote from the "Alta California" newspaper (published in San Francisco) dated December 14th, 1859... "THE GLASS WORKS - Messrs Baker & Cutting have at last got fairly underway in their glass blowing establishment on Beal Street.... they have been laboring, especially that of preparing the material for melting, and getting the right land and properties of sand... The Works are of a capacity to turn out about twenty thousand dozen bottles a year - enough to supply the proprietors for their pickle business and to sell to other establishments.... Mr Baker and his workmen think they never saw better looking glass anywhere... They are now making a great number of insulators for the Pacific and Atlantic Telegraph..." Insulators were reportedly CD 1010 "California Sleeves".
Balleek Potteries   1869 Dublin, Ireland The Baleek Potteries manufactured insulators in 1869 for the Electric Telegraph Co. in Ireland [New York Herald, 11-20-1869]
Baltimore Electrical Supply Co.      Baltimore, MD Electrical supplies
Baltimore Glass Mfg. Co. B.G.M.CO. 1895-1897 Baltimore, MD B.G.M.CO.
Barberton Pottery Co.   1901-1905 Barberton, OH The company was incorporated around November 1901 with a capital stock of $125,000 by H. B. Camp and George J. Pryor, of New Castle, Pa., and G. P. Good and F. M. Atterholt, of Akron. However, that organization may not have resulted in a working company. The September 9, 1902 Trenton Times reports the Barberton Pottery Co. was incorporated with capital of $150,000. Investors were A. W. Blackburn and George C. Pryor along with Charles M. Karch, C. H. Schubert, J. E. Whigam, John McNamara, A. F. Stuhldreher, George Cox, and B. F. Tracy. In February 1903, the newly elected officers were H. B. Camp, president; A. J. Cartwright, vice-president; Supt. Geo. G. Pryor, secretary and general manager; and L. C. Miles, treasurer. In 1904 the company had expanded their production to include pin-type dry process insulators. The Dollar Savings Bank Co. filed suit for repayment of a $2,500 note, which forced bankruptcy on about July 15, 1905. In 1906 the plant was to be taken over by A. L. Dyke of the Electrical Insulator Co., but after several months he let the option lapse. After being in receivership for nearly a year, A. L. Dyke purchased the plant in October 1906 with a new company name of Akron Hi-Potential Porcelain Co. with the apparent backing of the Ohio Brass Co.
Barnes & Kobert Manufacturing Co.        
Bartlett & Co.   1860's New York, NY Address was 289 Greenwich St. From Delling's "Before Threads": "They were manufacturers and dealers in glassware and produced telegraphic glass to order. Early in 1868 they advertised that telegraph insulators were constantly on hand; 40,000 were available for immediate delivery including curtain, egg and U.S. patterns. It seems possible that some of the insulators marked with names of other New York firms (Tillotson, Chester, Mulford & Biddle) were manufactured by Bartlett."
Bay Ridge Specialty Shop        
Bay State Glass Works   1878-1879 East Cambridge, MA Samuel Oakman was listed as agent.
Bayliss, Jones, and Bayliss   1880's London, England Manufacturers of telegraph insulators at 3 Crooked-lane.
Beaver Falls Glass Co. B. F. G. CO. 1869-1879 Beaver Falls, PA The Beaver Falls Glassworks was formed in Pennsylvania in the year 1869, four years after the Cauvet patent for threaded insulators. The founder, a William Modes, had owned previous glasshouses in the Pittsburgh area before buying land in Beaver Falls. The property was purchased May, 1869 so it is possible that no insulators were even manufactured until the year 1870. It would have been necessary to build the factory, furnaces and other infrastructure to support such an endeavor. In 1879 the glassworks changed hands, and there is no research indicating that the new owners continued to produce telegraph insulators. Insulators marked "B.F.G.Co." were made by this firm, and several other unattributed styles are believed to have been made here as well.
Beaver Machine & Tool Co. BEAVER   Newark, NJ wiring devices
Belknap Hardware & Mfg. Co.     Louisville, KY Lineman's supplies, insulators, radio strains, lightning arresters
Bell Pottery Co.   c. 1890-1906 Findlay, OH The pottery had been in successful operation for many years making vitreous translucent china. In 1899, it filed suit against the consolidation of 18 potteries in Ohio, West Virginia, and Pennsylvania into a trust called the American Potteries Co. Formation of the trust failed in 1906. In January 1903, they were nearing completion of their new plant to make hotel and thin china. In February 1904 they were nearing completion of their new plant at Bellwood, OH and planned to have the plant completed in March or April. Bell Pottery filed for bankruptcy in 1905 and in 1906 the defunct plant was sold to a new company, U. S. Electric Porcelain Co.
Bellevue Porcelain Works   c. 1904-05 Boston, MA 131 State St. except ads in 1901-02 state 45 Arch St. Maker of the "A. W." cleat.
Bell Telephone of Canada BTC      
Bendix Aviation Corp.     Baltimore, MD Aviation radio equipment, antenna insulator
Bendix Radio Corp. BENDIX      
Bengal Potteries, Ltd   c. 1922 Calcutta, India The works specialized in the manufacture of insulators, druggist and hospital ware, laboratory porcelain, and accessories for all industrial purposes.
Benjamin Electric Mfg. Co. BENCO; BENJAMIN   Chicago, IL light sockets
Bennett (A. R.) patent insulator   1880's England British patent for an insulator with multiple side skirts similar to the Lapp post insulators.
Bennington Potteries (see U. S. Pottery Co.?)   1849-1858 Bennington, VT The Bennington pottery was started in 1851. It exhibited pottery and insulators at the 1853 at the Crystal Palace [Barber, Fig. 74]. They produced the following insulators: U-978, U-979, U-980, U-981, U-982, U-983
Bergman Electric Co.   1880's-1890's New York, NY Bergman first made receptacles and cutout from wood under Edison patents and began investigating porcelain as a replacement for wooden insulation. In 1885, Bergman together with John J. Kraus from the Artistic Pottery at E. 18th St. in New York, started experimenting with dry pressed porcelain. The first product was made in 1888 with Bergman Electric taking the entire production. Bergman was later taken over by Edison Machine Co., which later became General Electric Co.
Bernard Co. (E. G.) E.G.B. Co.   Troy, NY early adjustable cleats
Best Electric Corp. BEST   New York, NY wiring devices
Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited, Bangalore   modern Bangalore, India Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Bibber-White Co.   1897-1899? Boston, MA The company was started by Charles E. Bibber and Charles A. White. The offices were at 49 Federal St. They made glass insulators and sold various electrical equipment such as circuit breakers, switches, pole hardware, wire, etc. C. E. Bibber was president, E. L. Brown, treasurer; and H. W. Smith, manager of the railway supply department.
Bing & Grondahl   1918-1941 Copenhagen, Denmark  
Binkley Mfg. Co. BINKLEY   Warrenton, MD wireholders
Birla NGK Insulators Private LTD   2003-present Risha, India Porcelain insulator manufacturer formed from merger of Jaya Shree Insulators and NGK Insulators, Japan. Another plant at Halol was started in 1981.
Birmingham Glass Mfg. Co.   1923-?? Chicago, IL Address was listed as 29 S. LaSalle St. founded by Harry C. Brown Bryson, E. R. Owens, Richard T. Robb, Geo. A. Peterson and Glen E. McDorman.
Birnbach Radio Co., Inc. BIRNBACH   New York, NY Radio and antenna supplies
Bissell (F.) Co.   1892-1920's? Toledo, OH Electrical supplies: Hemingray, Lima porcelain, Locke glass, standard porcelain, P&S. Address was 226 Huron St. President, Frederick Bissell; vice-president, Walter S. Bissell.
Bloom Jar Co.   1910's San Francisco, CA The company merged with California Glass Insulator Co. in August 1913.
Boch (John) Porcelain Co.   1907-1919 Newell, WV Plant was started by John W. Boch, Sr. after he left R. Thomas & Sons Co. in 1907. The company was located at the northwest corner of 3rd and Harrison streets and made electrical porcelain. He became associated with Cassius M. Metsch and changed name to Boch-Metsch Porcelain Co. in 1919.
Boch-Metsch Porcelain Co.   1919-1922 Newell, WV See Boch (John) Porcelain Co. John W. Boch, Sr. left in 1922 and name was changed to Metsch Refractories Co. They manufactured electrical, heating, and porcelain specialties. Address is listed at East Liverpool, OH (across the river from Newell, WV).
Bonle (Fuzhou) International Co., Ltd.   1998 Fuzhou City, China Operates five factories for various small electrical goods such as switches, plugs, extension cords, porcelain pintypes insulators, suspensions and other porcelain styles, glass suspensions, and composition styles.
Borgo Isolatori BORGO 1921-July 1928 Fidenza, Italy Italian glass factory owned by French company Folembray (Verreries de). Name of the town was changed from Borgo to Fidenza in July 1928, so the name of the company was changed, too.
Boston & Sandwich Glass Co.   1825-1888 Sandwich, MA Deming Jarvis started the company in 1825. They are believed to have manufactured some insulators in the 1850s-1860s period, including CD 701.1 threadless types and lightning rod insulators. The furnaces were turned off on January 2, 1888, after the workers formed a union and demanded new rules and wages. Several of the workers then formed the Sandwich Co-operative Glass Co. in 1888.
Boston Bottle Works   1872-1877 Boston, MA Samuel Oakman 
Bouchery (G.) & Cie (G. Bouchery & Company)   1897-1912 Paris, France See mini-gingerbread man: http://www.insulators.info/pictures/?id=182147954
Bourne (Joseph) & Son   1840-1890's or longer near Derby, England Joseph Bourne & Son formed c. 1850 when his son was taken into the business. Incorporated as Joseph Bourne & Son Ltd in 1916 until it became a public company in 1970. 6 St. Pancras Station, Euston road, N. W. and Denby Pottery near Derby. Manufactured various porcelain/pottery insulators such as Varleys "V" and "Z" pattern and the Fullers patent (U-1991-1992 series) corrugated inverted cone. The 1883 Telegraphic Journal and Electrical Review (London) stated they were making the Slater Lewis self-binding (screw-top) insulator. The Journal of the Society of Telegraph Engineers and Electricians published in 1881 stated "The peculiar qualities resulting from the composition of the paste from which these insulators are produced are a high degree of vitrification, combined with great toughness and strength. These qualities have led, since the commencement of the manufacture, thirty years ago, to a large and increasing demand. It was announced in the February 2, 1894 issue of The Electrical Review - London that the company had succeeded in threading stoneware insulators. For many years the firm enjoyed the exclusive right to manufacture the well-known double V insulators, patented by Mr. Varley, whilst these and other shapes -- notably the Z pattern -- have been largely supplied to the English Government Telegraph Department."
Brach, (L. S.) Mfg. Co. [see L. S. Brach Mfg. Co.] BRACH 1908-1920's? Newark, NJ The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electric railway signals and other specialties. Also sold radio antenna insulators. Address listed as 127-129 Sussex Ave. President, treasurer and general manager, L. S. Brach; vice-president, A. G. Brach.
Brady Electric & Mfg. Co.   1920's New Britain, CT Manufacturer of tree insulators. Listed in the 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book. Address was 42 Center St.
Brewer-Titchner Corp.       Insulator hardware supplier
Brian Pottery Co., Inc.   1898-1908 Trenton, NJ Located at 350 Hamilton Ave. near the Interstate Fairgrounds. In 1899, their ad stated "Manufacturers of Porcelain Baths, Wash Trays, Sinks, etc. High Grade Vitrified Porcelain for Electrical Purposes. New and Difficult Designs a Specialty."
Bright's patent insulator (CD 630 and CD 631) BRIGHT'S INSULATOR // REID 1858   England See foreign patent (Great Britain) 2601 granted 1858 to Charles Tilston Bright. His invention of the "double-cup insulator" included a larger skirt fitted down on the upper portion to cover the insulator below the cable groove on top.
Brilliant Glass Products Co.   1923-1927 Brilliant, OH Company was incorporated in October 1923 at Columbus, OH. The plant was located five miles west of Steubenville, OH at Brilliant, OH on the Ohio river. The incorporators are: W. A. Craig of Brilliant and W. K. Rogers of Wellsburg, W. Va. W. N. Matthews of Wellsburg has been elected vice-president and general manager of the plant. A general line of ship, railroad and automobile lenses were featured by the company, and it was announced that orders insuring a steady run of six months were now in hand. An additional day tank was to be built at once, giving the firm a battery of three tanks. In 1927, the plant was moved to Weston, WV.
Brilliant Glass Products Co.   1927-?? Edmiston (near Weston), WV Plant was moved to Edmiston which was on the Weston-Clarksburg interurban line near Weston, WV. Operations started on October 20, 1927. Products were lenses, automobile headlights, signal glass, radio accessories (antenna insulators), and novelties. Charles M. Snaith, president; W. N. Mathews, vice president and general manager; A. S. Freeman, secretary and sales manager; Andrew Edmiston, Jr. It is known that they produced radio strain insulators. Some were made of white milk glass. Charles Snaith acquired the company in 1929.
British Insulated Callender's Cables Ltd.     England Mine, trolley, tram, and electrical supplies
British Insulators and Helsby Cables     Helsby, Cheshire, England Porcelain; formerly Telegraph Mfg. Co.
British Insulite Co., Ltd.   circa 1883-1885 England Dr. Fleming had patents covering a composition material. In Feb. 1883, the company held a second annual stockholder's meeting reporting on the progress of obtaining equipment and property to build a plant. Some small amount of product had been produced and sold previously. Apparently this company was not successful as it was liquidated around July 1885.
British Johns-Manville Co., Ltd.   early 1900's London, England Electrical supplies, molded black composition and mica insulators, Thomas glazewelds and multipart insulators.
British Stone & Marble Co., Ltd.   1890's London, England December 25, 1891 issue of the Electrical Review (London) stated in an ad: "A specialty in electrical insulators, composed of pure silica suitable for dynamos, transformers…telephones, telegraph insulators, cut-outs, fuse-boxes, switch plates, lamp holders, incandescent lamps, porous cells, ceiling roses, electric bells, and every description of electrical insulators."
Brodie Electric Co.   1894-? Manchester, NH Company was started in June 1894 to manufacture the Brodie tree insulator and other electrical specialties. It was located at 42 Pleasant St. Joseph Brodie Smith was the company treasurer and apparently not the primary owner of the company.
Brookfield Glass Co.   1898-1921 Old Bridge, NJ The Bushwick Glass Works was incorporated as Brookfield Glass Co. in April 1898. The company announced in April 1921 that they were going out of business and wanted to sell the property.
Brookfield Glass Co.   1898-1906 Brooklyn, NY The old Bushwick (Brooklyn) plant was closed in 1906.
Brooklyn Wireless and Electrical Novelty Co.   c. 1910 Brooklyn, NY Radio supplies, Electrose antenna strain insulators
Brooks (David)   1880's-? Philadelphia, PA Patented metal incased glass cup and ramshorn. Address was 22 South 21st St.
Brown Boveri & Co. BBC 1980-? ? Victor, NY  
Brunt & Thompson B & T 1895-1897 East Liverpool, OH When Henry Brunt retired, the name was changed from Henry Brunt & Son Co. to Brunt & Thompson with son, Henry Brunt, and son-in-law, Charles F. Thompson, running the company. They made wiring tubes and other electrical porcelain. On May 21, 1897 George Brunt purchased Charles F. Thompson’s share of the company and changed the name to G. F. Brunt Porcelain Works.
Brunt (G. F.) Porcelain Works BRUNT, CINCH 1897-1907 East Liverpool, OH The plant was started in 1850 to manufacture clay door knobs from local clays. Some years later it was operated under the name of Henry Brunt & Sons. In 1891, production of electrical porcelain was started and since has consisted of its entire output. The company was changed to Brunt & Thompson in 1895, and on May 21, 1897 Mr. Brunt bought out the interest of Thompson and changed the name to G. F. Brunt Porcelain Works until it was incorporated in 1907.
Brunt (G. F.) Porcelain Co. BRUNT 1907-1911 East Liverpool, OH Incorporated in 1907. The company was merged into General Porcelain Co. in 1911, which was headquartered in Parkersburg, WV. That company continued to use the BRUNT marking at the Parkersburg plant for many years.
Brunt (Henry) & Son Co.   ?-1895 East Liverpool, OH The 1892 Sanborn map of East Liverpool showed the plant was located at 1st St. and S. Market St. The name was Riverside Knob Manufacturing Co. H. Brunt & Son, "manufacturers of door knobs and hard porcelain ware for electrical purposes." This was commonly called the Riverside Pottery or Riverside Knob Works. Production of electrical porcelain started in 1891. In November 1895 when Henry Brunt retired, the name was changed to Brunt & Thompson. His son George Brunt and son-in-law Charles F. Thompson took over the company.
Brunt (William) Pottery Co.   1847-1912 East Liverpool, OH The William Brunt, Son & Co. was run by William Brunt from 1847-1856 with his son Henry joining him 1856-1895. The William Brunt Pottery Co. was incorporated in 1894. The plant (old Phoenix pottery) was also known as the Riverside Knob Works making door knobs and electrical porcelain. The pottery was sold after the death of William H. Brunt in early 1912 to his son, William S. Brunt, who was president of the former company. In early 1913, the pottery was leased to Taylor, Smith & Taylor China Co. of Chester, WV. The pottery made sanitary porcelain only but one source stated electrical porcelain, too. The plant was taken over in 1917 by General Porcelain Co.
Brunt Porcelain Co.   1921-1925 Worthington (Columbus), OH (see Brunt Tile & Porcelain Co.) Formerly the Brunt Tile and Porcelain Co., the name was changed to Brunt Porcelain Co. on March 23, 1921. The company was listed in the 1922 Journal of the American Ceramic Society under the direction of George F. Brunt. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical porcelain specialties, tubes, cleats and was established in 1895, which refers to the Brunt & Thompson company. President, G. F. Brunt; vice-president, H. D. Clark; secretary, J. T. Herbert; treasurer and general manager, W. F. Steele.
Brunt Tile and Porcelain Co.   1914-1921 Worthington (Columbus), OH The company was incorporated on July 14, 1915 for the manufacture of earthen ware, etc. After G. F. Brunt sold his East Liverpool plant to General Porcelain Co. in 1911, he bought an old 10-kiln pottery in the suburbs of Columbus (Columbus Pottery Co.) and refitted it to produce electrical porcelain. Brunt was president, H. D. Clark, vice president, J. T. Herbert, secretary, and W. F. Steale, treasurer and general manager. Production of tile ceased in 1920. The company name was changed on March 23, 1921 to Brunt Porcelain Co. The business was abandoned in 1925. The 1921 catalog for Brunt Tile & Porcelain Co. showed many types of standard porcelain, cleats, nail knobs, split knobs, tubes, and guy strain insulators.
Bryant Electric Co. B. E. Co.; BRYANT; CHAPMAN; JUNIOR; K.P.; RUBY 1889-1901 Bridgeport, CT Electrical supplies. The company by Waldo C. Bryant in 1888 and incorporated in 1889 in Bridgeport, CT. The expanding market for switches led to the purchase of the Perkins Electric Switch Company of Hartford on December 30, 1899. The Perkins plant and employees relocated to Bridgeport. The 1901 Bryant catalog still does not mention Perkins. The 1907 catalog was a joint Bryant/Perkins catalog, and so are later catalogs. The business grew rapidly and was in need of more capital for expanding the plant and purchasing equipment. Bryant turned to George Westinghouse. On April 10, 1901, Westinghouse purchased Bryant for $875,000 with $50,000 to be paid at the signing. The final payment was made in October of 1902. Westinghouse agreed that W. C. Bryant and L. W. Eaton would stay on as directors of Bryant Electric and Perkins Switch. The agreement was confidential and the merged company was operated as a wholly owned subsidiary. The reason for downplaying the Westinghouse connection was to keep Bryant distributors, who had exclusive franchises to sell Westinghouse’s competitor’s products, from dropping the Bryant product line.
Buckauer Porzellan   1898 Magdeburg-Buckau, Germany manufactured porcelain insulators in 1898
Buell (M. A.)   1870's   Electrical supplies
Buller (W. W.) & Co.   1862-1884 London, England In 1842 Captain J Buller and J Devett purchased the Folly Pottery, in Bovey Tracy, Devon and started in business as the Bovey Tracy Pottery Company. Using Cornish clay and coal from Staffordshire and Somerset, they produced a wide range of ware including bed knobs and door furniture. As the business grew, it suffered increasingly from the cost of transporting coal to Devon, and so the owners decided to move the company to the Potteries to be at the centre of the pottery industry. By 1862 W W Buller & Co were trading in Joiners Square, Hanley and by 1865 the pottery had three bottle ovens. Bullers were one of the first companies to explore the new markets created by electrical power, and by 1868 they were supplying porcelain Insulators complete with Ironwork in large quantities. Many government contracts followed, and Insulators were produced for Australia, Africa, India, Canada and Hungary. Much of this earlier work was involved with telegraph Insulators, but Bullers were also able to supply Insulators for the Metropolitan Railway, for London County Council Tramways, and for many other transport systems. Hanly and Staffordshire potteries; 32 & 33 Queen Street. The 1883 Telegraphic Journal and Electrical Review (London) stated they were making the Slater Lewis self-binding (screw-top) insulator. The 1885 Electricians' Directory stated address was 32 Queen St., E. C. They merged with Jobson & Co. in 1884 to become Buller, Jobson & Co., Ltd.
Buller, Jobson & Co., Ltd   1885-1887 London, England Formed from merger of W. W. Buller & Co. and Jobson & Co.
Buller & Co.   1888-1892 London, England Name change from Buller Jobson & Co. In 1892 changed to Bullers Ltd.
Bullers Ltd.   1892-1959 England In 1883 the Buller-Harris partnership [see Buller (W. W.) & Co.] was established, and in 1890 the company became Bullers Ltd. Expansion continued, and so the Hanley site soon became inadequate. From this, the decision was taken to build a new factory at Milton, then in the countryside outside the Potteries. Work started in 1917 and the factory was fully operational by 1920. Electrical porcelain was the mainstay of both factories. This continued until 1959 when there was an agreement between Bullers Ltd and Taylor Tunnicliff to form Allied Insulators, sharing technical and sales expertise, whilst operating under there own names. In 1959, merged with Taylor, Tunicliff & Co. to become Allied Insulators Ltd.
Bunnell (J. H.) & Co. BUNNELL; UNION; TRIANGLE 1879-1930's New York, NY Electrical supplies: antenna strains, wireholders, Brookfield. Address in 1895 was 76 Courtlandt Street, in 1900 at 20 Park Place, and in 1921 32 Park Place. Company was established in 1878 and incorporated in 1899. In 1901, J. H. Bunnell was not a director of the company.
Bunnell Telegraphic and Electrical Co.   1898-1905 New York, NY Electrical supplies with office at 110-112 Beekman St. The company was dissolved in 1905. They were the sole manufacturers under J. H. Bunnell's patents. In 1901, Mary T. Bunnell was president and Jesse H. Bunnell, Jr. was secretary.
Burgess & Co.     East Liverpool, OH In 1927, their address was 209 W. Fourth St.
Burlington Glass Works   1875-1885 Hamilton, Ontario By 1874 the Hamilton Glass Works had acquired the entire block surrounded by Macauley Street, James Street East, Hughson Street, and Picton Street, illustrating how successful it had become. The following year, however, some competition had developed in the form of the Burlington Glass Works. Founded by Edward Kent, this new company was located at the intersection of Burlington and MacNab Streets in Hamilton. Though the Burlington Glass Works was arguably the most prolific glass works of its day, this did not prevent it from being purchased by the Hamilton Glass Works in 1885. Though this event effectively ended competition between the two companies, in the end it was of little consequence since both glass works were bought up by the Diamond Glass Company in 1891.
Bushwick Glass Works   1864-1898 Bushwick, NY The company was started by William Brookfield and his father James M. Brookfield in September 1864 at Williamsburgh, NY on a portion of the property purchased from New York City Mayor Martin Kalbfleisch. It was located in the Eastern District on Grand street and corner of Morgan Ave. (former township of Williamsburgh and Bushwick, currently 18th ward of Brooklyn). 1881 business directly stated address as "Morgan Ave. Grand & Maujer. Mr. Kalbfleisch wanted to start a glass works after having much trouble obtaining carboys for acids. He sought help from William Brookfield who soon afterwards purchased the property. The business address in November 1875 was 55 Fulton St. and in May 1884 it was 45 Cliff St. In July 1889, the office moved to 83 Fulton St., room 11.
Butler Hard Rubber Co.   1880's to 1890's New York, NY Manufacturer of hard rubber for electrical insulation and other items. Specifically mentioned "rubber hook insulators" in an 8-1884 advertisement. By 1889-1890, they were making hard rubber insulators from the 7-10 patents granted to William Kiel. Most of the patents were applied for and granted in 1889, and assigned to Kiel, Butler and Turnbull of New York City. The patents describes creating a vulcanized plastic compound by soaking wood in oil and mixing with sulfur, crude rubber, and beeswax which is then passed through rollers prior to the vulcanization process. Address in NYC was 33 Mercer St., which was two blocks from Goodyear Hard Rubber Co. at 13 Mercer St.
Buyer's Reference        
Buzby (J.F.)        
C (top)
C. S. Knowles Co. [see Knowles (C. S.) Co.]        
Cadiot (E. H.) & Co.   c. 1900 France Marketed the porcelain "Cloche Mehun" insulator.
Cadiz Glass Co.   1884-1896 Cadiz, OH Company was started in February 1884 and incorporation by made on May 8, 1884 by stockholders William M. Wallace, D. B. Walsh, Edward Pearson, M. G. Kennedy, W. S. Paulson, J. M. Garvin, J. M. Estep, J. M. Brown, H. S. McFadden, W. L. Houser, John Conroy, A. Quigley, and R. S. Timmons. William Wallace was granted two patents for glass screw caps (264,379 and 270,162). Production started on July 22, 1884 with McFadden as president. The first insulators were contracted for a telephone company in Nov. 1884. On May 7, 1885 it was announced that the Ohio Valley Glass Co. of Bridgeport secured control of the factory. The defunct plant was sold at a sheriff's sale in April 1896. From Dick Roller [referencing Cadiz Republican, April 15, 1886] "Cadiz Glass Co., Cadiz, OH, made shipment of insulators to Vera Cruz, Mexico last Monday. If these insulators suit the "greasers" they might organize a joint stock company and buy the glasshouse and move it there." [see article 3284]
California Electrical Works   1877-1908 San Francisco, CA  Electrical Construction & Maintenance Co. was reorganized in June 1877 and incorporated as California Electrical Works. In May 1908 it was taken over by Western Electric Co. (see Seiler (Paul) Electrical Works)
California Glass Insulator Co. C.G.I.CO.; CALIFORNIA 1911-1914 Long Beach, CA Much of the story of this company was through the research of Ted Griffin (see CJ September 1982, p. 6). The company was founded by Robert P. Frist when he discovered good glass sand at Horseshoe Bend. The company was incorporated in May 1911 with capital stock of $300,000. The directors were Jules Kauffman, A. C. Munn, E. H. Fosdick, J. Morris, J. G. Orth, J. M. Waterman and Stanley S. Stonaker. The factory was not completed until March 1912. Power was secured from the ten new southern California Edison plant. Wire connections were made on March 27, 1912 to the California Glass Insulator Company's motors. The main building housed the "tank", which the layman would call a furnace, in which raw materials of sand, soda and hydrated lime were melted under a heat of 2400 to 3000 degrees. The furnace was first fired on March 31, 1912. Arranged around the area of the tank were the "shops", or insulator pressing machines, of which five were in operation in May of 1912. Each shop required a crew of five men: one to draw the molten glass from the tank; one to cut off the exact quantity of glass required to make an insulator; another to remove the screw core; one to take the insulators from the molds; and the fifth to carry the insulators to the tempering furnace. The California Glass Insulator Company in May 1912 was employing a force of nearly 50 men, most of whom knew nothing about glass making. Yet the workmen were daily gaining skill and were soon producing the full capacity of the plant: about 15,000 insulators a day. The Pacific Coast demand for insulators was estimated at 18-million a year in 1912, representing about 7,200 tons of glass, used in the extension work of the telephone and telegraph companies, power transmission, electrical transportation, etc. This annual consumption west of the Rockies had been shipped before this factory went into production by two eastern factories, one in Indiana and the other in New Jersey. The average freight rate from those two factories had been estimated at $8.05 per thousand insulators. This advantage in freight rates was alone a sufficient incentive to the men who started the California Glass Insulator Company, aside from the excellent prospects for fine export trade promised by the opening of the Panama Canal and the resulting stimulus to the development of trade with the Orient. Actual production reportedly started on April 1, 1912, and shipments of their products started a couple of days later. On January 14, 1914, the California Glass Works was incorporated with a capital stock of $150,000; subscribed $700.00. The following directors were named — J. G. Orth, John Morris, William Schade, M. L. Orcutt, Charles L. Eshelman, J. D. Taggart and Shirley Meyre. This was the same plant at Long Beach and probably operated as California Glass Insulator Co. since that was the name mentioned when it merged with Bloom Jar Co. in August 1915.
California Glass Works   1882-1883 San Francisco, CA  
California Glass Works CALIFORNIA 1914-1916 Long Beach, CA The California Glass Insulator Co. changed its name to California Glass Works on January 14, 1914 when it was incorporated with a capital stock of $150,000; subscribed $700.00. The following directors were named — J. G. Orth, John Morris, William Schade, M. L. Orcutt, Charles L. Eshelman, J. D. Taggart and Shirley Meyre. This was the same plant at Long Beach and probably operated as California Glass Insulator Co. since that was the name mentioned when it merged with Bloom Jar Co. in August 1915. The plant was destroyed by flood on January 18 or 19, 1916. For more information, see Ted Griffin's article in CJ September 1982, p. 6.
Cambridge Electric Light Co. C. E. L. CO. 1887-1892  Cambridge, MA Cambridge Electric Light Co.; electrical supplies; glass insulators with embossing "C. E. L. CO."
Caminhos de Ferro Portugueses CP   Portugal Portugal state run train system. Porcelain insulators are marked with CP
Camp (H. B.) Pottery   ??-1904 Akron, OH The Camp Pottery owned by H. B. Camp was merged in 1904 with the Colonial Sign Co. and Akron Insulator & Marble Co. to form the Colonial Sign & Insulator Co.
Canada Glass Co.   1864-1877 Hudson, Quebec  
Canada Glass Works FOSTER BROS. 1854-1860 St. Johns, Quebec Foster Bros.
Canadian General Electric Co.   1892-present Toronto, Quebec Manufactured various electrical equipment and supplies including porcelain nail knobs and cleats.
Canadian Glass Mfg. Co.        
Canadian Line Material Co.   1930's-1972 Scarborough, Ontario  
Canadian Northern Railway CNR 1892-1956 Canada Incorporated in 1892 and merged into Canadian National Railway in 1956.
Canadian Ohio Brass Co., Ltd.   1928-?? Niagara Falls, Ontario Formerly The Dominion Insulator & Mfg. Co. Ltd.
Canadian Pacific Railway CPR 1872-? Canada Incorporated in 1872 to build a railway across the mountains to British Columbia.
Canadian Porcelain Co., Ltd.   1912-1958 Hamilton, Ontario The company was formed in 1912 by Walter Goddard after he left Locke. CP was closely associated with Locke Insulators, Inc. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical porcelain and pole line hardware.
Canton Insulator and Clay Co.   1896-1904 Canton, OH Company was incorporated on April 21, 1896 with capital of $30,000. Went bankrupt losing a suit to People's Coal Co. when the coal company purchased rights to coal on property that had been previously mined to remove the coal. They made wiring cleats.
Canton Porcelain Co.   1912-1944 Canton, OH The company made brick 1912-1914. Insulators were made for one year in 1914, then started making children's toy clay marbles for Brown Shoe Co. and others until 1923 when they started making insulators again. Insulator production ceased in 1926. Then they made pottery for wholesaling to florists until closing in 1944. Insulator production was probably dry pressed porcelain for electrical house and building wiring.
Capital (The) Porcelain Mfg. Co.   1914-?? Trenton, NJ A 1917 Trenton newspaper listed this company with other electric porcelain companies. Company was formed on September 12, 1914 by William Burgess and located at 52 Seward Ave.
Capital Pottery Co.     Trenton, NJ NJ records show the company charter expired in 1896. No other information.
Carey Ohio Porcelain Co. C. O. P.; CAREY - O.; CAREY / OHIO 1920-late 1920's Carey, OH Electrical porcelain. It was formed in 1920 with $60,000 investment by C. Follett, J. W. Eckelberry, W. M. Briggs, W. N. Nye, and W. P. Bauer.  The plant was started in 1921 and was totally destroyed by fire on April 20, 1928, causing a loss of over $100,000, and throwing out of employment 130 employes. President and General Manager was W. D. Wooley.
Cartel Vidreria Monterrey     Mexico Logo VM interlaced in a circle same as Masnieres (France)
Catalog Of Telegraphic Material & Electric Appliance       Charles T. Chester, supplies
Cambridge Electric Light Co. C.E.L. CO.   Danvers, MA Sold lamps produced under several GE patents. Glass insulators are know with the C.E.L. CO. embossing.
Central Electric Co. C E CO. 1887-? Chicago, IL Electrical supplies
Central Pacific Railroad C.P.R.R.     The C.P.R.R. along with the Union Pacific Railroad (U.P.R.R.) completed the first transcontinental link in 1869.
Central Porcelain Co.     Columbiana, OH  
Central Porcelain Works   1905-1907 Trenton, NJ Company was incorporated on December 21, 1905 by Fred Nightingale, Robert W. Nightingale and Edith M. Perkins for the manufacture of porcelain ware and china specialties. The works are at New York and Olden avenues, with Fred Nightingale in charge. Plant was sold in a Sheriff's sale August 28, 1907, since mortgage was held by the state for unpaid taxes in 1906.
Centralab, Inc. CRL inside a diamond   Milwaukee, WI Radio antenna insulators
Centro Vidreiro Do Norte Du Portugal, Lda.     Portugal  
Century Pottery Co.   c. 1882 Camden, NJ Advertisement in Aug. 20, 1892 Electrical World said they produced porcelain knobs, rosettes, cut-outs, and other porcelain electrical supplies. Address was 508 to 514 Liberty St.
Ceram Insulators   2001-Feb. 2004 Macomb, IL Purchased from Porcelain Products Co.; company based in Vienna, Austria; plant closed (see PPC Insulators)
Ceramic Allied Products, Inc.   ??-1931 Trenton, NJ Merged with Cook Pottery Co. in 1931. Company was not shown in the New Jersey list of corporations. (check later dates)
Ceramic Electrical Co.   1907-?? Charleston, WV  
Ceramic Porcelain Co.   1907-?? East Liverpool, OH Company formed in March 1907 to make electrical porcelain.
Ceramic Specialties Co. RACO; circle C; NAIL-IT 1932-1955 East Liverpool, OH Formerly the Adamant Porcelain Co. and then the T. V. Milligan Porcelain Co. Milligan left the company in 1929 after purchasing the idle Ravenswood Porcelain Co. plant from General Porcelain Co. At that time, company name was changed to Peach Porcelain Co. In 1932, from either name change or purchase, the company became Ceramic Specialties Co. The company went bankrupt in 1955. Porcelain insulators marked RACO were made for the Raco Electrical Products Division steel bracket. They made the Nail-It nail-knob, electric fence strain and insulators with a lag screw, standard porcelain, and lightning arresters as well as specialties made of wet, dry, and cast porcelain.
Champion Porcelain Co. (see Jeffery Dewitt Insulator Co.)   1921-?? Detroit, MI The company, a subsidiary of Champion Sparkplug Co., was formed in 1921 to take over the Jeffery-Dewitt Co. in Detroit, which made porcelain insulators for Champion spark plugs.
Chance Co. (The)   1905-? Centralia, MO The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured guy anchors, lightning arrester, wall brackets, and electric linotype pot heaters. President, A. Bishop Chance; secretary, I. L. Traughber; treasurer, J. A. Chance.
Chance Co. (A. B.) PP; PP Co. 1955-1963 Carey, OH In December 1955, Chance purchased controlling interest in Porcelain Products Inc. Porcelain Products, Inc. had a dry process plant at Carey, OH and wet process plant at Parkersburg, WV. The company was renamed in 1959 to Porcelain Products Co., but still owned by Chance which sold the plant in June 1963 to Clarken Co. of St. Louis (still operated as PPCo.).
Chance Co. (A. B.) CHANCE, C 1955-198? Parkersburg, WV Manufacturer of wet process porcelain. Purchased from Porcelain Products, Inc.; CHANCE marking started 1959 
Charbonneaux & Cie (Charbonneaux & Company) ISOREX 1905-?? Reims, France The same as Verreries Charbonneaux, Verreries de Reims 
Chester, Charles T.   circa 1850's-1870's New York City, NY Catalog of Telegraphic Material & Electric Appliance. Business was located in 1855 at White and Leonard Sts. and prior to 1866 at 104 Centre Street. John Chester died in 1871 and the business continued by Charles. A brother, Stephen Chester, was a partner in the firm Chester, Partrick & Co. of Philadelphia, which offered the same line of telegraphic goods.
Chicago Fuse Mfg. Co. C.F.W. & M.CO.   Chicago, IL fuse cutout bases
Chicago Insulating Co. CHICAGO INSULATING CO. 1882-? Chicago, IL Company was incorporated in November 1882. Bob Stahr's research: The CD 109 & 135 design wire groove was applied for patent in July 1883, and was granted July 27, 1883. Leonard Glass Works from Detroit Michigan made insulators for the Chicago Insulating Co. It is unknown what particular embossing styles. Leonard Glass Works filed suit in February 1885 to recover $8,000 owed to them by Chicago Insulating Co. A September 1887 newspaper reported in part about the lawsuit "The bill charges that the stock was never paid for and that the directors of the Insulating Company managed the affairs of that company so recklessly that it became insolvent. The court is asked to compel the stockholders of the defendant concern to pay the amount of their stock and to dissolve the corporation". It would seem that the company was bankrupt by 1887, and possibly even before the lawsuit was filed in 1885. The lawsuit between the two was dragged through the courts until at least June 1892. Insulators were produced at the Leonard Glass Works 1883-1886.
Chicago Novelty & Electrical Co.   1890-?? Chicago, IL Foree Bain, Matthew Burton, and J. W. Hutt formed the company in July 1890 to manufacture and deal in novelties and electrical goods.
Chicago Steel Foundry Co. CHICAGO   Chicago, IL secondary rack spools
Chicago Telephone Supply Co. CTS   Chicago, IL telephone insulators and specialties
China Products Co.     1918-?? The company took over the Viriginian Potteries Co., which previously took over the Consumers Insulator Co., which previously took over the property of the New Lexington High Voltage Porcelain Co.
Chomel-Legrand CL in a diamond 1910-1958 Fourmies, France Manufacturer of glass insulators and bottles.
Cincinnati Porcelain Co.   1920-1927 Cincinnati, OH  Merged with Porcelain Products, Inc. The plant site was originally that of Strobl Pottery (1901-1910) and then Strobl Tile Co. (1910-1920). They changed the name of the company in 1920 when they changed the product from quarry tile to standard and special electrical porcelain. They made knobs, tubes, and cleats.
Circle F Mfg. Co. Little Joe; Medium Joe; Big Joe, Jiffy; FINDLAY 1925-1946+ Trenton, NJ and New Brunswick, NJ Manufacturers of light sockets, wiring devices and other electrical goods. Also made radio antenna insulators (Little Joe, Medium Joe, and Big Joe), cleats, strains, nail-knobs, and wall tubes. 1926 catalog (No. 9) indicated a second porcelain plant in New Brunswick, NJ. Company was not shown in the New Jersey list of corporations. (check later dates) or the 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book. The Circle F trademark was used by the E. H. Freeman Electric Co. In 1925, Circle F took over the Trenton Porcelain Co. and at an unknown later date purchased the adjoining property of the Fidelity Pottery Co. The 1927 Sanborn map shows the combined plant with only three kilns.
CJI Porcelain Pvt Ltd   modern New Delhi, India Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Clark (Latimer), Muirhead & Co. L. CLARK MUIRHEAD & CO / WESTMINSTER 1875-1896 London, England Telegraph contractor whose name appeared on some early British brown stoneware insulators. In 1881, the address was 38 Regency St, Westminster. Partnership of Latimer Clark and John Muirhead to manufacture electrical supplies. Company probably dissolved when John Muirhead died in 1896.
Clarken Co.   1963-?? Carey, OH The Clarken Co. purchased the dry process porcelain plant at Carey from A. B. Chance in 1963.
Cliff, Joseph & Sons   1880's Northampton, England 2 & 4 Wharf
Climax Porcelain Co.   1911-1918? Trenton, NJ The company was incorporated on March 24, 1911 and located at New York and Olden Avenues. The stated purpose was to make pottery and glassware; however, the company was listed as making electrical porcelain. They had 20 employees in 1918. The company was incorporated with $5,000 capital stock divided into 100 shares of a par value Of $50 each. The incorporators and their holdings were Joseph Auer, Jr., 49 shares, John G. Rittenhouse, 49 shares, Emma Auer, 1 share, Mary A. Rittenhouse, 1 share. Agent was John C. Rittenhouse. This was the former plant purchased by Electric Porcelain Mfg. Co. in 1916. Details of the April 2, 1917 strike indicate the plant was still in operation at that time, and it was listed in the 1918 industrial directory.
CODARVI     Uruguay  
Cohansey Glass Mfg. Co.   1870-1900 Bridgeton, NJ Electrical insulators" were displayed at the Franklin Institute 1874 Awards. Type(s) are unknown. [Adeline Pepper-Glass Gaffers of New Jersey (1971), pg. 215; Alice Creswick-The Fruit Jar Works]
Colonial Electric Co.     Philadelphia, PA Electrical supplies, Hemingray
Colonial Insulator Co. I inside a C; C. I. Co.; COLONIAL; HI HEAT 1922-present ?? Akron, OH On June 2, 1922, the company name was changed to the Colonial Insulator Co. R. W. Hemphill was elected president on January 18, 1949 shortly after James R. Hemphill died from a broken hip. Colonial Insulator Co. was one of the largest producers of porcelain parts for the electrical industry. It also was the principal supplier of porcelain glove forms used in the dipping and manufacture of electrical and household rubber gloves. In 1927, their address was 945 Grant St. One third rail insulator specimen is known marked with CI and on top "6-1/4". It was made of dry process porcelain. (see Colonial Insulator & Sign Co. for earlier history)
Colonial Sign & Insulator Co. C. S. & I. Co.; C. S. I. Co. 1904-1922 Akron, OH In 1894, James R. Hemphill acquired the assets of the Akron Insulator & Marble Co. located at 1206 Sweitzer Ave, and shortly afterward William H. Motz joined the concern to run the office affairs. On February 16, 1904, the company was merged with the Colonial Sign Co., located at 945 Grant St., and the H. B. Camp Pottery in Akron. Mr. Camp was president of the company; J. R. Hemphill, general manager; C. R. Quine, secretary; and W. H. Motz, treasurer. Some references say the plant was located at 955 and 973 Grant St. The new name was Colonial Insulator & Sign Co. and manufactured porcelain sign letters and bath tubs. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical porcelain. President, James R. Hemphill; vice-president, R. E. Armstrong; secretary and treasurer, W. H. Motz. On May 20, 1920, Rayburn W. Hemphill and George F. Hersey left Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. to take over the management of the factory. Soon thereafter Rayburn W. Hemphill became vice-president and secretary.
Colorado Glass Works R. GOOD, JR.; GOOD 1896-1899 Denver, CO The Valverde Glass Works was started in 1887 as the Denver Art and Plate Glass Co. The name of the plant was changed in December 1887 to the Denver Flint Glass Co. R. Good, Jr. operated (leased) the defunct Valverde Glass Works from P. C. Thompson until it burned on June 27, 1899. The plant was rebuilt as the Western Flint Glass Co. by a group of young entrepreneurs who were sons of wealthy Denver businessmen.
Columbian Electrical Co.   c. 1898-?? St. Joseph, MO Electrical supplies, standard porcelain, Brookfield insulators
Columbia Insulator Co.   Oct. 1901-1902 Akron, OH One reference (page 12 of book Molding a Legacy) suggested the company was in business in the 1890's and made insulators at that time. It was incorporated at Columbus, by L. M. Biggs, L. E. Biggs, Charles E. Breckenridge and Jacob Seeger to make all kinds of clay and porcelain insulators. The company merged with five other Akron/Barberton area potteries [see article 1740].
Columbus Pottery Co.   1902-1925 Chaseland, OH The company was started in 1903 at Worthington, OH by A. J. Sheppard, president; J. M. Schooler, secretary, and A. J. Solmon, treasurer with E. A. Montgomery as an expert pottery manufacturer. Construction was started on December 15, 1902. There appeared to be some association with Bell Pottery. Initially they made art pottery. They also owned a plant at Chaseland, OH which made tile and electrical porcelain. Tile production ceased in 1920 and insulator production in 1925. No start date is known for Chaseland plant. G. F. Brunt bought the 10-kiln Chaseland plant in 1914, which had been idle for some time.
Compagnie Generale d'Electro-Ceramique CEGELEC circa 1904 France One of the largest manufacturers of French incandescent lamps and electric supplies of all kinds, insulators, etc. CGE was founded by Pierre Azaria (1865-1953) who was born in Cairo, Egypt and lived and was educated in France. In 1898 he set up the Compagnie Generale d'Electricite that became an empire. In 1904 CGE started manufacturing porcelain insulators at the Ivry-Port (Paris) site (1910 catalog substantiates this info). Their main competitor was Parvillee et Freres et Cie, the French pocelain insulator giant as well as insulator manufacturers in Germany. In 1913, CGE had an electrical enginneering branch that became an independent company (CGEE) Compagnie Generale d'Entreprises Electriques, which later became CEGELEC. CGE later became Alcatel Alsthom. (Source from Lis Bergman: Alcatel Alsthom "The History of Compagnie Generale d'Electricite".
Condam Co.       Marking found on the patent model of the 1851 Goodyear patent rubber ramshorn used in the wood block patented by Moses Farmer and John Batchelder on Sept. 14, 1858. It is in the Mike Guthrie collection.
Conneaut Metal Works Co. CONLON   Conneaut, OH wiring devices
Connecticut Electrical Mfg. Co. C.E.M.CO.; CONN   Bridgeport, CT wiring devices
Connecticut Porcelain Co.   1920-? Trenton, NJ See Standard China Works
Conover Insulator Co.   1892-circa 1901 Cincinnati, OH Company sold their patented knobs based on patents 479,134 and 520,412. Located at 368 Vine.
Consolidated Wire & Assoc'd Corp. C W & A C   Chicago, IL Radio antenna insulators
Consumers' Insulator Co. C.I.CO. 1914-1916 New Lexington, O. and Glasgow, WV Company was incorporated on April 4, 1914. Took over the defunct New Lexington H-V plant. Consumers did produce glazed cleats and wall tubes as well as a pony and exchange pin-type. See Virginia Potteries Co., which purchased the Consumers' Insulator Co.
Continental Rubber Works CONTINENTAL RUBBER WORKS   Erie, PA Manufactured rubber insulators for Western Union Telegraph Co. Continental Rubber Works cataloged four styles of rubber insulators: R-3 (1-3/8" diameter skirt), R-4 (2-7/16"), R-5 (2"), and RC-1 (transposition spool for Case bracket). An unmarked, unattributed slot-topped rubber insulator can also be commonly found. WU patents used were 2,218,497, 2,304,483 and 3,061,667.
Cook Electric Co. COOK; FRANK B. COOK CO. 1900-?? Chicago, IL Started by Frank B. Cook. Telephone supplies, lightning arrestors, misc. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured telephone supplies. Address was 900-910 W. Van Buren St. President and general manager, George R. Folds; vice-president, A. D. Edwards. Factories in Chicago and Zion City, IL.
Cook Porcelain Insulator Co. COOK 1924-early 1930's Byesville, OH The company was started by W. S. Cook with production initiated in January 1924. The headquarters was listed in Cambridge and plant was located in the old Byesville glass works. In July 1926, the company announced a major expansion that will double the production of the plant. At that time they had 125 men employed and the expansion would increase that amount. Headquarters was in Cambridge, OH. In 1927 and later, the company was listed as Cook Porcelain Insulator Corp. The company succumbed to the Depression in 1931.
Cook Pottery Co. C. P. Co.; C inside a hexagon; WEDGE; COOK / TRENTON 1897-1931 Trenton, NJ The company was incorporated on January 7, 1897 with a capitalization of $150,000 and located at 301 N. Clinton St. (Etruria plant). Owner was Charles Howell Cook, a prominent resident of Trenton. The pottery located on Prospect Ave. (electrical porcelain plant) was one of three potteries owned by Cook. Other companies were Etruria Pottery (North Clinton Ave.) and Crescent Pottery Co. (located on Allen near the canal; sold some time before 1907). The 1904 Marks of American Potters had this note about Cook Pottery Co.: "This company was organized in the early part of 1894, succeeding to the business of Messrs. Ott & Brewer. The officers are: Charles Howell Cook, President; F. G. Mellor, Vice-President and Treasurer, and James J. Mulheron, Secretary." Perhaps this original company was the one incorporated in 1897. The capitalization was increased to $500,000 on August 21, 1909. In 1927, the address was listed as Prospect St. & P. R. R. Railway. The Etruria plant made semi-porcelain made dinner and toilet ware. The Prospect plant made vitrified china for hotels, resturants, and electrical porcelain specialties. In 1912, state of New Jersey stated both plants made electrical porcelain. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical porcelain specialties, nail knobs, and cleats. Address was Prospect St. and P. & R. Ry. President and treasurer, Charles Howell Cook; secretary and general manager, Paul G. Duryea. In 1907, Cook purchased the Ford City Pottery in Ford City, PA and the Pennsylvania China Co. nearby (see article 8572). July 1, 1905 EWE article stated that company was established in 1876 and just recently started making electrical porcelain and tubes(wedge split insulator "NUWEDGE" Knob; "Tucas" Knob and special). The February 1904 issue of Brick stated it has added machinery for the rapid production of porcelain wiring tubes for electrical purposes.
Cook-Ceramic Co.   1931-1950's? Trenton, NJ  
Cooke & Wilson Company   1909-?? Charleston, WV Company was incorporated in February 1909 with capital of $50,000. They were a supplier of electrical goods. President was Abbot S. Cooke; Walter J. Wilson, treasurer; and O. F. Scholz, manager. See Cooke-Wilson Electric Supply Co. Cooke was president of both companies.
Cooke-Wilson Electric Supply Co. COOKE WILSON E. S. CO. 1905-?? Sewickley (Pittsburg), PA Electrical supplies; U-98 probably made by American Porcelain Co. The 1908 Pittsburgh Directory listed this company with Walter J. Wilson as secretary. The 1914 biography of Abbot S. Cooke said he was a representative of the Morgan-Gardner Electric Co. 1896-1905 and then formed the Cooke-Wilson Electric Supply Co. in 1905 and had been president of the company since then. It also said he was president of the Cooke and Wilson Co. of Charleston, WV.
Cooper Power Systems   1985-1999  Macomb, IL  Purchased McGraw-Edison Power Systems in 1985, which included the porcelain insulator plant at Macomb, IL. Company based in Waukesha, WI. Continued to use the ME marking on insulators as late as 1995 and then switched to using a CPS marking. Sold plant to Porcelain Products Co. (based in Carey, OH) in 1999 which did not make pin-type insulators but rather insulators used in distribution equipment for Cooper. 
Cooperativa de Artistas de Vidrio        
Cooperativa Integral de Vidriera de Colombia   present Colombia Coovinal S.A.
Coors Porcelain Co.   1920-1986 Golden, CO The predecessor of Coors Porcelain Co. was Herold China & Pottery Co., founded in 1910. Adolph Coors, founder of the Coors Brewing Co., took over the company in 1920, and it became Coors Porcelain Co. The company made chemical porcelain. The name was changed to Coors Ceramics Co. in 1986 to reflect its emphasis on technical ceramics. Early in 1942, Adolph Coors' grandson, Bill Coors, who had joined the company in 1939, received an urgent request for ceramic insulators for a government laboratory. Other ceramics producers needed six weeks to fill the order; Coors was able to do it in a matter of days. For several months the company continued to ship the insulators, knowing nothing of what they were to be used for. Only years after the war's end did Bill Coors discover that the shipments were actually destined for the Manhattan Project laboratories in Oakridge, where the atomic bomb was developed.
Coors Ceramics Co.   1986-present Golden, CO Name changed from Coors Porcelain Co. in 1986. In 1992 it came under the umbrella of ACX Technologies, when ACX became an independent holding company.
Coovinal S. A. (Cooperativa Integral de Vidriera de Colombia) TELECOM 1944-present Villavicencio, Colombia Manufacturer of glass insulators. Company was founded in 1944 by Colombians using European technology and capital, Colombian craftsmanship, and within time, became one of the largest factories of its kind in Latin America.
Corning Glass Works PYREX; CORNING PYREX 1875-present Corning, NY Maker of the "Pyrex" insulators. The great majority of Pyrex insulators for the U.S. market were made between about 1922 and 1951. A huge variety of industrial glass as well as glassware for home use has been produced by this company for well over a century.
Corning, Inc.   1989-present Corning, NY  
Cornish Wire Co. CORWICO   Williamstown, MA Antenna kits, lead-in strips, arresters, and glass and porcelain radio strains.
Courtenay & Trull     New York, NY Listed in 1883 Berly's Electrical Directory as "insulator manufacturers" on 17 Dey St.
Coxon Electrical Porcelain Works (later Ceramic Art Co. and then Lenox)     Trenton, NJ In 1898, products were electrical supplies. The 1900 Trenton city directory does not list this company but it does list Electric Porcelain Co. and Harry Coxon associated with it along with Jonathan Coxon.
Crescent Electric Co. ACME   Mountain Grove, MO Electrical supplies, rosettes, sockets, etc. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured wiring devices. President, William M. Nelson; vice-president, James A. Douglas.
Crescent Electrical Manufacturing Co. C.E.Co. c. 1905 Rochester, NY Porcelain light sockets and other specialties.
Crighton, Charles Edwin       Reid Brothers was the sole licensees for Crighton's patent insulator (gb1878-0004696) for fixing wires without the use or aid of binding wire. The patent was granted on 11-29-1878. (see article 5365)
CRISA CRISA   Mexico  
Cristaleria, S.A.     Monterrey, Mexico  
Cristalerias de Chile S.A. CRISTALERIAS 1945-1968 Santiago, Chile  
Cristalerias Rigolleau, S.A. VIDART   Buenos Aires, Argentina  
Cristales Mexicanos S.A.     Mexico  
Crouse-Hinds Co. CROUSE-HINDS   Syracuse, NY  outlet bushings
Crown Crystal Glass Co., Ltd. C.C.G. 1926-?? Sydney, Australia In early 1926, the C. C. G. was formed by a merger of Crown Glass, Ltd. with the Australian Glass Manufacturers' Co., which owned a majority of the shares. C.C.G. merged with Australian Glass Manufacturers in 1942. In the 1940's, several other smaller glass companies were merged into C.C.G. and name was changed around 1950 to Australian Consolidated Industries.
Crown Pottery Co. crown logo 1891-1954 Evansville, IN Company was organized by Henry W. Flentke around 1891 when he purchased the plant owned by Bennighof, Uhl & Co., which made white ware. The plant was increased from three to six kilns and four enamel kilns. In 1902 they took over the Peoria Pottery Co. in Peoria, IL and the name was changed to Crown Potteries Co. In 1904, the Peoria plant was closed. The company made dinnerware, but there are cleats with a crown logo, which may have been made by Crown Pottery Co. or at least at the Peoria plant. "The trade-mark used by the company was a crown."
Crystal Glass Co., Ltd.   1907-?? Sapperton, New Westminster, BC Manufactured bottles, fruit jars, lamp chimneys, and glass insulators
Crystal Porcelain Pottery Co., Ltd.   1880's Cobridge, Stoke-on-Trent, England Manufacturers of insulators, shackles, element cells for batteries, etc. Also telegraphic and electrical ware, porcelain tiles and insulating slabs. The 1885 Electricians' Directory stated address was 23 Street Swithin-lane.
Crystallite Products Corp. MAYDWELL 1927-1940 Glendale, CA The company was closely associated in ownership and management with the Electrical Products Corp. (organized in late 1925) and Diamond Electrical Manufacturing Co. (recently organized) of Los Angeles. Crystalite was incorporated in 1927. They purchased a factory site 150 x 180 feet near Western Ave. and San Fernando Road. The glass factory was in a building 75 x 180 feet. They produced street lighting globes, glass letters for electric signs, glass insulators, and other glass items for the manufacture of neon signs, etc. Manufactured insulator embossed "Maydwell" which were made for Maydwell & Hartzell, a distributor of products for electrical utility companies.
Cullinan Industrial Porcelain Ltd.   1945-present? Johannesburg, South Africa Thomas Cullinan settled in Johannesburg in 1887. After the Anglo-Boer War (1899-1902) he formed two companies, Consolidated Rand Brick, Pottery and Lime Co., and Premier Mining (Transvaal). Mr. Cullinan found the largest diamond in the world in January 1905. By 1914 the Consolidated Rand Brick, Pottery and Lime Co. was producing fire-bricks, fire-clay, pottery, clay pipes and crucibles. In 1928 he established the Iscor steel works and in 1932 Sir Thomas constructed the first tunnel kiln. In 1945, the Director-General of Supplies asked the Cullinans to make insulators for Post Office telephone lines. These had previously been imported, and were no longer available from war-torn Europe. The first insulators were produced in 1946. By 1964 120,000 insulators were exported to the London Post Office and production peaked in 1970 when 1.6 million were manufactured. In 1967, Electric Line Components Pty, Ltd formed several divisions known as Cullinan Industrial Porcelain Ltd, which made porcelain insulators, Glass Insulators Ltd and SAG Ceramics Ltd. In 1971, subsidiary companies were formed: Cullinan Refractories, Cullinan Industrial Porcelain, Cullinan Properties, Cullinan Minerals, and Olifantsfontein Brick Works. On November 29, 1977, a new factory was opened for Cullinan Industrial Porcelain. In 1978 the newly-formed Cullinan Electrical Division became the largest electrical porcelain manufacturer in the southern hemisphere and the fifth largest in the world after companies in Japan and the U. S. In 1981 the electrical division became Cullinan Electrical manufacturing high-voltage ceramic insulators up to 150,000 volts.
Curran-Pfeiff Corp.     Metuchen, NJ  
Curry-McQuilken Co.   1908-?? East Liverpool, OH  
Cutler-Hammer Mfg. Co. C - H   Milwaukee, WI wiring devices, specialties
Cutter Co. (George) JUPITER 1890's-?? South Bend, IN Electrical supplies, Cutter tree insulator CD 1038, arc lamp equipment and supplies. Address in July 1900 was 100 Lake Street, Chicago.
Cutter (Scott G.) CUTTER 1910-? Oswego, IL The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured tree insulators and test clamps and clips. Factory was in Muncie, IN.
D (top)
Daburn DABURN mid-1960's-present Northvale, NJ Electrical porcelain for airplane, antenna, feed-thru, feeder spreader, stand-off
Dalian Insulator Works   ~1915-present Dalian, China Formerly Dalian Porcelain Insulator Works
Davidson & Stevenson Porcelain Co. D & S; D & S P Co.; D. S. Co. 1913-1919 East Liverpool, OH Incorporated June 1913 by Willis Davidson, George J. Stevenson, C. C. Davidson, H. L. Stevenson and M. T. Davidson. Manufacturers of standard electrical porcelain, cleats, knobs, tubes and novelties in both dry pressed. Their address in East Liverpool, OH was at Broadway and E. 6th St. The company leased part of the Goodwin Pottery plant, but lost the lease when the Hall China Co. purchased the pottery. Stevenson decided to leave the company at this time and Davidson started a new company and built a new plant across the river at Newell, WV.
Davidson Porcelain Co. DAVIDSON; D. P. Co.; EVERREADY 1920-1936 Chester, WV When the Davidson & Stevenson company was forced to close at the end of December 1919, Davidson incorporated the Davidson Porcelain Co. in early 1920. The incorporators were C. C. Davidson, Willis Davidson, Sarah J. Davidson, and William E. Gillis, of East Liverpool, Ohio, and W. W. Ingram of Chester. A new large plant was built across the river at Chester, WV, which is near Newell, WV. Production started in January 1921. They produced wet process porcelain pin-type insulators. Company address listed as East Liverpool, OH. Made "Eveready" wing assembled porcelain split knobs (see Eveready Porcelain Co.). The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical porcelain, cleats, and split nail knobs. President and general manager, W. M. Davidson; vice-president, Richard B. Smith; secretary and treasurer, C. C. Danielson. The company suspended operations in 1936.
Davis, Greathead, and Green   c. 1850's London, England Plant was called the Flint Glass Works. Richard Green obtained patent gb1853-0003007 in 1853 for making the insulator and mounting screw all in one piece of the same material.
Day (A. G.)   1880's New York, NY The 1885 Electricians' Directory stated company was located at 120 Broadway with notation: "The Kerite Insulator".
De Fuisseaux Freres Baudour (De Fuisseaux Brothers Baudour) [see Societe Anonyme Des Annciennes Usines De Fuisseaux, a Baudour]     Baudour, Belgium Porcelain insulators
Delaware Hard Fibre Co.   c. 1891 Wilmington, DE Made insulators from hard fiber.
Delta-Star   1957-1963 Lisbon, OH The old Thomas plant
Denver Flint Glass Co. [see Colorado Glass Works]     Denver, CO  
Derry China Co.   1903-?? Derry, PA The plant was complete around February 1903. They produced semi-porcelain ware such as dinner and toilet ware. In December 1903 they were planning to add electrical porcelain.
Dexmar Minnesota, Inc.     Roseville, MN Company was located at 2741 Patton Road. Manufacturer of polycarbamate polymer insulators including two pin-type styles for 15kv and 25kv.
Diamond Flint Glass Co.   1903-1913 Montreal, Quebec In early 1903 the Diamond Glass Company was acquired and reorganized as the Diamond Flint Glass Company in order to acquire Canadian rights to machines which mass-produced glass. The new company was incorporated with a capital of $1,600,000, divided into 16,000 shares of $100 each. The directors were H. J. Wright, George Payne, Richard Credicott, W. J. Gilchrist and Henry Toynbee with headquarters in Toronto. What followed was a period of consolidation, the introduction of new techniques and forms, and the acquisition of more glass companies. After installing equipment for the mechanical production of glass, the Diamond Flint Glass Company reopened the Hamilton Glass Works in 1906. The newly resurrected glass plant didn't last long however since in 1912 it was destroyed by a fire. Some of the equipment was able to be salvaged and it was moved to the Dominion Glass plant, which was under construction at the time.
Diamond Glass Co.   1890-1902 Montreal, Quebec The Diamond Glass Company was incorporated in 1890 in Toronto but was funded by financial interests in Montreal. This company descended from various glass works starting with the opening of the St. Johns Glass Company in 1875. St. Johns became the Excelsior Glass Company in 1878, which in turn became the North American Glass Company in 1883. This was to be its final reorganization until 1890 when it became the Diamond Glass Company. Its purpose was as a vehicle for the consolidation of the Canadian glass industry. By acquiring control of numerous glass works throughout Canada (of which the Hamilton works were some of the first), the Diamond Glass Company helped to prevent foreign interests from entering into the Canadian market. In 1903 the Diamond Glass Company was reorganized as the Diamond Flint Glass Company in order to acquire Canadian rights to machines which mass-produced glass. What followed was a period of consolidation, the introduction of new techniques and forms, and the acquisition of more glass companies.
Diamond Insulator Co.   circa 1901 Mogadore, OH Listed in 1901 Powers' Central Station Directory and Buyers' Manual as making clay insulating cleats and tubes.
Diamond Porcelain Co. diamond symbol 1900-1913 Trenton, NJ The company was incorporated on January 27, 1900 and located on Chauncey St. It manufactured specialty porcelain and was merged into General Porcelain Co. in 1913. A 1907 ad said the produced "transformer tubes, catenary spools, wall tubes, spark plugs, and high tension insulators of special design and all classes of wet process porcelain, as well as pressed specialties made by the dry process." The company supplied a sample of third rail insulators which apparently they made for Ohio Brass (Electric Railway Review, Nov. 1906, p. 912).
Diamonite Products Mfg. Co.   c. 1952-present Shreve, OH Manufacturer of products using Diamonite which is composed of about 95% alumina oxide. It was referred to as "wear-resistant polycrystalline alumina". Pin-type insulators were first reported in the early 1970's made of Diamonite which were coated with Teflon. Insulators are nearly indestructible and are 2-3 times as dense as typical porcelain. The Diamonite Products Mfg. Co. was owned by W. R. Grace & Co. and sold in July 1994 to Ferro Corp. Apparently Ferro reorganized the Shreve plant in 2003 and operates it as CerCo, LLC See patents 5,053,370 and 5,164,345 granted in 1991-2.
Dirigo       Composition insulators
Dixie Electrical Mfg. Co.        
Dominion Glass Co., Ltd. DOMINION; D in a diamond 1913-1967 Wallaceburg (Hamilton), Ontario The Dominion Glass Company was founded in 1912 by the amalgamation of the Diamond Flint Glass Company and the Sydenham Glass Company (of Wallaceburg, Ontario). Production commenced in 1914 once the company had finished construction of its Chapple Street plant. In the 1920's, hand-blowing shops were replaced by a full line of automatic machines (which were subsequently discarded in 1940 with the arrival of new bottle-making equipment). In 1924 an addition was built in the form of a $40,000 building consisting of a machine shop and a stamping room. Though the plant had two furnaces initially, by 1958 a third was added along with a colour tank for making green and amber glass. A decade later the company was expanding again with the start of a $4.25 million modernization project at its Hamilton and Wallaceburg plants. $2 million was spent expanding the glass furnaces and their related production facilities at the Hamilton plant, while $2.25 million was spent constructing new plant facilities and rebuilding the glass furnace at the Wallaceburg plant. Both plants installed final process electronic equipment to detect and reject imperfect bottles. These improvements boosted production at the Hamilton plant to 22 million bottles per year. In 1969, $8 million was spent on improving efficiency to help offset rising labor costs. (see North American Glass Co.)
Dominion Insulator & Mfg. Co. Ltd.   1922-1928 Niagara Falls, Ontario Name changed to Canadian Ohio Brass Co.
Dominion Telegraph Co. D. T. Co. 1870's Canada The Dominion Telegraph Company was strong in the early 1870s. Poor cash flow resulted in the DTCo being leased to the Union Telegraph Co (1879), who were bought out by Western Union. The Great North Western Telegraph Co was actively looking to expand their lines and by late 1881 the GNW Tel Co. had leased both the DTCo and MTCo lines in eastern Canada. CD 742 is embossed D. T. Co. on the base very similar to those with M. T. Co.
Donetsk Bottle Factory

ДБЗ

 
1905-?? Ukraine, Russia Chris Tella reported insulators embossed ДБЗ come in several sizes, the No.1, No.2 and No.12, to name a few. These insulators were made by the Donetsk Bottle Factory in Ukraine, which opened in 1905. Don't believe that the insulators they produced were made after 1940. They were likely made before 1917.
Doulton & Co.   1853-?? London, England John Doulton (1793-1873) was a journeyman potter having served his apprenticeship as a thrower in a pottery at Fulham, south east London. At the age of 22 in 1815, he invested his life savings to become a partner in the firm owned by the widow, Martha Jones, together with John Watts, who was a foreman at the same pottery. Following Martha's retirement in 1820, the new company was trading by 1826 as Doulton & Watts from premises in the High Street, Lambeth. Doulton & Watts followed the practice of many local potteries at that time in manufacturing salt-glazed stoneware storage and drinking vessels. Many of these containers are still available with their familiar sand colour, some embellished with relief figures and often with an embossed mark on the base. As the company developed and expanded it diversified into the manufacture of architectural terracotta wares such as chimney pots, roof tiles and garden ornaments. It also manufactured acid-resistant stoneware chemical vessels for the chemical industry. John Doulton had eight children, but it was his second son, Henry Doulton (1820-97), who became the driving force in the family business and is widely credited for bringing the company to pre-eminence. Five brothers worked in the company, but it was Henry's driving force through experimentation with glazing techniques that resulted in their greatest achievements. Henry Doulton served an apprenticeship and learned all aspects of the pottery trade. As with many Victorians he studied chemistry and physics in his spare time and this stood him in good stead for developing new glazes for the Lambeth pottery. Population growth during the 19th century coupled with the lack of efficient sanitation caused outbreaks of disease throughout all levels of the population. Reformers around the middle of the century advocated the use of glazed stoneware pipes for sewerage and house drains. Much of these probably exist to this day. The ever enterprising Henry persuaded his father and a younger brother to invest in a separate company in 1846 to produce these items and so Henry Doulton and Company started trading in Lambeth High Street. Such was the demand for these products that further pipe factories were opened in Lancashire and the West Midlands. Further diversification was into sanitary ware items including a stoneware water closet. The world's first glazed ceramic kitchen sink was developed and this side of the business grew rapidly. The first major display of Doulton wares was at the Great Exhibition in Hyde Park in 1851. Doulton and Watts showed their ceramic equipment for the chemical industry and the water filters containing purifying blocks of carbon, often in very ornate and decorative styles. Many other items were displayed including industrial ceramics such as insulators for the bourgeoning electrical power industry. John Watts retired in 1853 and Henry Doulton & Company merged with Doulton and Watts to form a single trading company to be known as Doulton & Company. Lambeth Pottery London, S. E. and Burslem, Staffordshire. Manufacturer of accumulators, porous cells, battery jars, insulators in stoneware and white earthenware, knobs for tops of street lamps, caps for telegraph posts, porous plates (round and square), pipes with ground joints for preservation of electric wires underground, Slater Lewis's patent self-binding insulators, crucibles and general chemical ware. Awarded only metal at the International Electric Exhibition, London, 1882. Contractors to the Postmaster-General and Indian Government. (J. A. Berly's British, American and Continental Electrical Directory and Advertiser, 1883). The 1883 Telegraphic Journal and Electrical Review (London) stated they were making the Slater Lewis self-binding (screw-top) insulator.
Doulton Insulators Australia Pty. Ltd. DIA; API 1965-c. 1978 Yarraville, Victoria, Australia In January 1965, Royal Doulton bought the established API (Australian Porcelain Insulators Pty Ltd.) and renamed it DIA (Doulton Insulators Australia Pty. Ltd.). Mr G. H. Beanland was appointed as the company's Managing Director. During 1977, Doulton Insulators Australia Pty Ltd met difficult trading circumstances and in the 1970s Royal Doulton sold this subsidiary.
Doulton Insulators Ltd. DOULTON 1900-?? London, England See A I Industrial Products Ltd. Doulton Insulators division became part of the Fairey Group in 1985.
Doulton & Watts     London, England Manufacturers of telegraph insulators at the Lambeth Pottery (see Doulton & Co.)
Duck (J. J.) Co.        
Dunham, Carrigan & Hayden Co.   Early 1900's San Francisco, CA  
Dunton and Field     Cambridge, MA Maker of a tree insulator. Company was located at 117 Main St.
Duquesne Glass Co. DUQUESNE GLASS CO. 1905-1907 Carneige, PA There has been alot of uncertainty concerning the true source of the insulators embossed "DUQUESNE GLASS CO." Three types are known, all small telephone line styles: CD 106.1, CD 106.3, and CD 113.2. According to information uncovered by researcher Bob Stahr, the actual source of these insulators was the above-mentioned firm, located in Carnegie, PA, now a part of metropolitan Pittsburgh. The Duquesne Glass Company was incorporated in January of 1905, and was in operation for approximately two years. The glass was manufactured at a plant owned by the H. L. Dixon Company. In May of 1907 the plant itself was sold by Dixon to Superior Steel Company, and Superior gained occupancy in November of that year. Another glass factory with the same name (i.e. Duquesne Glass Company) was located in Paden City, West Virginia, and was in business from about 1903 (some sources state 1905) to c. 1919. That operation was principally a bottle house, and did not produce insulators. On a related note, information that has circulated for long within the insulator-collecting world had mistakenly attributed these insulators to a much earlier factory called the Duquesne Glass Works (note "WORKS" in name) of Belle Vernon, PA, which operated under various owners from about 1834 to 1886 or later.
Duquesne Glass Works   1834-1886+ Belle Vernon, PA Duquesne marked insulator probably were not made by this company, but rather an unknown company
E (top)
E. Wormser & Co.   c. 1854-1875 Pittsburg, PA  
Eagle Electric Mfg. Co. EAGLE   Long Island City, NY Radio antennae insulators.
Eagle Porcelain Co.   1919-?? Queens, NY The company was incorporated in November 1919 by J. S., P. B., and S. Danziger, 960 Mckibben St., Brooklyn. The company was manufactured porcelain products and doll heads.
Eagle Porcelain Co.   prior to 1930 Trenton, NJ Located at Princeton and Chadwick Ave.
Eagle Pottery Co.   1876-1898 Trenton, NJ The Eagle Pottery was erected in 1876 by Richard Millington. In 1879 the pottery was purchased by Burroughs & Mountford Co. Later the owner was S. & W. Baggott. The defunct plant was purchased in 1899 by James Tams, owner of Greenwood Pottery and Greenwood China Co. NJ records show company defunct on January 10, 1902. In 1917, the Trenton Potteries Co. purchased the old Eagle Pottery from Greenwood China Co.
East End China Co.     East Liverpool, OH The company was incorporated in November 1903 at East End, O., with a capital stock of $50,000. The following are the incorporators: F. B. Lawrence, G. A. Trenle, Edna Trenle, H. E. Murphy, and J. K. Rush. Mr. Trenle has been elected president and J. K. Rush secretary and treasurer. The company already owns a three-kiln pottery.
East End Pottery Co. E. E. P. Co. 1894-1903; 1905-1910 East Liverpool, OH The company was founded by S. Turnbull, J. Doekin, E. J. Owen, and Gus A. Trenle. Located on the north side of Railroad St. east of Boyce St. The East End Pottery Co. was started in 1894 on this site. Name changed to East Liverpool Potteries Co. in 1903 and then East End Pottery Co. in 1905. Later became East End China Co., Trenle China Co. and then refitted in 1917 as the Trenle Porcelain Co. to produce electrical porcelain. Cleats with marking E. E. P. Co. were probably the first electrical porcelain made at this plant.
East Liverpool Electrical Porcelain Co. E 1901-1911  East Liverpool, OH Known as "Electrical Porcelain Co." and "Electric Porcelain Co."
Edison General Electric Co.   circa 1890 New York, NY Electrical supplies located at 292 Avenue B
Edison Storage Battery Co. BSCO; EDISON   West Orange, NJ wet batteries
Edmonton Dunvegan & British Columbian Railway EDR 1906-1929 Canada Incorporated in 1906. CPR managed the railway from 1920-1926. Company was sold to the CPR and CNR in 1929 and is now the Northern Alberta Railway.
Edwin Lewis Co.  E. L. CO. circa 1900 Boston, MA Electrical supplies; may have sold glass insulators with embossing "E. L. CO."
Efficiency Electric Co. (The) EFFICIENCY   East Liverpool, OH porcelain cleats
E. I. V. (see SEDIVER)        
Electric Appliance Co. I T 1891-? Chicago, San Fran., Dallas, New Orleans  Electrical supplies, Hemingray, Brunt standard porcelain, Fred Locke porcelain and glass
Electric Cable Construction and Maintenance Co.     Philadelphia, PA David Brooks, Jr. assigned his patent (383,097) to this company.
Electric Engineering & Supply Co. E. E. & S. Co. 1890-c. late 1897 Syracuse, NY  Supplier of various electrical light sockets, switches, rosettes, fuse holders, and railway supplies. The company was located at 308-310 W. Jefferson St. They had a close association with P & S which probably made the porcelain article they used in their assembled products. Jesse L. Hinds first socket patent filed in 1891 was assigned 1/2 to EE&Sco.
Electric Fusegard Co. FUSEGUARD   Newark, NJ fuse cutouts
Electric Good Mfg. Co.      Maine Patented knob
Electric Heat Alarm Co. SIMPLEST   Boston, MA In 1895, this company marketed the "Simplest" cleat patented by L. H. Desisles. (see patent 539,040)
Electric Insulator Co.     Clarksburg, WV  
Electric Ordnance Accessories Co. Ltd.   1916-1928 Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent, England  
Electric Porcelain & Mfg. Co.   1895-1920's Trenton, NJ Company was incorporated on April 25, 1895, by David Crossley, F. F. and J. L. Waechter, and Carl F. Adam. They manufactured dry pressed porcelain insulators and credited with the first single-fired electrical porcelain items. David Crossley, president of the Crossley Machine Company in Trenton, feeling that the electrical porcelain industry presented a very large field and unlimited opportunities, started experimenting with different articles, bodies and glazes in 1890-91. His samples were fired by the different potters in Trenton. Experiments being constantly retarded by waiting for the return of his samples, a delay of two weeks being customary, Mr. Crossley became discouraged with his arrangement and decided to try glazing an unfired piece just to see what might happen to it during firing. Lo and behold! The piece on coming from the kiln could not be distinguished from his twice-fired samples. Realizing that he had discovered a method of making electrical porcelain at a greatly reduced cost and by a much quicker process, he erected a small test kiln in the cellar of his home and continued his experiments with the once-fire process for two or three years, thus perfecting his formulas before starting the company in 1895. Address was 309-315 Monmouth St. and State St. Company made the Ideal Cleat. In 1897, after dropping Imperial Porcelain Works as a supplier of his insulators, Fred Locke had various styles made here. Most were marked with under-glaze ink markings with Fred Locke's name and patent dates. In 1916, the plant moved to the plant on New York Ave., which was the former plant owned by the Climax Pottery Co. At this time H. T. Paiste, of Philadelphia, was president, H. S. Yearsley was treasurer, and Fred Whitehead was superintendent. In 1927, the company was listed in the McGraw-Hill Electrical Trade Catalog. In 1923, Henry T. Paiste was president.
Electric Porcelain Co.  [see East Liverpool Electrical Porcelain Co.]   1901-1911  East Liverpool, OH Known as "Electric Porcelain Co." and "East Liverpool Electrical Porcelain Co." The plant began operation with one kiln on November 4, 1901, making wiring tubes. A second kiln was contracted for and was to be used for cleats and rosettes. Mr. William Erlanger is president; Harry W. Peach, secretary and treasurer; Samuel C. Dyke, superintendent.
Electric (The) Porcelain Co.   1916-? East Liverpool, OH The Electric Porcelain Co. was incorporated on May 29, 1916.
Electric Railway Equipment Co. EL RE CO; E. R. E. 1920's Cincinnati, OH Electrical supplies. Address 201 Cormany Ave. Factories in Cincinnati and West Wheeling, OH.
Electric Service Manufacturing Co. GLASTIC   Philadelphia, PA Red plastic spool (see CJ Nov. 1974)
Electric Service Supplies Co. E.S.S.Co.  1906-1920's? Philadelphia, PA Jobber, electrical supplies, and sole outlet for Franklin Porcelain insulators. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electric railway equipment and supplies. President, Charles J. Mayer; vice-president, J. W. Porter; vice-president and treasurer, A. H. Englund. (See Mayer & Englund)
Electric Storage Battery Co. EXIDE ACCUMULATOR 1888-? Philadelphia, PA Manufacturer of electric storage batteries and battery parts. Made the Chloride Accumulator battery insulator.
Electric Supply & Equipment Co., Inc.       electrical supplies
Electrical Construction & Maintenance Co. [see Pacific Glass Works] E.C. & M.CO.S.F. 1870-1877 San Francisco, CA  Company was organized on December 23, 1870. Company had the CD 123 insulator produced for use on the telegraph lines they built. The company was reorganized as the California Electrical Works.
Electrical Development & Machine Co. FRANKLIN   Philadelphia, PA high-tension specialties
Electrical Engineers Equipment Co. E E E; E E & S Co.   Chicago, IL high-tension electrical equipment
Electrical Glass Corp.   Dec. 1889 to Nov. 1890 Sandwich, MA Plant owned by James Pennycuick but was unsuccessful making insulators there using his 1885 patent.  Most insulators were made at Sandwich Cooperative Glass Co. and some embossed with Diamond P.
Electrical Insulator Mfg. Co.   Sept. 1906 Barberton, OH "A. L. Dyke tried to take over the Barberton Pottery Co. using this name but failed [5876; 5962; 5963]. The company was incorporated in September 1906 with $100,000 in capital furnished by Barberton, Akron, and Cincinnati investors. They intended to manufacture high voltage porcelain insulators and third rail insulators.
Electrical Insulator Mfg. Co.   1880's England The 1885 Electricians' Directory stated company were insulator makers located at 31 Lombard Street, E. C.
Electrical (The) Insulator Mfg. Co., Ltd.   1880's London, England The office was located at 31 Lombard St.
Electrical Mfg. Co. E. M.; E. M. Co.   Battle Creek, MI wireholders
Electrical Porcelain Co. E. P. Co. 1901-1911 East Liverpool, OH Company was incorporated on September 6, 1901, by S. C. Dyke, W. Erlanger, Sr. and Jr., H. W. Peach, and R. J. Marshall. Made wall tubes, cleats, knobs, and standard porcelain. Production started on November 4, 1901, with one kiln and two more under construction. Merged into General Porcelain Co.
Electrical Porcelain and Manufacturing Co.   1903-? Trenton, NJ There may be confusion with Electric Porcelain & Mfg. Co., but this company was listed in 1909 "History of Clay-Working Industry in the U.S." There was also a company in Trenton with name Porcelain Electric Mfg. Co.
Electrical Specialty Mfg. Co. BOSS   Providence, RI cleats, outlet bushings
Electrical Supply Co.   1879-1890's? New York City, Chicago, IL, and Ansonia, CT Company was organized in 1879 at Ansonia, CT. Later its main business location was at 17 Dey St. in New York City and corner of Randolph St. and Michigan Ave. in Chicago. Showed the Fluid Insulator in their 1892 catalog. Electrical supplies for telegraph, telephone, electric light and medical: Hemingray, Illinois Electric, Pittsburg, standard porcelain
Electro Importing Co. EICO   New York, NY Radio antenna insulators
Electroporcelana Gamma, S.A. GAMMA early 1960's to present Bogota, Colombia Manufacturers of porcelain insulators.
Electrose Mfg. Co. ELECTROSE; ARCOVER 1893-1920's Brooklyn, NY Insulators made from the composition called "Electrose". The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured high-tension bushings, insulators, insulating compounds and materials. President, Louis Steinberger.
Electrovidro, S.A.   1980's? San Paulo, Brazil From purchase of VIFOSA by Sediver
Elekroporcelan Louny EPL 1957-present Louny, Czech Republic  
Elkins Tree Insulator Co.   c. 1894 West Mansfield, MA Sold a tree insulator patented by Charles Elkins: 444879
Ellenville Glass Works   1837-1896 Ellenville, NY The Ellenville Glass Company was established in 1836 near the D&H Canal by a group of glassmakers from Connecticut. In October 1837 the company started making bottles using as much as 10,000 cords of wood yearly. In 1859 they switched to coal. Business suffered during the Civil War and resulted in a reorganization in 1866 under the name of Ellenville Glass Works. The company produced green and amber bottles, fruit jars, insulators for telegraph poles, glass canes, paperweights and ornamental objects called "whimsies" as well as carboys and demijohns. In 1871 the glass works covered twelve acres of ground and had an outlet store in New York City, but was knocked out by the depression of 1873, foreclosed and, in 1882, its property was finally sold to Charles A. Edwards. A new company, the Ellenville Glass Factory, was organized, in which many of the glass blowers bought shares. In 1886, they started making white glass for insulators and fruit jars, with silica ground from Shawangunk Creek. Business declined causing the company to end operations in 1896. No known insulator specimens have been identified.
Elliot-Lewis Electrical Co.     Philadelphia, PA Electrical supplies, Hemingray
Elm City Engineering Co. H & M   East Liverpool, OH specialties
Elmer Glass Works   1903-?? Elmer, NJ Company was formed on December 24, 1903 with the purchase of the Novelty Glass Co.
EMF Electrical Year Book     Chicago, IL Electrical directory of companies
Empire China Works   1867-?? Greenpoint, NY The company was started in 1867 by James L. Jensen making hardware trimmings and table ware. It started making electrical porcelain in plaster molds as early as 1889 for Waldo Bryant Electric Co. The Bryant Electric Co. was founded in 1888 by Waldo Bryant (incorporated in 1889). One source said Bryant in 1890 acquired the Empire China Works, which manufactured electrical porcelain devices. However, other sources indicate Jenson remained the owner, but very likely the major manufacturer of electrical porcelain devices for Bryant for many years. According to an early history written by Watts, Empire was credited to making the first electrical porcelain in the U. S. The plant was located from 144 to 156 Greene street (and Union St.), near Manhattan avenue in Greenpoint (Brooklyn) covering a space 175 feet by 100. In 1893, the plant was still owned by J. L. Jensen. (see article 4870). Empire China Works was still in business in 1919 and no reference past that date could be found.
Empire City Electric Co.   1880's-1890's New York, NY Company was located at 15 Dey St. Manufacturers and dealers of electrical supplies, glass insulators, standard porcelain
Erie Electrical Equip. Co. ERIE 1920's? Johnstown, PA Electrical supplies for switchboards, porcelain cleats and specialties.
Erner Electric Co.     Cleveland, OH Electrical supplies (Hemingray, standard porcelain)
Esperanza, S.A.     Segovia, Spain  
Etruria Pottery Co.   1863-1881 Trenton, NJ This plant was built in 1863 by the Ott & Brewer Co. Owners were Messrs. Bloor, Ott & Booth with John Hart Brewer as president in 1865. Manufactured granite and pottery ware. Ownership was succeeded by Bloor, Ott and Brewer in 1864 shortly followed by Ott and Brown. Egg-shell china production started in 1882 with help from English potters. NJ records show Etruria Pottery Co. was dissolved on December 12, 1881. In 1882, proprietors were Ott & Brewer (Hart J. Brewer) and located on Clinton near BDRR. Later purchased by Charles H. Cook. Confirmed (Feb. 1904) maker of porcelain wall tubes from two to sixty inches long. (see Cook Pottery Co.)
Ette Investment Co.   ~1900-1920 St. Louis, MO Line equipment. Apparently taken over in 1920 by the St. Louis Malleable Casting Co. at 7701 N. Conduit Ave. in St. Louis.
Everready Porcelain Co.   1921-? Chester, WV This was the sales name for split knobs made by Davidson Porcelain Co. Brick & Clay Record dated April 19, 1921 announced that "Josiah T. Smith, president of the Smith-Phillips China Co., of East Liverpool, Ohio, his son Daniel and Rudolph Schylander, bookkeeper for the same corporation, and Harry Edward Hoenig, an electrical porcelain expert, have formed the Everready Porcelain Co., with a capital stock of $25,000. The company is manufacturing a cleat made of electric porcelain under patents granted Mr. Hoenig after several years fighting thru the courts, the work being done in the plant of the Davidson Electric Porcelain Co., at Chester, W. Va., but the main offices of which are in East Liverpool." See court records for Hoenig vs Parker p. 21 of vol. 50 of Court of Appeals of the District of Columbia.
Excelsior Glass Co.   1878-1883 Montreal, Quebec See Foster Brothers Glass Co. In 1883 the name was changed to North American Glass Co.
F (top)
Fabbrica Isolatori Porcellana   1919-present Romagnanos, Italy Manufacturer of pocelain insulators since 1919.
Fuisseaux (Nicolas De)     Baudour, Belgium Porcelain manufacturer started in August 1842 by Francis Joseph Declercq. In May 1845 he was joined by a lawyer, Nicolas De Fuisseaux. In February 1848 the two partners split with Fuisseaux making only porcelain. After his death in 1857, his widow, Eleanor Messina directed the family business for over 25 years and it was taken over by the youngest son, Fernand. (see article 3689)
Fairmount Electric & Mfg. Co. FAIRMOUNT   Philadelphia, PA wiring devices
Falcon Electric Mfg. Co. FALCON 1890's to ?? New York, NY Electrical supplies
FALL RIVER POLICE SIGNAL CITY FIRE ALARM   Fall River, MA  Embossing found on CD 134 and CD 133 has embossing "CITY FIRE ALARM"
FAPA, S.A.     Argentina  
Federal Clay Mfg. Co.   c. 1905 Brooklyn, NY Found in 1905 Thomas Register. Maker of vitrified clay and third rail insulators.
Federal Electric Co. F. E. Co.; FEDERAL   Chicago, IL porcelain bushings and wiring devices
Federal Porcelain Co. FEDCO 1917-1927  Carey, OH Company was incorporated on January 31, 1917 to manufacture porcelain products. Merged into Porcelain Products Inc. in 1927. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical and special porcelain products. President, E. C. Edwards; treasurer, C. G. Spencer; general manager, R. G. Spencer.
Fernado C. Mesa Co. F. C. M.   Irvington, NJ wiring devices
FG; VEDOVELLI, PRIESTLEY & Cie, Ateliers de constructions electriques, (Electricbuilding workrooms)   c. 1900 Ivry / Seine, near Paris Radio-strains, named "maillons"
Fidenza Isolatori   1928-2000 Fidenza, Italy Owned by Sediver. The original name was Borgo until the town changed its name to Fidenza in July 1928. The company collaborated with Folembray since their catalog numbers were the same. The factory closed at the end of the year 2000.
Fidenza S.A.   1940's-?? Fidenza, Italy  
Fidenza Vetraria S.A.     Fidenza, Italy  
FIL     Italy  
Findlay Electric Porcelain Co. (The) BUCKEYE; F; F in a diamond; F in a circle; F E P Co; FINDLAY 1910-1927  Findlay, OH Initially plant was leased from the U. S. Electric Porcelain Co.; merged into General Porcelain Co. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured porcelain bushings, cleats, knobs, etc. President, J. E. Bickwell; secretary, F. E. Owen.
Firebrick Insulator and Pottery Co., Ltd.   circa 1922 Melbourne, Australia In 1922, sold 86,000 "A" insulators to Australia for 4 states and 450,000 insulators for all states.
Fleron (M. M.) & Sons FLERON   Trenton, NJ Radio antenna insulators. In 1922, Star Porcelain Co. made insulators for Fleron.
Fletcher (J. R.) Mfg. Co. FLETCHER 1920's Dayton, OH Manufacturer of pole line hardware, etc. Address was 302 E. Second and Canal St. Owner was John R. Fletcher.
Florenz     Australia  
Fobes Supply Co.     Portland, OR; Seattle, WA; San Francisco; Oakland, CA Electrical supplies
Folembray (Verreries de) [Glassworks of Folembray] FOLEMBRAY 1899-1954 Folembray, France  
Fort (Louis) Mfg. Co. LF or LF in a circle   Jersey City, NJ clamp insulators
Fort Wayne Electric Works FORT WAYNE ELECTRIC WORKS   Fort Wayne, IN primary fuse cutouts
Foster Brothers Glass Co.   c. 1857-1878 Montreal, Quebec The Foster brothers immigrated to St. John in 1855. In 1878, the glass house was sold and apparently moved to Montreal where it is understood the plant is part of the present Dominion Glass Co. It was known as Excelsior Glass Company (1878-1883), later as North American Glass Company (1883-1891), and then the Diamond Glass Company was formed in 1891. In 1902 the name was changed to Diamond Flint Glass Co. and (by this time a conglomerate of several glass plants) it then merged into the Dominion Glass Company in 1913.
Fowler Brothers Potteries FB; R.F.; FOWLER mid-1930's- Sydney, Australia Or Robert Fowler Ltd. FB is Fowler Brothers; R.F. is Robert Fowler
Fowler Insulator Syndicate, Ltd   1891-? London, England The Fowler Insulator Syndicate, Ltd was founded by Richard Hewlett. Reference from May 15, 1891 issue of The Electrical Engineer, page 403. They produced earthenware insulators according to the Powerhouse Museum in Sydney, Australia. Reference was found that R.F.Fowler and Fowler Ltd. (Sydney) produced porcelain insulators.
Fralick (S. R.) & Co. KWIKON   Chicago, IL wiring devices
Frank C. Teal Co.        
Frank H. Stewart Electric Co.     Philadelphia, PA Electrical supplies, tubes, Thomas and Brunt standard porcelain, Murdock knobs, Brookfield, Thomas pintypes
Frank Ridlon Co.   early 1900's Boston, MA Electrical supplies, trolley hangers, wood strains, composition feeder wire insulators, Hawken tree insulator, Jumbo and other glass insulators, Brodie tree insulators
Franklin Porcelain Co.   1924-1929  Norristown, PA This company, located in Norristown, PA, was organized in 1924. They purchased a site from the Peerless Paper Co. near Philadelphia. William H. Smith was the general manager. It is estimated the manufacture of insulators ceased in 1928 or 1929. Franklin Porcelain insulators were cataloged and sold by Electric Service Supplies Company, a large distributor of railway, power and industrial equipment, and this company acquired controlling or total interest in the Franklin Porcelain Company at some time after its formation. In 1932, ESSC was operating the plant, which had four kilns using coal as fuel, but is unknown if pin-type insulators were still being made. The cataloged line of pin-types covered all power styles from small distribution sizes up to larger designs. The three markings shown below are attributed to this company. The Circle-delta marking is found on wet process guy strains similar to the FP pin-types in glaze color and quality of manufacture and is believed to be a Franklin marking. It is unknown on pin-type insulators.
Fred M. Locke    1893-1902 Victor, NY see Locke (Fred M.)
Freeman (E. H.) Electric Co. F in a circle; FIVE HUNDRED; TERMILET 1904-1920's?? Trenton, NJ Company was incorporated on March 23, 1904. The principal office and place of business will be at 100 Hamilton avenue. The capital stock was placed at $25,000 and increased to $250,000 on September 22, 1908. In 1921, the officers were Edgar H. Freeman (president), George E. Maguire (sec-treas) and P. T. Bradley (sales manager). This agrees exactly with the officers of Trenton Porcelain Co. The address in the 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book was 803 E. State St., Trenton, NJ. This is the same address as Trenton Porcelain Co. in the same book, but it is not a factory site. It is a business address used by several factory representatives. Freeman used the tradename "Circle F".
Frenchtown Porcelain Co.   1914-?? Frenchtown, NJ Manufactured spark plugs. Company formed on August 12, 1914 by William P. Loper.
Fry (H. C.) Glass Co.   1901-1933 Rochester, PA Company was formed by H. C. Fry. Fry Glass made (at least) 5 different types of glass insulators that are known so far (4 pintypes) and all are unique styles and very rare. Most known examples were recovered from the factory dumpsite. Colors included opaque cobalt, milky opalescent, dark purple blackglass, etc. The actual manufacture of these insulators occurred in the 1920s.
Fukagawa Porcelain Koran   Arita, Japan The company was founded in 1875 in Arita near Nagasaki as a family business. Their rich history includes work as purveyor to the Japanese Imperial Family since 1910. In 1895 Ezaiemon Fukagawa founded a company 'Koransha' and started to produce porcelain for export to Europe and America. They have been making insulators since at least 1879. They made some of the first insulators used on the island to replace the "Varley double cup earthenware" insulators used on the original telegraph lines, which are still located in Western Japan today.
Fuller & Son J C FULLER & SON / BOW   Bow, England British patents in 1867 and 1877
G (top)
Gager (Oliver A.) & Co.   circa 1851-1853 Bennington, VT See U. S. Pottery Co. for more details. Oliver A. Gager, a New York china merchant, became involved with Christopher Fenton around 1850. He apparently sold Fenton's Flint ware. Then in 1853, he formed a company with Fenton and others known as the U. S. Pottery Co., which is know to have made the Elliott Flint insulators. It is likely that the insulators were first made by O. A. Gager & Co.
Gamewell Fire Alarm Telegraph Co. (The Gamewell Co.) GAMEWELL   Newton Upper Falls, MA signaling systems
Gamma (see Electroporcelana Gamma, S.A.)        
Gaskell and Grocott G & G 1873-1969 Stoke-on-Trent, England Manufacturers of hard vitrified porcelain insulators.
Gaynor Electric Co.     Louisville, KY Thomas F. Gaynor was granted patent 437,685 on October 7, 1890 for a color-coded glass insulator in order to distinguish it from other lines on a crossarm or pole.
Gayner Glass Works GAYNER 1898-1957 Salem, NJ In 1874, John Gayner, Sr. was located at Waterford, N. J., where he became a member of a firm, his partner being S. J. Pardessus, of New York City. July, 1879, the firm of Gayner & Pardessus moved their business to Salem and at first employed only about seven men. The firm was dissolved when the sons of Mr. Gayner became partners in the business. The company was incorporated on December 8, 1898 in Salem, NJ by John Gayner, Edward J. Gayner, and J. William Gayner. John Gayner, Sr. died on October 20, 1925 at the age of 94. (see ID 7580) A fire in May 1926 destroyed the large warehouse. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured battery jars and was established in 1874. President, John Gayner; vice-president, J. William Gayner; treasurer and general manager, E. J. Gayner; secretary, John M. Gayner. Factories were in Salem, NJ and Bridgeton, NJ. Insulators were evidently only produced during the period of 1920 to 1923. Most of the insulators they made are embossed "GAYNER" on the skirt area. Their main line of glass products consisted of various kinds of bottles and fruit jars.
Gebrüder Kühnlenz   1894-?? Kronach, Bavaria, Germany The "Gebrüder Kühnlenz" factory started off with bisque doll heads and pipe bowls and slowly took up industrial porcelain around 1894. They employed 300 people in 1913, 270 of which worked on "electro-technical porcelain" (insulators and related) only. Shortly before 1918, the factory operated four large kilns; two thirds of their production output was made for export, half of which went to customers in the USA. Two marks are known: the impressed 'GK' is easily to ID, but many people would never recognize the second (introduced around 1918), a 'K' encircled by a 'C'. The 'K' of course stood for Kühnlenz, the 'C' is the first letter of the historic town name of Kronach, "Crana", a name that is not only used in this case but is also found in marks used by the tableware manufacturers Alboth & Kaiser (Kronach, later Staffelstein) and the short-lived tableware company of Oechsler & Andechser ("oCa Kronach").
General Bakelite Co.   1920's New York, NY The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured Bakelite and Bakelite products. President, Dr. L. H. Baekeland; vice-president and treasurer, W. A Hamann; secretary, Philip Schleussner. Address was 2 Rector St.
General Ceramics & Steatite Corp.   1940's-?? Keasbey, NJ Steatite insulators.  Supplied IN-83 radio antenna insulators for Boeing B-29 during WWII.
General Electric Co. G. E. Co.; STANDARD 1892-1897? Schenectady, NY General Electric Company's connection with manufacture of electrical porcelain dates from 1887. The Bergman Electric Co. of New York interest¬ed a local potter by the name of John J. Krauss in this manufacture, and they began experimenting with dry process insulator items in 1887 and went into production in 1888, Bergman taking the total output. Bergman Elect¬ric was absorbed by the Edison Machine Company which later became General Electric Company. An article in the May 1, 1895, issue of "The Electrical Engineer" gives important information on the early operations of General Electric and on their manufacture of dry press pin-types as follows. The company moved its original porcelain operation from New York to Schenectady, NY in 1892, and this was all dry process manufacture until 1902. The 1895 article describes the manufacture by G. E. Co. of "large double petticoat insulators for the important power transmission plant at Folsom-Sacramento (Cal)." The first pin-type insulator G. E. made was the dry process porcelain U-701. It was used on the 4-1/2 mile 2,500-volt 3-phase AC transmission line from the hydroelectric plant on the Shetugket River at Baltic, CT to the Ponemah Mills in Taftville, CT and to the Norwich Street Railway. The May 2, 1894, issue of the “The Electrical Engineer” stated, “All [conductor wires] are supported on the General Electric Company’s standard oil insulators.” Specimens of U-701 have been found along the line, but no sign of an oil cup. In July 1895, U-744’s were used on the 11,000-volt three-phase 22-1/2 mile transmission line from the Folsom, CA hydroelectric plant to Sacramento. Somewhat later, the September 26, 1896, issue of "The Electrical Engineer" described in detail a contract G.E. had with the Pioneer Electric Power Company of Ogden, Utah for the construction of "the most notable power-transmission plant yet attempted, both from the point of view of amount of power and the distance of transmission." Power transmission was with 15,000 volts on two 3-phase lines 36 miles long from Ogden to Salt Lake City. The article went on to state that the six wires would be "strung on insulators of a special porcelain developed by the General Electric Company to with¬stand high potentials ....". Completion of this entire project was scheduled for November 1896. The G. E. insulator used on this line was the dry process U-935A. Shortly after the insulators were installed they began to fail. Dry process porcelain could not withstand that voltage and were easily punctured (electrical arc through the porcelain to the top of the pin). In early March 1897, most of the G.E. U-935A’s had been replaced by wet process porcelain U-935A’s made by Imperial Porcelain Works. G. E. probably submitted their U-935A for consideration on the Niagara Falls-Buffalo transmission line in the summer of 1896. Imperial ultimately won the contract using their wet process U-937, which was Fred Locke’s design for an oval insulator with ridges on each side. As transmission line voltages began to increase above 10,000 volts, it quickly became evident that dry process porcelain insulators were inadequate and the G. E. styles were in disfavor. Imperial’s wet process insulators were the obvious choice. This led G. E. to cease making pin-type insulators. They had neither the technical skill to make wet process porcelain nor the interest in investing in the equipment to get into that minor, competitive business. (see Weber Electric Co.)
General Electric Co. LOCKE; GE; NP 1934-1971 Baltimore, MD General Electric owned Locke but used the GE marking on insulators from 1968 to 1971 when pin-type insulator manufacturing ceased. The NP marking was used on GE marked radio treated insulators and represented Noise Proof.
General Electric Porcelain Co.     East Liverpool, OH Plant leased by General Electric and run by T. F. Anderson. The plant is known to have produced standard electrical porcelain in the early 1920's.
General Porcelain Co. GEE PEE; G. P. Co.; NAIL-IT 1911-1927  Parkersburg, WV  Initial mergers in 1911 included Anderson Electric Porcelain Co., G. F. Brunt Porcelain Co., Electrical Porcelain Co., and Ohio Porcelain Co. at East Liverpool, OH, U.S. Electric Porcelain Co. in New Cumberland, WV, and Findlay, OH and three plants in Trenton, NJ of Sun Porcelain Co., Diamond Porcelain Co. and one unknown.
General Porcelain Mfg. Co.   1939-present Trenton, NJ The company was incorporated in 1939 for the purpose of electrical porcelain manufacture. The company continued in that capacity until 1942 when they switched to art ware in the form of lamps, figurines, and ash trays. In 1952 they developed porcelain forms for the latex glove industry and became the world leader.
General Post Office GPO 1912-present England Post office in England controlled all communications by telephone and telegraph using insulators made with the marking GPO.
General Radio Co.   1920's Cambridge, MA The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured radio apparatus, antenna supplies, radio antenna insulators. Address was 11 Windsor St. President, Melville Eastham; vice-president, E. H. Locke; treasurer, H. S. Shaw, Jr.
Gijon Fabril, S.A. ASTURIAS early 1920's-?? Gijon, Spain Made by Gijon Fabril, SA during Spanish civil war (1936-39) in the town of Gijon, Spain in the Ovilda province in northeastern Spain. The company was known for their art glass. They were a manufacturer active during the Spanish Civil War. At least one CD 106 is known with the embossing.
Gillette-Vibber Co. GEE - VEE   New London, CT end outlet bushings
Gladding Ceramic Insulator Co., Inc.   1963-?? San Jose, CA The company's origin stems from Gladding, McBean Co. (Lincoln, Cal.) which was founded in 1875. The Gladding family split off from that company in 1924 and founded the Gladding Company in San Jose for the manu¬facture of tile products. Their new company for the manufacture of insul¬ators, Gladding Ceramic Insulator Co., was incorporated in Feb 1963, and the plant construction commenced in July 1963. The first shipment of porcelain insulators was made in Sept 1964. Sales were mostly to Pacific Gas & Electric Co., and products include pin-types U-735A and Sim U-762, plus standard sizes of guy strains and secon¬dary rack spools. Except for a small initial shipment of pin-types with an incuse marking, all insulators have been marked with the under-glaze marking.
Glasforms, Inc.   ??-present San Jose, CA Manufacturer of insulators including electrical insulators & strain insulators. Materials include glass, carbon, exotic fibers, hybrids & epoxy resins.
Glass Insulators Ltd.   1967-present South Africa Division of Electric Line Components Pty, Ltd formed in 1967 along with Cullinan Industrial Porcelain Ltd, which made porcelain insulators and SAG Ceramics Ltd.
Gleason (E. P.) Mfg. Co.     New York, NY Electrical supplies; Located on 20 W. Houston St.
Gleason-Tiebout Glass Co.   1903-?? Maspeth (near Brooklyn), NY The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured globes for arc lamps and street lamps. Also manufacturer of glass insulators, novelties, etc. Address 99 Commercial St. with factories in Brooklyn and Maspeth, Long Island, NY. President, M. W. Gleason; secretary and treasurer, C. H. Tiebout, Jr.
Globe Porcelain Co. GLOBE 1913-? Trenton, NJ The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical porcelain specialties. Address was 127 Mulberry St. President, Joseph Steinert; secretary and treasurer, Morris Steinert. (see Globe Pottery Co.)
Globe Pottery Co.   1901-1907 Bordentown (Trenton), NJ The company was organized in February 1901. Bordentown is a suburb of Trenton. This plant was the successor to the old Ironsides Pottery Co. The Bordentown plant closed in 1907. NJ records show the company charter was no longer in force in 1910 for non-payment of taxes. Not sure if they made insulators. Not sure if this was later opened as the Globe Porcelain Co.
Globe Pottery Co.   1888-1902 East Liverpool, OH The Globe Pottery Co. was incorporated in 1888, but began in 1881 under the name Frederick, Shenkle, Allen & Co. making common ware. An article dated February 26, 1891 said there was a Globe Pottery Co. in East Liverpool with N. A. Frederick as president that was flooded. Company was dissolved on August 6, 1902. Also, the book, The Pottery and Porcelain of the U. S., stated it was in East Liverpool. That plant only made Rockingham and yellow ware and semi-porcelain. No insulators.
Good (Robert), Jr. GOOD, R. GOOD, JR.   Denver, CO See Colorado Glass Works
Goodrich Hard Rubber Co.   1851-1890's Akron, OH An 1889 advertisement said hard rubber goods for electrical purposes and subsidary of the B. F. Goodrich Co.
Goodyear, Nelson   1850's   Nelson Goodyear was granted patent 8,075 on May 6, 1851 for a process to vulcanize rubber. It was used for various rubber insulators, particularly the ramshorn, which often bears the Goodyear name and patent date.
Goodyear Hard Rubber Co.   1851-1890's New York, NY The address in NYC was 9, 11, and 13 Mercer St. Advertisement from 1893 said "molded work a specialty". A branch company advertised together at the same address was the India Rubber Comb Co.
Goodyear Vulcanite Co.   1890's New York, NY Address in NYC was 353 Broadway. The factory was in Morrisville, PA. It made hard rubber goods for electrical purposes such as battery cells, sheet, rod, hook insulators, and tubing.
Gordon Electric Mfg. Co. GORDON   Waterville, CT switches, receptacles, etc.
Gould Storage Battery Co.     New York, NY Battery supplies and battery rest insulator. Address was 30 E. 42nd St. President, Charles A. Gould; vice-president and general manager, William S. Gould; secretary, Charles A. Gould, Jr.
Gould & Watson Co.   c. 1891 Boston, MA Made molded mica insulators for electric street railways. Office in Boston at 35 Hartford St. and 170 Washington St in Chicago.
Gould, Inc.   1976-1980 Victor, NY I-T-E Imperial merged with Gould, Inc. on May 1, 1976, and the name change to Gould, Inc. became official on December 1, 1976. The I-T-E marking formerly used on pin-type insulators made at the Victor Insulator plant was phased out in 1977, and the pin-types were then marked with an incuse stamp representing the Gould logo.
Grand Trunk Pacific Telegraph Co. GTP; GTP TEL CO 1906-1928 Canada The Grand Trunk Railway was incorporated in 1852. It started to build westward in 1902-03. Operations were turned over in 1919 to The Canadian Government Railway and in 1923 became part of the Canadian National. The Grand Trunk Pacific Telegraph Co. operated independently of the railway. It was incorporated in 1906 and merged with the Canadian National Telegraph in 1928.
Gray and Hemingray   1848-1856 Cincinnati, OH and Covington, KY Ralph Gray and Robert Hemingray leased a lot on Mayor’s Alley in Cincinnati on 5 April 1848, and began a business known as the Gray & Hemingray Glass Works. Four years later, they purchased a small parcel of land in Covington near the intersection of Second Street and Madison Avenue in 1852 on which they constructed manufacturing facilities for the glass works. The sales room remained on Hammond street in Cincinnati. The first name change was witnessed in 1856 when the glass works became Gray, Hemingray & Bros. to recognize their brothers, Anthony Gray and Samuel J. Hemingray.
Gray, Hemingray & Bros.   1857-1860 Covington, KY The Gray & Hemingray Glass Works was changed to Gray, Hemingray & Bros. to recognize their brothers, Anthony Gray and Samuel J. Hemingray. Note that neither Anthony nor Samuel became actual partners in the business at that time.
Gray, Hemingray & Bro.   1861-1863 Covington, KY Anthony Gray chose to terminate his employment with the company sometime during 1861, apparently because of health problems. He was a glass blower, an occupation that was particularly wearing on an individual. The name of the glass works became Gray, Hemingray & Bro. upon Anthony’s departure. Anthony died 27 April 1865. The glass works became known as Hemingray Bros. & Company in 1864 following the death of Ralph Gray on 20 November 1863 and the subsequent settlement of his estate.
Graybar Electric Co.       Electrical supplies
Great North Western Telegraph Co. GNW; GNW TEL CO 1880-1915 Canada Incorporated in 1880 and acquired Montreal Telegraph Co. in 1881. Company purchased by Canadian Northern Railway in 1915.
Great Western Railway GWR   England Made by Bullers Ltd
Greeley (E. S.) & Co.     New York, NY The E. S. Greeley & Co. were the successors to L. G. Tillotson & Co. The company was located at 5 and 7 Dey St. They carried electrical supplies such as standard porcelain, wooden cleats, Tillotson glass insulators, Brooks ramshorn, glass blocks, rubber ramshorns, double headed rubber ramshorn, B&O and O'Brien Brookfield insulators, Victor forestry insulator, lightning rods and lightning rod insulators
Greenwood China Co.   1890-? Trenton, NJ The company was incorporated on June 9, 1890 with a capitalization of $100,000. It was located on North Clinton St.
Greenwood Pottery Co.   1868-?? Trenton, NJ The company was incorporated on March 5, 1868 after being in operation since 1861 as Stephens, Tams, & Co. Owner was James Tams who came from Stafforshire, England. It was located on Canal St. In 1882, located East Canal near State. In 1898, products were hardware, electrical and sanitary specialties. In 1901, the plant produced thin china tableware, art ware, porcelain hardware trimmings, and electrical telegraph and telephone insulating supplies. They had 17 large kilns with an annual production of over $500,000. Tableware porcelain was marked "G. P. Co." The 1900 Railway Purchasing Agent's Directory indicated they produced porcelain insulators. In 1923 Watts quoted C. C. Treischel, "In America, as far as the writer can learn, the first electrical porcelain was made by the dust or dry process, and the credit for this accomplishment goes to Greenwood Pottery Co. of Trenton, N. J. This was in 1879. The articles were two-piece insulators, probably knobs, and were given two firings, one biscuit and one glost."
H (top)
H. G. CO. [see Hemingray Glass Co.] H. G. CO.      
H. K. Porter Co. [see Porter (H. K.) Co.]        
Hall China Co. HALL 1903-present East Liverpool, OH The company was incorporated in September 1903 with a capital of $100,000. Robert Hall was president and son Robert Taggart Hall secretary and treasurer. Robert Hall died in 1904 and his son took over the company. The son experimented from 1904 to 1911 to develop a glaze that would allow the porcelain to be once-fired. The success of this glaze resulted in single-fired porcelain, which reduced operating costs and allowed for the development of many glazes with brilliant colors. Nothing is certain about electrical porcelain manufacture by this company except telephone knobs have been found with HALL embossing. The company was located at Harvey and Elizabeth Sts. The company at one time or another (1905-1927) had purchased and operated four other small potteries. In 1930, they built a new plant at Klondyke where remnants of electrical porcelain can be found. However, it was customary to use dumpage for fill prior to new construction, so the electrical porcelain remnants could have come from one of the other small plants.
Hamilton Glass Works   1864-1898 Hamilton, Ontario Hamilton Glass Works founded in 1864 by four men: Lyman Moore, John Winer, George Rutherford, and Nathan Gatchell (who was the only co-founder with previous experience, having owned the Lancaster Glass Works in Lancaster, New York). The following year Nathan Gatchell left the company and his interest was subsequently acquired by George E. Tuckett and John Billings. However, these two men didn't find the glass business very exciting and in 1866 they returned to the tobacco business instead. The Hamilton Glass Works was originally located at the eastern end of the block surrounded by Macauley Street, James Street East, Hughson Street, and Picton Street. By 1874 the company had acquired the entire block, illustrating how successful it had become. The following year, however, some competition had developed in the form of the Burlington Glass Works. Founded by Edward Kent, this new company was located at the intersection of Burlington and MacNab Streets in Hamilton. Though the Burlington Glass Works was arguably the most prolific glass works of its day, this did not prevent it from being purchased by the Hamilton Glass Works in 1885. Though this event effectively ended competition between the two companies, in the end it was of little consequence since both glass works were bought up by the Diamond Glass Company in 1891.
Hamilton Porcelains, Ltd. CTS, HP, MADE IN CANADA, STROMBERG CARLSON   Hamilton, Ontario Obtained Porcelain Products Inc. molds and made small insulators 1930-1945. U-47 formerly made by Porcelain Products, Inc. at Carey, OH was made by Hamilton Porcelains from 1930-1945. Many were marked HP MADE IN CANADA, CTS, or STROMBERG CARLSON.
Hammond Cleat & Insulator Co. HAMMOND 1893-1910 Boston, MA The company was incorporated on April 1, 1893. In May 1893, the sales department office address was 220 Devonshire St. and the business address was given as 15 Custom House Street. Charles N. Hammond's patented cleats, knob, and rosette (see patents 469,940, 511,611, 511,612, 511,163). E. H. Crowell was treasurer. The company was out of business by 1910.
Hard Mfg. Co. HARD MFG. CO. / PAT. APPLD. FOR circa 1910's Buffalo, NY Glass knob used as a slider shoe for the ends of furniture legs. (see patent 1,187,378)
Hardwick Hindle, Inc. HARDWICK HINDLE, INC.   Newark, NJ specialties
Harker, J. W. J. W. HARKER   England Incuse marking on a white insulator found in Uruguay.
Harloe Insulator Co. H. I. CO. Jan. 1902-1905 Hawley, PA The company was organized with $150,000 capital by J. S. Welsh, president; Wm. Gregg, vice president; Myron T. Snyder, treasurer; Marcus Tuttle, secretary, and Morton Harloe, the inventor, general manager. Other stockholders were P. J. Bowers, George S. Thompson, of Hawley; Wilton S. Bloes and George E. Shay, of Peckville, PA. The company was dissolved in 1905.
Harloe Insulator Co.   Mar-Oct 1903 Elmer, NJ Plant taken over from the Sterling Glass Co. and operated for a short time.
Hartford Faience Co. H; H. F.; H. F. Co. 1905-1947  Hartford, CT This company, located on Hamilton St. in Hartford, CT, dates back to the 1860’s as the Atwood Company, then Atwood Faience Company, and finally to Hartford Faience Company in 1894 producing decorative glazed porcelain mantels, architectural items, and tiles. Several large decorative tiles can be found in the New York City subway system. The manufacture of dry press electrical porcelain items began in 1902, but no dry press pin-types are known which can be attrib¬uted to this company. Manufacture of wet process pin-types was started some years later, and these were first shown in Catalog No. 1 dated 1925. Graybar Electric Co. was a Hartford distributor starting in 1927. It is unknown when the last Hartford pin-types were manufactured, but direct sales to utilities ceased in 1947. Subsequently this plant made specialty porcelain items sold directly to other manufacturers. The 1921 EMF Electrical Yearbook said the company manufactured special electrical porcelain with President, C. E. Whitney; secretary-treasurer and general manager, Fred L. Bishop.
Harris (John R.) HARRIS     see John Harris patent No. 1,302,158 split knob
Hart & Hegeman Mfg. Co. H & H   Hartford, CT switches and wiring devices
Hart Mfg. Co. H in a diamond   Hartford, CT switches
Hawley Glass Co.     Hawley, PA Only made fruit jars and bottles.
Heineman Electric Co. HECO; SENSORY   Philadelphia, PA Supplier of wiring devices. The HECO and SENSORY embossed markings are found on dry pressed radio antenna strain insulators.
Heinrich Co.   1904-?? Selb, Bavaria  
Hemco Electric Mfg. Co. HEMCO   New York, NY wiring devices
Hemingray Bros. & Co. HEMINGRAY 1864-1867 Covington, KY The glass works became known as Hemingray Bros. & Company in 1864 following the death of Ralph Gray on 20 November 1863 and the subsequent settlement of his estate. Ralph Gray’s will stipulated that his undivided half interest in the business be sold and the proceeds placed in trust for the benefit of his widow, Ann Gray. Robert Hemingray was named executor of the estate and maneuvered the sale to family members rather than placing Ralph’s interest on the open market. These were the “war years” and Robert no doubt was concerned about the introduction of a new and unknown partner into the business during these trying times. The “Hemingray Brothers” were Robert Hemingray, Samuel J. Hemingray, and Joseph C. Hemingray. Joseph C. Hemingray was a lawyer and banker in Leavenworth, Kansas, at the time of Ralph Gray’s death and it appears that he was able to provide the funds that enabled the Hemingray family to acquire Ralph Gray’s undivided half interest in the glass works. The “Company” consisted of James L. Foley and Richard Evans. Samuel J. Hemingray, Joseph C. Hemingray, James L. Foley, and Richard Evans each purchased one-fourth of Ralph Gray’s half interest in the company. Richard Evans was a brother-in-Law of Robert and Samuel J. Hemingray. Joseph sold his one-eighth undivided interest in the company to Robert Hemingray about a year later and returned to Kansas. Following the death of Samuel J. Hemingray on 10 September, 1866, the business became known as R. Hemingray & Co.
Hemingray (R.) & Co. HEMINGRAY 1868-1869 Covington, KY Following the death of Samuel J. Hemingray on 10 September, 1866, the business became known as R. Hemingray & Co. Papers of incorporation were filed with the Commonwealth of Kentucky and approved by the General Assembly on 21 March, 1870, at which time the glass works became the Hemingray Glass Company.
Hemingray Glass Co. HEMINGRAY/H.G.CO./H 1870-1933 Covington, KY/Muncie, IN Hemingray Glass Company. The company retained this name until May 2, 1933, when the Owens-Illinois Glass Company purchased the company on April 25, 1933. Papers filed with the Commonwealth of Kentucky on for the dissolution of the corporation were approved by the General Assembly on ________ 1933. The company did continue to exist on paper until 1938 when all the pending litigation was finally resolved. Address in Muncie is 1610 S. Macedonia Ave.
Hemming Mfg. Co.     Garfield, NJ Company molded phenolic resin insulators. Name changed Oct. 1917 to Garfield Mfg. Co. Manufactured Gummon, Tegit, and Hemit heat-resisting molded insulations. See article 3882.
Hendrie & Bolthoff Mfg & Supply Co.   1861-1940's Denver, CO The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured and sold various electrical supplies.
Henry L. Walker Co.       Electrical supplies
Hermsdorf-Schomburg-Isolatoren G. M. B. H.     Hermsdorf, Thuringen, Germany (see Schomburg & Sons)
Hero Glass Works   1893-1910 Philadelphia, PA Owner was S. B. Rowley; made fruit jars. Could have made the CD 102 with HGW embossing.
HESCHO (Hermsdprf Schomburg Isolatoren GMBH HESCHO 1923-1945 Hermsdorf, Germany Schomburg (with plants in Berlin, Rosslau, Großdubrau near Bautzen etc.) and Porzellanfabrik Hermsdorf Klosterlausnitz, which operated a large plant in Hermsdorf around 30 miles from Weimar merged in 1923 under the name HESCHO. First it was a loose connection with the intention to strengthen their influence on the Mid European insulator market, but during the next decades HERMSDORF dominated and SCHOMBURG became a less important part of the group. The Tridelta brand - three stacked triangles - was used from 1923 up to the 1990's. Friedmar Kerbe lives in Hermsdorf and he had worked for KWH KERAMISCHE WERKE HERMSDORF for many years. KWH were the successors of HESCHO after 1945. They were one of the major insulator producers of the Eastern Block.
Hightension Electrical Industries   modern Haora, India Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
High Tension Electrical Specialty Co. HOLMES 1920's Newton, MA Electrical supplies; Holmes tree insulators
Hindustan Chemicals   modern Khurja, India Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Homer Brooke     Long Island City, NY See Seidlmyer Bros. Glass Works
Homer Brooke Glass Co.   1908-1926   Company formed solely to grant licenses to glass manufacturers for utilizing his patents
Homer Brooke Mold Co.   1892-1908? New York, NY Maker of molds to press glass.
Hope Glass Works   1880-90's Barnsley, York, England Dan Rylands received patent gb1889-0016537 for cylindrical glass insulator. He was employed by the Hope Glass Works.
Hopewell Insulation & Mfg. Co. HOPEWELL   Barberton, OH wiring devices
Houston Glass Works HGW 1902-1905 Houston, TX Probably made the CD 102 with HGW embossing.
Hoyang Electrical Industry Co., Ltd.   modern Taipei, Taiwan  
Hubbard & Co. H in a shield; HUBBARD; HI-TEN; PEIRCE 1824?-1920's? Pittsburgh, PA Electrical and pole line supplies. Address was 6301 Butler St. President, John W. Hubbard; vice-president, C. P. Seyler; treasurer, S. A. Rankin; manager, C. L. Peirce, Jr.
Hubbell (Harvey), Inc. HUBBELL; LOCK SHELL 1905-1920's? Bridgeport, CT The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured sockets, switches, receptacles and other electrical specialties. President, treasurer and general manager, Harvey Hubbell.
Hudson Bay Railway HBR 1880-? Canada Incorporated in 1880.
Hudson Porcelain Co. HUDSON 1901-1913 Trenton, NJ The company was incorporated on March 19, 1902, by William Burgess and W. Holt Apgar, of this city, and William Taylor, of Plainfield. Burgess was also president of International Pottery Co. (1879-1904). Pottery was located on Seward avenue. The August 12, 1912 Trenton Times listed this company as making electrical porcelain. The company was put into receivership in late 1913 and declared bankrupt in February 1914. Company was declared void in January 18, 1916. It was in business as early as December 1901 as an advertisement was found for them with that date. It showed a knob insulator and mentioned cleats. Cleats with this name are known. The March 1901 American Electrican stated "is now manufacturing a full line of insulators".
Hunan Zhongnan A&T Co., Ltd     Changsha, Hunan, China Manufacturer of porcelain insulators of all types
Hunsruck Porzellanfabrick     Emmelhausen, Germany  
I (top)
Ideal Insulator & Electrical Mfg. Co.   1908-?? St. Louis, MO According to September 26, 1908 Electrical World, the company was recently incorporated by Alonzo W. Leayback and H. Caroll Alfred. Not sure if this company sold the IDEAL insulator knob made by the Star Porcelain Co.
Iittala Lasitehdas     Finland  
Illinois Edison Porcelain IEP, LM 1957-1958 Macomb, IL IEP marking switched to LM
Illinois Electric Co.     Chicago, IL Electrical supplies
Illinois Electric Porcelain Co. ILLINOIS; triangle M; Illinois Map 1910-1953 Macomb, IL Manufacturer of wet process porcelain insulators. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured porcelain cleats, knobs, insulators and other porcelain products for electrical purposes. President and general manager, C. W. Kettron; secretary, Charles Hanan; treasurer, W. C. Sutton.
Illinois Electric Porcelain Co. BULL-DOG; MACOMB; triangle M 1910-about 1919 Macomb, IL Dry pressed insulators made by Illinois Electric Porcelain Co. usually with the embossed MACOMB marking. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said they made standard 1, 2, and 3 wire porcelain cleats, special porcelain to conform to any specifications. ("Callender" tubes, "Bull Dog", "Plug" split knobs & special shapes, "Macomb" insulator, "Wedge" tubes.)
Illinois Electrical Material Co.     Chicago, IL Electric railway supplies
Illinois McGraw Electric Co.   1954-1957 Macomb, IL  
IMEC     Italy  
Imperial Porcelain Works DUGGAN; I in a circle 1891-1930's Trenton, NJ The company was formed in July 1891 by Frederick A. Duggan and Benjamin B. Dinsmore. Both were formerly with Trenton China Co., which had become bankrupt when they went into receivership in June 1891. Duggan was General Manager at Trenton China Co. Duggan was born in Quebec the son of a British army officer came to Trenton in the late 1870's. An August 12, 1891 Electrical Engineer article stated that Duggan had purchased the electrical porcelain equipment from the entire Trenton China Co. plant. Originally the Imperial plant made dry process standard porcelain. In 1897 they began making wet process porcelain apparently with the assistance of Fred Locke. The plant was located on the northwest corner of Mulberry St. and Klagg Ave. (457 Mulberry St.). The plant was destroyed by fire on February 3, 1907. About half of the employees who lost their job after the fire resumed work at the Excelsior Pottery, which was purchased by the owners of Imperial. In 1908 the address was given as Mulberry St. and New York Ave. and it was noted that they make spark plug insulators. The plant was totally destroyed by fire on February 3, 1907, but was immediately rebuilt. Company in specialty porcelain business until WW II (see patent 508,687). They were listed in the 1927 McGraw-Hill Electrical Trade catalog. The company was listed in the 1922 Journal of the American Ceramic Society under the direction of B. B. Dinsmore. The company was not listed as a corporation of New Jersey. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical porcelain.
Imperial Porcelain Works   1917-1944 Manasquan, NJ  
Independent Insulator Co.   1904-?? New York, NY The company was incorporated on November 10, 1904 with a capital of $250,000 by Milton Greenebaum (NYC), C. Hull (Brooklyn), and H. M. Wells (Passulc, NJ)
Indepor Inc.   1990??-?? Medicine Hat, Alberta When the National Porcelain Co. plant in Medicine Hat was destroyed by fire in 1974, the manager, Frank Wiedel, later started Indepor, Inc. They produce various electrical porcelain products.
Indiana Glass Co.   1907-2002 Dunkirk, IN Indiana Glass Company (subsidiary of Lancaster Glass Corporation) has produced a tremendous variety of glassware throughout it's long history. In 1967, the very last insulators carrying the Hemingray name were produced at the Indiana Glass Co. glass plant in Dunkirk, using molds and machinery shipped over from Muncie.
Industria Milanese Elettro Ceramica (Milanese Electro Ceramics Industry) IMEC   Milan, Italy Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Industrial Ceramics, Inc. PINCO Dec. 1985-1987 Lima, NY Purchased Lima plant and continued to use the PINCO marking until they ceased the manufacture of pin-type insulators in 1987 (see Porcelain Insulator Corp.)
International Pottery Co.   c. 1902-?? Trenton, NJ In late 1902, Charles Howell Cook, owner of Cook Pottery Co. in Trenton, NJ bought into the company. It was announced in February 1904 that the company had added a line of electrical porcelain to their regular output of table and toilet ware.
Interpace Corp. (International Pipe and Ceramic Co.)   June 1969-1981 LeRoy, NY Lapp Insulator Co. was a division of Interpace from June 1969 until 1981 when the company was taken over by the holding company, Eagle Industrial Products Corp.
Iran Insulator Co.   ??-present Saveh, Iran  
Iron Glass Works (see American Iron Glass Pipe and Plate Co.)     Haverhill, MA It was also referred to as the Iron Glass Co.
ISOBLOC (??)     France  
Isolantite Manufacturing Co., Inc. ISOLANTITE; CERRISO c. 1905-present Stirling, NJ Manufacturer of steatite, high alumina, and cordierite insulators for antenna strain, standoff, lead-in, bushings, spacers, suspension and custom applications. Later name was Isolantite Co. of America, Inc. and then changed in early 1930's to Isolantite, Inc.
ISOREX ISOREX   France See Charbonneaux & Cie
I-T-E Imperial Corp. I-T-E 1953-1976 Victor, NY "I-T-E bought out Victor Insulators, Inc. at Victor, N.Y. in 1953 and operated it as the Victor Insulators Division of I-T-E Imperial Corporat¬ion. After purchasing the plant, I-T-E made considerable modernization improvements and expanded the plant capabilities. The product line was completely altered, old designs being dropped and more modern designs be¬ing added. This plant was then considered to be one of the major produc¬ers of pin-type insulators. In case you are wondering, I-T-E stands for “Inverse Time Element”, which was the sales pitch was used by the Cutter Co. to promote this feature of their circuit breakers. It refers to the trip time vs current characteristic. I-T-E Imperial merged with Gould, Inc. on May 1, 1976, and the name change to Gould, Inc. became official on December 1, 1976. The I-T-E marking formerly used on pin-type insulators made at the Victor Insulator plant was phased out in 1977, and the pin-types were then marked with an incuse stamp representing the Gould logo.
J (top)
J. Stolle Niemen        
Jalisco Comp.     Mexico Delling's "Before Threads" mentions this Mexican company but no information is known.
James Edwards & Son   1870's-1880's Burslem, Staffordshire, England Advertisement February 1878 in C&GJ stated electrical insulators
Jarsan Electric Co., Ltd.     Taipei, Taiwan  
Jaya Shree Insulators   1967-2003 Risha, India Another plant at Halol was started in 1981. Company merged in 2003 with NGK Insulators, Japan to form Birla NGK Insulators Private Ltd.
Jefferson Electric Mfg. Co. JEFFERSON   Chicago, IL specialties
Jeffery-Dewitt Co. (see Jeffery Dewitt Insulator Co.)   1908-1921 Bordentown (Newark), NJ/Detroit, MI The company made porcelain spark plug insulators for the Champion Spark Plug Co. In June 1921, the company was merged into the Champion Spark Plug Co. as a subsidiary of Champion Porcelain Co. In October 1921 it was announced that Champion took over the company.
Jeffery Dewitt Insulator Co. JD 1918-1952 Kenova (Huntington), WV Dr. Joseph A. Jeffery (a dentist), his brother Benjamin A. Jeffery (a machinist), and Benjamin's brother-in-law, Mortimer C. Dewitt (a grocer) started the Jeffery-Dewitt Co. The two brothers filed for a spark plug patent in mid-1906 and about that time opened the Reliance Automobile Co. in San Francisco. Jeffery-Dewitt Co. apparently was started in 1908 in Bordentown near Newark, NJ to make Reliance spark plugs. It also made porcelain for sanitary ware, insulators, tumbling jars, crucibles, etc. In February 1910, they moved the porcelain spark plug plant to Detroit, MI with production starting in June 1910. In January 1916, Robert Johnston filed for a patent for a thick porcelain suspension insulator and assigned it to the Jeffery-Dewitt Co. The patent was not granted until February 1920 (1,329,770). During the patent pending period, orders for thick porcelain insulators exceeded expectations. The original kiln, in Detroit, was designed for making spark plug bodies and was too small for the rapidly expanding high voltage insulator business. In 1915, the Jeffery-Dewitt Co. was purchased by the Champion Spark Plug Co. in order to gain Dr. Jeffery's knowledge of spark plug porcelain in an effort to compete with their rival competitor, the Champion Ignition Co. (AC). In 1921, the Jeffery Dewitt Co. declared bankruptcy. A new company was organized on January 10, 1922, with the name Jeffery Dewitt Insulator Co. However, the 1918 Electric Journal said the name changed with the opening of the new plant at Kenova in late 1918. In early 1916, Champion purchased a site on the Ohio river at Kenova, WV to build a plant for the manufacture of thick electrical porcelain insulators. However, the plant was not ready until late 1918 and flooding on the Ohio River, which remained a problem throughout the history of the Kenova plant, kept the plant from production until early 1920, the same year that the patent was granted. So how were the orders filled 1915-20? In a letter from the Champion Archives stated that JD contracted to other electrical porcelain manufacturers to make the porcelain bodies. These companies were Pittsburg High Voltage Insulator Co, Ohio Brass, and Thomas. Specimens of three pre-patent insulators are: 1) Tines of spider embossed JD Co Detroit Michigan Patent Pending. Under top tine there is the 1918 Pittsburg date stamp and it has a light drippy blue, not true JD blue glaze; 2.) Same insulator but without control date stamp; 3.) No marking, dark gray glaze. The first two are slightly smaller than insulators with the 1920 patent date. The third is slightly larger. Others reported but never confirmed are: 1) JD blue glaze with Patent Pending (blue under-glaze ink stamp on top neck arch). This is possibly the initial production at the Kenova Plant; 2) White glaze with black under-glaze ink Patent Pending marking; 3) 1920 manufacturing date only and it does not have marking referencing Patent Pending. J-D filed for bankruptcy in November 1921. They evidently recovered and continued to operate. The Kenova plant was destroyed by fire on October 29, 1952. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said address was 701 1st National Bank Bldg. President, Dr. J. A. Jeffery; vice-president, B. A. Jeffery; secretary and treasurer, M. C. Dewitt; acting manager, W. D. A. Peaslee.
Jenaer Glaswerk Schott & Gen.     Jena, Germany  
Jenkins, D. C., Glass Co.   1910's and 1920's Kokomo, IN made opalescent radio strain insulators
Jerome Redding & Co.       Electrical supplies: CD 133, porcelain Spool
Jobling Purser PYREX JP // 5663 1885-1973 Sunderland, England In 1858 Angus and Henry Greener started the Wear Flint Glass Works in Sunderland, but the works did not prosper, and in 1885 they were taken over as a bad debt by James Augustus Jobling, owner of the Tyne Oil and Grease Works in Newcastle. In the late 1910's Corning developed Pyrex glass. James Jobling's nephew, Ernest Jobling Purser, joined the firm in 1902, and in 1921 he persuaded the company to acquire the patent rights for the production of a heat resistant glass in 'Great Britain and the Empire (excluding Canada)', which included Great Britain & Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, India and Egypt. The original plain casseroles were an immediate success, and in quick succession many new types and styles of dishes were added. By 1949, when Ernest Jobling Purser retired, the original half-acre works had increased to six acres, and the workforce had increased from 250 in 1922 to over 1,350. The house magazine of 1961 describes three glass factories on one site in Sunderland at this time, another factory at Pallion (Sunderland), and subsidiary companies at Fenton and Stone (Staffs). There were warehouses at Heywood (Lancs.), West Chirton, and Colnbrook (Slough). There were 2,700 employees at the company, making it the largest employer in the Tyne & Wear area after the shipbuilding yards. PYREX ware continued to grow in popularity during the 1960s and 1970s, becoming a regular on wedding lists across the country. However, in 1973, Jobling's licence expired and Corning took over control of the company, ending the era of Jobling PYREX glass. At least one style of Pyrex glass insulator was produced and bears the embossed marking "PYREX JP // 5663".
Jobson Bros.   1869-1885 Dudley, England Robert Jobson started in 1845 as an iron worker specializing in iron, cast iron, brass and other metals at the Phoenix Works in Dudley. Name Jobson Brothers was started in 1876; however, he produced insulators as early as 1865. First two insulator patents were in 1860. Manufactured the 1877 Cordeaux patent insulator. Around 1884 name was changed to Jobson & Co. In 1885, name was changed to Buller Jobson & Co. from merger with W. W. Buller & Co. In 1873, Howard C. Jobson also worked at the Phoenix Works with Robert (father?). There was also an Edward C. Jobson at that time.
Jobson & Co.   c. 1884 Dudley, England See Jobson Bros.
Johann Haviland   1907-?? Waldershof, Bavaria  
Johns-Manville (H. W.) Co.     New York, NY The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical insulating materials, cutout bases, fuses, etc. President and treasurer, T. F. Manville; vice-president, W. R. Seigle; vice-president and secretary, H. E. Manville. Address was Madison Ave. and 41st St.
Johnson (E. F.) Co. JOHNSON   Waseca, MN Radio antenna insulators
Johnson & Nephew JOHNSON & NEPHEW / MANCHESTER   Manchester, England Name found on a Varley's brown stoneware insulator
Johnson and Phillips   1890's London, England Electrical equipment supplier and oil insulators made of glass, pottery, and porcelain.
Johns-Pratt Co.   1886-1920's? Hartford, CT The company was formed in 1886 for the manufacture of Vulcabeston for electrical insulation and steam pump packing. Shortly thereafter they acquired the Gould & Watson Co. of Boston for their molded mica operation. They owned the H. W. Johns Mfg. Co. which later became H. W.Johns-Manville Co. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured meters, fuses, molded insulation and other electrical specialties. Their address was 555 Capital Ave. Secretary and treasurer, Robert C. Buell. They were the exclusive distributor of The H. W. Johns-Manville Co.
Joslyn Mfg. & Supply Co. JOSLYN, PINCO; HORIZON GLAZE 1902-today Chicago, IL  The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured pole-line construction material and was an electrical supply company. Address was 133 W. Washington St. with factories in Chicago, IL, Macomb, IL, Centralia, WA, McCormick, WA, Hattiesburg, MS. President, M. L. Joslyn; vice-president, B. S. Handwork; secretary and treasurer, A. G. Jarmin. See Porcelain Insulator Corp. (Pinco) for more details. Joslyn was a major investor in starting the Pinco at Lima, NY in 1920 with William Harvey and took over complete control on January 1, 1959.
Julius Andrea & Sons Co.        
K (top)
Kahla       In 1922 it was considered one of the oldest German companies making porcelain. Kahla formed a 99 year joint venture with H. Schomburg and Sons and they have porcelain plants in Kahla, Hermsdorf, Freiberg. Zwickau, Margarethenhutte, Rosslau, Wiesau. Pirkensee, Schwarzenfcld and Schwandorf. They made electrical porcelain for export in 1922.
Kalbfleisch's (Martin) Sons     Brooklyn, NY The company owned the Bushwick Glass Works in Brooklyn, the Buffalo and Bayonne works, and a store on Fulton street. Creditors forced the sale of the assets in 1888 with the Receiver being William Brookfield.
Karhulan Lasitehdas     Finland  
Karlsbader Kaolin-Industrie-Gesellschaft Porcelain Works   early 1900's Merkelsgrun, Austria-Hungary The plant was located at Merkelsgrun near Karlsbad in Bohemia. An ad in the 8-31-1907 Electrical World showed a three-part insulator for 60,000 volts. The top appeared to be cemented to the center shell, but the center shell appeared to be glazewelded to the bottom shell.
Kearney (James R.) Corp. KEARNEY; Hi-LINE   St. Louis, MO & Toronto, Canada Electrical supplies, wireholders
Kearns & Co.   1864-1886 Zanesville, OH A check exists circa 1870 that indicates telegraph insulators were then being produced. Nothing is known about what type(s) these might have been.
Kennelworth Tile Co.        
Kenosha Insulator Co.   1871-c. 1878 Kenosha, WI Produced the "Kenosha" wooden insulator with metal hook and the C. H. Pond patented insulator in the 1860's and 1870's. The Kenosha insulator was designed by Z. G. Simmons, the president of the National Telegraph Co. In 1872 Mr. C. H. Haskins became connected with the company.
Kent (William) Novelty Works   c. 1921 Burslem, England The William Kent Novelty Works was located on Wellington St. A 1921 ad said they were manufacturers of insulators of all kinds of porcelain for electrical purposes including low tension for lighting and high tension for power stations.
Keramische Sondermassen     Germany  
Keramische Werke Hermsdorf (KWH) KWH 1945-1990's Hermsdorf, Germany The Tridelta brand - three stacked triangles - was used from 1923 up to the 1990's. Friedmar Kerbe lives in Hermsdorf and he had worked for KWH KERAMISCHE WERKE HERMSDORF for many years. KWH were the successors of HESCHO after 1945. They were one of the major insulator producers of the Eastern Block.
Kerr Glass Mfg. Co.   1969-1978 Milleville, NJ The company purchased Armstrong Cork Co. plant in Millville, NJ (formerly Whitall Tatum Co.). Insulator production ceased in 1975.
Killock Co. (David) K K K   New York, NY porcelain bushings
Kilner Brothers        
Kimball (Warren) & Co.     Trenton, NJ Warren Kimball was the owner of a small pottery in Trenton at Prospect Hill on Chauncey St, Standard China Works, and mentioned in Thomas' Boch patent suit against Fred Locke and Electric Porcelain Mfg. Co. He died in January 1916 [see article 8569]. His brother, Charles, also worked in the pottery [see article 5265]. The pottery made door knobs in 1900 and was switching to electrical porcelain. No other information.
King City Glass Works K.C.G.W. 1890-1897 Fairmount, IN Insulators marked "K.C.G.W." were manufactured at this factory. The plant was bought by Marion Fruit Jar & Bottle Company in 1897. There is a possibility that some insulators were produced by the M F J & B Co., re-using old molds from the King City operation.
Kirchberger (M.) & Co., Inc. LAVAROCK   Brooklyn, NY In 1921 and 1927, their address was 1425 37th St.
Kirkman Engineering Corp. K-E; KIRKMAN; KIRKMAN ENG CORPN. N.Y. early 1900's New York Maker of fuses "since 1912" and radio lightning arresters. Also cutouts, cleat-receptacles.
Klaasi Vabrik Johannes Lorup Tallinn K.V.J.L.T   Tallinn, Estonia "Klaasi Vabrik Johannes Lorup Tallinn - Glass Factory of Johannes Lorup in Tallinn. Manufactured glass items and insulators from period 1934-1940 when the Lorup factory was operating. J.Lorup was working in glass business, he rented a Melesk factory (also an old Estonian glass factory that J. Lorup saved from bankrupt) but "K.V.J.L.T" is from older period. Actually it is very sad story about the Lorup factory, due to circumstances probably the world famous brand remained unborned. 1940 the factory was nationalized by Soviets who occupied Estonia and the name of factory was changed to "Tarbeklaas" (operated 1940-1993). The owner of factory Johannes Lorup was arrested and he died far away from home, Siberia, in Sverdlovsk prison camp in 1943. In period when the factory was supervised by J. Lorup it growed very quickly and the owner got the name "the king of glass" in Estonia. He sold to Lithuania, Egypt, Turkey, Palestina, Germany, Great Britain, United States and etc. Last big order that he unfortunately couldnt handle because of Soviets invasion was from Soviet Union- 1 600 000 sparkling wine bottles. Johannes Lorup was very stubborn guy, he basically established the national glass production by himself, drove his competitors to the bankrupt and "occupied" with cartel agreement the whole Estonian market. At the same time he was a good man and loved by his employees, first Soviet occupation year the new red working class power wanted to send him directly to jail but his employees came out to his defence and he worked initially as a technical manager in his former factory but 1941 he was sent to Siberia with a lot of other Estonian people.
Klingel, E. L. KLINGEL   St. Paul, MN special knobs
Knapp Electrical Works   1888-1895 Chicago, IL The company purchased the Railway Telegraph Supply Co in December 1888 and changed the name to Knapp Electrical Works. Business was located at 54-56 Franklin St. The company was incorporated in November 1889 by F. M. Knapp, Myron A. Knapp (general manager) and L. K. Bryeson with capital of $100,000. They sold electrical supplies including insulators. The company was in the hands of a receiver in November 1894. In March 1895 the bankrupt company was purchased by the Electric Appliance Co. In March 1895, M. A. Knapp opened an office at 1164 Monadnock to sell wires and cables for incandescent work.
Knapp Foundry Co., Inc. KNAPP   Akron, OH secondary rack spools
Knowles (C. S.) Co.. C. S. K.; C. S. KNOWLES; KNOWLES; embossed emerald early 1900's Boston, MA Jobber for porcelain insulators made New Lexington, Imperial, and glass insulators embossed with Knowles prism, wiring devices
Knowles Taylor & Knowles Co.   1887-1889 East Liverpool, OH "W. A. Calhoun wrote in his detailed history of "Early Clay Industries of the Upper Ohio Valley": When the Knowles Taylor & Knowles Company built their China Works Plant in 1887, they set aside nearly the entire fifth floor of that immense plant for the manufacture of electric porcelain. This plant they equipped with the best machinery obtainable for the making of this class of goods and also for the making of white porcelain door knobs. The general ware, the door knobs and the electric insulation were all made from the same body it being exceedingly dense and vitreous, Several new machines wore devised and installed in this shop. The writer, who was Master Mechanic at the plant, made a new machine for the grooving of insulators, which at that revolutionized that part of the business in the rapidity of the production of that class of insulation. Later this was superceded by making them in a ring die which finished the insulator as one operation. This work was in charge of Mr. Herbert Jones from Bridgeport, Conn., who was said to have learned his skill in this line as a fellow worker with the elder John Boch. For about eighteen months the Knowles company made a production in this line far beyond that of the Thomas company who had begun electric insulation a short time before, but the great fire in that plant destroyed all the equipment for this work and when the plant was rebuilt they did not resume this work. That the Knowles interests made an error in judgment in quitting this part of the industry is plain, looking at it from the present standpoint.
Knox Porcelain Corp. KNOX 1922-Sept. 1975 Knoxville, TN The company was incorporated in September 1922 and plant started in March 1923. J. N. Houser was president; O. C. Duryea, vice-president; V. W. Kelsey, secretary, and Robert H. McConnell, treasurer. The company produced dry process electrical porcelain such as knobs, tubes, cleats, guy strain insulators, etc. Company was purchased by Porcelain Products Co. in September 1975.  Made standard porcelain and specialties.
Kokomo Opalescent Glass Works   1888-present Kokomo, IN Initially produced insulators for Edison General Electric out of scrap glass and discontinued that business in 1896.
Kollarth Brothers KOLUX   Schenectady, NY sign insulators
Königliche Telegraphen-Direktion (= Royal Telegraph Office) T arrow D 1890's Prussia "From Zac Mirecki: The mark T arrow D states the insulator was made for the Königliche Telegraphen-Direktion (= Royal Telegraph Office). This was an institution of the Prussian Government, which controlled all postal telegraph lines in the country (not the railway lines). Like today the government wants to control everything. This institution built and maintained the telegraph lines. Your insulator was made in 1892. In the year 1891/1892 the Telegraphen-Direktion bought 173917 insulators from SCHOMBURG, and in 1892/1893 they bought 273985 (I have a booklet about the SCHOMBURG history).
Kopple Potteries     Adelaide, Australia  
Koran (see Fukagawa Porcelain)        
Kortick Mfg. Co.     San Francisco, CA Plant was located at 5600 Third St. Maydwell & Hartzell, Inc. were the exclusive distributors. The company was a supplier for pole line equipment and hardware and for racks, wireholders, and porcelain insulators.
Kosters Premiere Potteries KP 1930's-1977 Adelaide, Australia Located in Magill, a suburb of Adelaide. Company began production in late 1880's making pottery. Insulator production started in the 1930's and after 4-5 years other forms of pottery were phased out. They ceased making insulators in 1977 due to foreign competition from Japan and China.
Kronacher Porzellanfabrik Gebrüder Kühnlenz   1884-1929 Kronach, Bavaria, Germany Produced porcelain insulators
Kronacher Porzellanfabrik Stockhardt & Schmidt-Eckert   1912-1996 Kronach, Bavaria, Germany Produced porcelain insulators then switched to plastics. Part of Woco Group since 2001.
Kuhlman Electric Co. KUHLMAN in a diamond   Bay City, MI primary fuse cutouts
Kutnetsov     Imperial Russia  
L (top)
L. & F. De Fuisseaux Fabricants Baudour   1842-1977 Baudour, Belgium First insulator made 1870; company near bankruptcy in 1976 when Japanese company NGK offered to purchase
Lancaster Glass Works   1849-c. 1908 Lancaster, NY Some of the firm names used include Reed, Shim & Co.; James & Gatchell; James Glass Works; and the Lancaster Cooperative Glass Works. Year the company closed could be 1890.
Landgon & Hughes Electric Co     Utica, NY Electrical supplies, standard porcelain, cleats, tubes, Locke pintypes
Langenthal     Switzerland  
Lapp Insulator Co. LAPP; HI-F; HI-F with lightning bolt; LAPP LINE COMPACTION with hands 1916-2005 LeRoy, NY The company was started by John S. Lapp in 1916. He had previously worked at Locke in Victor, NY and for Fred Locke. The Le Roy plant was a manufacturer of wet process porcelain insulators at 130 Gilbert St. In 1957, they ceased manufacture of unipart pin-type insulators and abandoned multipart pin-type insulators a few years later. In February 2005, production of porcelain line posts and station post insulators was transferred to the Le Roy plant. In December 2005, Lapp was purchased by a group of German investors. The new owners are Andlinger & Company, Inc. The new company name is Lapp Insulator Co. LLC.
Lapp Insulator Co.   late 1960's-2005 Sandersville, GA The Sandersville plant was built for the automated production of porcelain suspension insulators. Later they manufactured porcelain line post and station post insulators until production was ceased in February 2005 when that production was moved to Le Roy, NY. The Sandersville plant then became a warehouse for receiving and shipping porcelain suspension insulator from China and India. In December 2005, Lapp was purchased by a group of German investors. The new owners are Andlinger & Company, Inc. The new company name is Lapp Insulator Co. LLC.
Lapp Insulator Co. LLC   2005-present LeRoy, NY/Sandersville, GA In December 2005, Lapp was purchased by a group of German investors. The new owners are Andlinger & Company, Inc. The new company name is Lapp Insulator Co. LLC.
Lapp Insulators GmbH   2008-present Wunsiedel, Bavaria, Germany Lapp Insulator Co. LLC purchased Argillon Insulators GmbH and Argillon Alumina GmbH which have manufacturing sites in Germany, Poland and Romania.
Latham (E. B.) & Co.     New York, NY Electrical supplies
Latimer, Clark, Muirhead & Co., Ltd.   late 1800's London, England Manufacturer of the upside-down corrugated cone porcelain insulator patented by John Fuller and George Fuller in 1877. See patent gb1877-000076. White Fuller insulators have been found in Argentina with incuse marking Latimer, Clark, Muirhead & Co. Ltd.
L'Electro Verre (The Electrical Glass) L'ELECTRO VERRE 1931-1959 Saint-Yorre, France Speculation is the company started at the Verreries des Islettes. Merged with Nord-Verre to form Sediver
Leonard Glass Works CHICAGO INSULATING CO. c. 1883-1886 Detroit, MI Made insulators for Chicago Insulating Co. 1882-1885. See Chicago Insulating Co. for more details.
Leviton Mfg. Co. LEVITON   Brooklyn, NY standard porcelain and specialties
Lewis, J. Slater   1880's Birkenhead, England Manufacturer of telegraph insulators (like CD 110.5, CD 110.6 and U-2021) with business located at 28 Hamilton Street. Lewis T. Slater was also listed associated with J. Slater Lewis at the same address in Birkenhead as a "telegraph insulator manufacturer".
Lima Insulator Co.   1904-1908 Lima, NY When Fred Locke retired from Locke in late 1904, he secretly started the Lima Insulator Co. in nearby Lima, NY. In July 1904 the company was incorporated with capital of $100,000 by E. W. Lathrop, Boston, Mass.; D. H. Finucan, Lima, and A. M. Wellman, Friendship, N. Y. W. D. Newton, formerly secretary and treasurer of the Locke Insulator Manufacturing Co., of Victor, N. Y., was president of the new company, and M. H. Burke, formerly superintendent of the Locke plant, was secretary and treasurer. By December 1904 the officers were W. D. Newton, president; Roy Wellman, vice-president; Eben W. Lathrop, secretary, and M. W. Burke, treasurer. The plant was destroyed by fire in late 1908. Locke learned of his ownership even thought Fred Locke claimed his wife was the owner. This was in conflict with his agreement with Locke when he retired (forced out). Locke purchased the property in January 1910 and rebuilt the plant.
Line Material Co. L.M.; LM in triangle 1953-1967 Macomb, IL Company was started in 1911 by William D. Kyle, Sr. and Lem Hendee in Milwaukee, WI. Manufacturer of pole line hardware, guy anchors, lightning arresters, insulators, and supplies; became part of McGraw Electric in 1949
Locke, Fred M. & Co.   1892-1895 Victor, NY Fred Locke formed a partnership with George Arthur Paddock of Auburn, NY and William Cohn Page of Palmyra, NY to sell various insulators and pins patented by Fred Locke.
Locke, Fred M.   1895-1902 Victor, NY Manufacturer of wet process porcelain insulators and also sold Brookfield glass insulators. Started a business in 1893 to sell glass insulators made by Hemingray and a ramshorn style he patented in 1889. Later he had glass insulators made by Brookfield and porcelain insulators made by Thomas, Imperial and then Electric Porcelain Mfg. Co. In the summer of 1898, he opened his own porcelain insulator plant in Victor, NY. In September 1902, he incorporated a company with Rochester investors and retained majority ownership. He retired from insulator manufacture in December 1904 but continued to have some influence for a few years.
Locke Insulator Corp.   1920-1932 Victor, NY Manufacturer of wet process porcelain insulators
Locke Insulator Corp. LOCKE; LEADHEAD; REDHEAD; HI-TOP; Locke insulator logo with R=oo; LOCKEBRITE; VICTOR 1920-1948 Baltimore, MD Manufacturer of wet process porcelain insulators. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured insulators and insulator accessories. President, Donald Symington; vice-presidents, F. H. Reagan, J. F. Symington, W. G. Hoffman, Jr.; secretary, J. F. Douty, Jr.; treasurer, W. G. Hoffman, Jr.; general manager, F. H. Reagan. The Locke company consistently notes 1894 as the starting year, but actual year is 1893 (see Fred M. Locke)
Locke Insulator Mfg. Co. LOCKE; Victor or Locke insulator logo R=oo; VICTOR 1902-1920 Victor, NY In October 1920, General Electric purchased major interest in Locke, which owned the plants in Victor and Baltimore.
Locke Insulator Mfg. Co.   1910-1919 Lima, NY The old Lima Insulator Co. plant was purchased in January 1910 after being idle since the 1908 fire. The plant burned again in January 1919 and was closed. In 1920 it was sold to William Harvey who formed the Porcelain Insulator Corp. (PINCO).
Locke Insulators, Inc. LOCKE; HLD 1948-1974 Baltimore, MD Manufacturer of wet process porcelain insulators. Pin-types ceased in 1971. NGK Insulators, Ltd. Bought controlling interest from GE in 1974 and finally became wholly owned in 1989.
Long Beach Glass Co.   ??-1925 Long Beach, CA Merged with McLaughlin Glass Co. in June 1925.
London & North Eastern Railway LNER   England Made by Bullers Ltd
London, Midland & Scottish Railway LMS   England Made by Bullers Ltd
Louisville Glass Works   1855-1873 Louisville, KY A group of glassblowers including John Stanger, William Doyle, Joseph Ramsey, Jr., Leopold Gottlieb, John Zell, and Israel Patterson were involved in the opening of the Louisville Glass Works (formerly the Kentucky Glass Works). It was owned by Douglass, Rutherford & Co. (1855-1856), Stranger, Doyle & Co. (c. 1856), and Krack, Stanger & Co (1856 or 1857 until 1865). In 1865 the works also supplied all the insulators for the first telegraph and fire alarm system in Louisville. By 1865 or 1866 the company name had become J.A. Krack & Co. and Krack & Reed February 1, 1866 to 1869 followed by Krack, Reed & Co. (1869-1871) and L. S. Reed & Brother (1871-c. 1873). Around 1866 the plant was making insulators for the Southwestern Telegraph Co. The glass works was closed permanently in 1873 due to the recession in that year. Another firm known as Louisville Glass Works (c. 1885 to January 1886) was a reopening of the Southern Glass Works at 11th and Monroe streets. Joseph M. Stanger, son of John Stanger, Sr., was listed as the superintendent.
LSP Industrial Ceramics, Inc.   1983-present Lambertville, NJ Manufacturer & stocking distributor of standard & custom strain insulators transmitting antenna strain insulators. Strain insulators are available in standard rectangular shapes in sizes of 4 in. to 15 in. Insulators can feature metal shackles on one or both ends with end configurations for direct cable attachment with various hole shapes. Round light duty strain & spreader insulators.
LTL Mfg. Corp.     Taipei, Taiwan Manufacturer of porcelain insulators.
Lundy, C. C. LUNDY; REID BROS. LONDON   London, England Pottery insulator with ramshorn. Two styles of "Lundy" insulator. See June 1994 CJ pages 10-12.
Luzerne Rubber Co. LUZERNE HARD RUBBER 1905-199? Trenton, NJ The company was founded in 1905 by Bruce Bedford along with J. L. Bartine and Clarence Dudley Wilson, a hard rubber salesman. Business was located at 115 Muirhead Ave. next to the Star Porcelain Co. Not sure when it went out of business but it may have lasted to end of the 20th century. One advertisement [392668313] from June 1922 Electrical Record shows they made radio antenna insulators, dials, knobs, vacuum tube sockets, etc. One known radio strain style not shown in the advertisement incused LUZERNE and HARD RUBBER on both sides. One example of style shown in the ad is known. They also made pipe, pipe fittings, valves, rods, battery jars, etc. for chemical use.
Lynchburg Glass Works, Inc. (Lynchburg Glass Corp.) LYNCHBURG 1919-1922; 1923-1925 Lynchburg, VA The Lynchburg Glass Works, Inc. was incorporated in February 14, 1918 with a capital of $300,000. An amended corporation charter for Lynchburg Glass Works, Inc. was filed on December 16, 1918 increasing the capital to $450,000 to manufacture glass food containers. The plant was completed around February 1919. The officers were: President, N. D. Eller; vice president, Walker Pettijohn; secretary, D. B. Ryland; treasurer, N. D. Eller; general manager, B. O. Beckett. The plant discontinued operations and filed for bankruptcy due to unpaid taxes and turned over the property deed to the trustee on May 5, 1922 to dispose of the property. William Gayner took over the company in 1923. The new Lynchburg Glass Corp. was incorporated in September 1923. J. William Gayner took his molds to Lynchburg. A Brookfield press was installed around July 1924. Insulator production began in November 1923 and continued until April 1924. Production resumed in November 1924 and continued to May 1925. Exactly 4,424,589 insulators were made during the short 12 month time of operation. The plant closed in May 1925 for not paying interest on bonded debt. In March 1926, the defunct company was sold for $18,000. Production losses were very high resulting in an unprofitable operation. When the factory was demolished some years later, a closed gas valve was discovered in an inaccessible location, which undoubtedly was the cause of improper heating of glass batches and high number of rejects. A former Hemingray employee, hired to build and operate the plant, was suspected as a sabotour.
Lyndeborough Glass Co.   1866-1886 S. Lyndeborough, NH A large vein of white quartz was discovered in near the newly glass factory at Lyndeborough, NH. On November 15,1866, the owners of the Lyndeborough Glass Company purchased land containing fine quality white sand silica to the glass works. About one year later, in June of 1867, Luther Roby, Timothy Putnam & Charles Eaton incorporated The New Hampshire Silex Company to that end. About this same time Charles W. Foster from the Canada Glass Works of Foster Brothers in Canada East, now Quebec, and the New Granite Glass Works at Mill Village, Stoddard, NH, was hired as Superintendent of the newly formed glass works at Lyndeborough. The New Hampshire Silex Company and the Lyndeborough Glass Company were incorporated as separate entities. CD 102.4, CD 134 and CD 145 and LRI's were produced along with bottles and battery jars. Insulators embossed American Insulator Co. were found at the site. In June 1886, the main buildings of the factory were destroyed by fire.
M (top)
M. A. Buell       Electrical supplies, CD 131
MacAllen (W. T. C.) Co. MACALLEN 1890's Boston, MA Electrical supplies
Macintyre, James & Co. Ltd.   1838-?? Burslem, England  
Maddock (John) & Sons   1861-19?? Trenton, NJ Thomas Maddock & Sons started in 1861. Company was incorporated on January 6, 1905 and listed as on Muirhead St. In 1898, products were sanitary specialties
Maling, C. T. (or C. F. Maling)   1762-1880's Newcastle-on-Tyne, England Ford Pottery manufacturers of porous ware and semi-porcelain insulators of any desired shape. Manufacture of exclusive shapes for H. M. Government, electric light companies and engineers. An 1883 ad in Berly's showed an illustration of a type "Z" pottery insulator and a shackle insulator. The 1885 Electricans' Directory stated C. F. Maling was an insulator and battery jar maker at 20 Bartlett's buildings, E. C.
Maltsov     Imperial Russia  
Manhattan Electrical Supply Co. MANHATTAN 1890-1920'S? New York, NY Electrical supplies, Brookfield, standard porcelain, B&T tubes, cleats, wooden cleats, Victor tree insulator. Address was 17 Park Place.
Manifattura Isolatori Vetro Acqui Terme S.p.A. MIVA 1906-? Acqui, Italy Manufacturer of glass insulators.
Manufacturer's Distributing Co. MANDICO   New York, NY sign receptacles
Mar-Bal Pultrusion, Inc.   1974-present Willoughby, OH Designer & manufacturer of high, intermediate & low voltage insulators including strain & suspension insulators made of epoxy, fibre & fiberglass reinforced plastic for telegraph & telephone, transportation, antenna, banner, marine & electrical applications. Other products include standard & custom fiberglass reinforced plastic pultrusions, rods, bars, rectangles, tubes, angles, channels & dog bone shapes.
Margarethenhutte Elektro Porzellan     Hermsdorf, Germany Forerunner of Hermsdorf-Schomburg
Marsh & Co.   1880's London, England Manufacturers of glazed pottery tubes for underground electrical work.
Marshall Lefferts & Co. LEFFERTS 1847-1860's   Supplied telegraph wire imported from England for telegraph lines.
Marshall-Wells Co.       Electrical supplies
Marshall-Wells Hardware Co.       Eectrical supplies
Masnieres (see Verreries de Masnieres)   ??-1940 Masnieres, France Logo VM interlaced in a circle same than Cartel Vidreria Monterrey (Mexico)
Massachusetts Glass Co.   1867-1871 Somerville, MA Predecessor to Boston Bottle Works
Matrimol LTDA     Bogota, Colombia  
Max Engels     Germany  
Maxwell Engineering & Mfg. Co. MESCO   New York, NY wiring devices
Maydwell & Hartzell, Inc [see Crystallite Products Co.] MAYDWELL     The exclusive distributors for the Kortick Mfg. Co. in Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington according to a Kortick letter dated January 3, 1949.
Mayer & Englund Co. THE M & E CO. 1901-1906 Philadelphia, PA Electrical supplies. Electric Service Supplies Co. catalog No. 4 was dated 1909. Mayer & Englund Co. preceeded ESSC. Charles J. Mayer was president of ESSC with A. H. Englund as Treasurer.
McBirney (David) & Co.   1880's London, England Pottery telegraph insulators.
McBride Glass Co.   c. 1920-?? Anaheim, CA The McBride Glass Company at Anaheim, manufactured chimneys, insulators, and a varied line of similar articles, is really a second edition, on a smaller scale, of the McBride Glass Works, at Salem, WV. Thomas F. McBride, who formerly owned the Salem plant, now operates this one which has been on the Coast for a number of years. Associated with Mr. McBride is his son, J. A. McBride, as general manager of the plant. The insulators they made are radio antenna insulators.
McBride Glass Co.   c. 1915-c. 1945 Salem, WV Thomas McBride, president and purchasing agent; J. A. McBride, vice president; E. C. McBride, secretary. They produced lamp chimneys and probably made small electrical insulators as did the company at Anaheim, CA.
McCarthy Bros. & Ford     Buffalo, NY Electrical supplies
McGraw Electric Co.   1951-1952 Kenova, WV The Line Material division of McGraw Electric purchased the Jeffery Dewitt plant in 1951. The plant burned down in October 1951 and was never reopened.
McGraw Electric Co. I.E.P. 1953-1957 Macomb, IL McGraw Electric purchased the Illinois Electric Porcelain Co. insulator plant on May 28, 1953 and the name was changed to Illinois McGraw Electric Co. on June 1, 1954. They used the I.E.P. marking which stood for Illinois Electric Porcelain. In 1957, McGraw Electric Co. merged with Thomas A. Edison Industries to form the McGraw-Edison Co., then the I.E.P. stood for Illinois Edison Porcelain, a division of McGraw Edison Co. The I.E.P. marking was used until early 1958 when it was changed to reflect the L-M trademark (Line Material).
McGraw-Edison Co. ME 1967-1985 Macomb, IL See McGraw Electric Co. In 1985, the company was purchased by Cooper Power Systems.
McKee (Samuel) & Co. S. McKee & Co. 1834-1888 Pittsburg, PA Samuel McKee started the company in 1834 on the South Side. The works consisted of three factories, two for the manufacture of glass, the other exclusively for bottles, with 200 employees. From 1863 to 1875 the company address was 62 Water St. They produced bottles, window glass and, apparently to a lesser degree, insulators. The glass in the Wade insulator resembles McKee insulator glass. Patent 107,075 (Sept. 6, 1870) was issued to Samuel McKee for a tall threadless Type B insulator that had a screw thread molded to the exterior of the hat. This allowed the insulator to be screwed into the bottom of the crossarm or simply mounted on a threadless pin.
McKee & Co. McKEE & Co. 1888-1951 Jeannette, PA This location may have been the former Chambers & McKee plant, which was the combination of the interest of the firm of F. & J. McKee (established in 1853). In 1857 is changed to McKee Brothers.
McLaughlin Glass Co.   1920-1935 Vernon, CA Company started by William McLaughlin who use to work at Robert Good, Jr.'s plant in Valverde, CO. McLaughlin merged with the Long Beach Glass Co. in June 1925.
McMicking McMicking 1870's Canada Robert Burns McMicking was born in 1843 in Ontario and worked with the Montreal Telegraph Co. working under H. P. Dwight. In 1862 to moved to British Columbia. In 1870 he was put in charge of the Western Union office at Victoria. In 1871, the Provincial government took over all of the lines and he became superintendent at Yale and later resigned in 1880.
Medalta Potteries Ltd.   1912-1954 Medicine Hat, Alberta The plant started under the name of Medalta Stoneware Ltd. In 1924 the name was changed to Medalta Potteries Ltd. In 1937 a deposit of white burning clay was discovered which allowed them to produce porcelain.
Mehr Glass Factory   1930's-?? Iran  
Meister International, LLC     Ross, OH Distributor of insulators made in China
Mercer Porcelain Co.   c. early 1900's to c. 1930's Trenton, NJ While primarily a manufacturer of dinnerware and household items, according to 1927 McGraw-Hill Electrical Trade catalog, the company was a manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Mercer Pottery Co.   1869-?? Trenton, NJ The company was organized in 1868 and incorporated on February 10, 1869 and located at 39 Muirhead St. In 1901, James Moses was the owner making semi-porcelain, the first in the U.S. Capitalization was increased to $300,000 on September 26, 1903. This company probably changed to Mercer Porcelain Co.
Merklinska Porcelanska MP   Merklin, Czech Republic Manufacturer of porcelain insulators (see Porzellanfabrik Merkelsgrun)
Mersick (C. S.) & Co.     New Haven, CT Electrical supplies
Metropolitan Electrical Supply Co.   1893-1920's? Long Island City, NY Light fixtures and electrical supplies
Metsch Refractories, Inc.   1922-present Newell, WV Originally the plant was started by John W. Boch, Sr. in 1907 (see Boch (John) Porcelain Co.). They make dry pressed electrical porcelain and refractory porcelain. Currently, the company claims it was started in 1952 and is located in nearby Chester, WV. Have not been able to explain how the company changed from original operation to the current operation which started in 1952.
Mica Insulator Co. MICANITE; EMPIRE 1890's-?? New York, NY The company purchased rights to the Dyer patent 483,646 that produced "Micanite", which molded mica into desired sheets for electrical insulation, instead of using the more expensive natural sheets of mica. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said address was 68 Church St. President, Lewis W. Kingsley; vice-president, Edward C. Wood; treasurer, George S. Leary.
Mica Insulator Co.     Victoriaville, Quebec, Canada The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured insulating materials.
Micanite and Insulators Co., Ltd.     England  
Michigan Porcelain Insulator Co.   1917-1922 Hastings, MI Company was incorporated in January 1917. Officers were E. Tyden, president; R. B. Messer, vice-president; W. W. Peck, treasurer, and Albert L Grainger, secretary. The company was dissolved in March 1922. They were listed as making standard porcelain.
Mid-West Electric Co.     Omaha, NE and Des Moines, IA Electrical supplies
Milligan (T. V.) Porcelain Co.     East Liverpool, OH Former Adamant Porcelain Co.
Minerallac Electric Co.   circa 1912 Chicago, IL They produced a wooden insulator that looked like a pony insulator on a pin all from one piece of wood. It was called the "Unity" insulator and impregnated with an insulating compound.
Mine & Smelter Supply Co.   ?-1920's? Denver, CO Electrical supplies, White strains, standard porcelain, Hemingray, Locke porcelain, mine insulator, Westinghouse, fireplugs,
Minnesota Electric Co. CHAPMAN   Minneapolis, MN telephone and telegraph arresters
MIVA [see Manifattura Isolatori Vetro-Acqui Terme S.p.A] MIVA   Acqui, Italy  
Mogadore Insulator Co. M I CO 1901-? Mogadore, OH Company was incorporated on December 10, 1901 for the purpose of making clay, porcelain and electrical insulators.
Mogadore Insulator Co.   1920-1928  Akron (Mogadore), OH Formerly Akron Smoking Pipe Co.; name changed to Akron Porcelain Co. on April 27, 1920. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical porcelain. President and general manager, F. W. Butler; secretary and treasurer, F. A. Fenton.
M/S Max Well Ceramic   modern Wadhwan, India Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Mt. Pleasant Glass Works   1844-1870 Mt. Pleasant, NY  
Mulford & Biddle   1860's New York, NY The company offices were at 83 John St. The factory was located at South Brooklyn. It is likely insulators with the Mulford & Biddle name were made by another company. Many insulators were installed in 1868 along the Union Pacific Railroad.
Muter Co. (The) GUARDIAN   Chicago, IL Radio antenna insulators
Mutual Electric & Machine Co. BULL DOG   Detroit, MI switches and cutouts
N (top)
N. Slater Co., Ltd       Electrical supplies
Naresh Potteries   modern Khurja, India Manufacturer of porcelain insulators.
Nashold Cleat Co.   c. 1894-?? Chicago, IL The company address was 934-935 Monadnock Bldg. The company was formed to market a cleat made based on the Elias Nashold patent 522,302.
National Ceramic Co.   1953-present Trenton, NJ National Ceramic Co. is the former National Porcelain Co. and is located on Southland Street in Trenton. The company produces custom ceramic insulators. At some point during the 1960s, the company became employee-owned. However, by the mid-1970s, the Massachusetts partnership of Lundey-Pylon, two electrical component suppliers to National Ceramic, acquired the Trenton firm to assure the continuance of a downstream component user. In 1976, the new owners retained Vincent Colletti to manage the works. In the mid-1980s, the partnership dissolved, thereupon Colletti purchased National. Upon Vincent's death in the mid-1990s, the company's ownership passed to his son, Thomas Colletti.
National Electric Porcelain Co.   1904-?? East Liverpool, OH The company was formed in July 1904 with a capital of $50,000 by G. P. Ikert, president; P. V. Mackall, secretary; and George S. Thompson, treasurer. In September 1904, investors in Dayton made the company an offer to purchase the company and move it to Dayton.
National Electric Porcelain Co. N; NAT; NCO; READY 1911-1927 Carey, OH Manufacturer of electrical porcelain. Company was incorporated in July 1910 and the plant was in partial operation by March 1911. Merged into Porcelain Products, Inc. in 1927. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical porcelain. President and general manager, W. S. Bish; vice-president, W. R. Kurtz; secretary, J. D. Ewing; treasurer, Henry F. Graves.
National Electric Products Co. NAT'L   Pittsburg, PA wireholders
National Electrical Supply Co.   early 1900's Washington, D. C. U-339; crown brand, Brookfield, Prism, Locke porcelain, Hemingray, Thomas. Address was 1328-30 New York Ave.
National Glass Co.   1899-?   A trust was to be formed of various bottle makers in New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania at a value of $12,000,000. The companies joining the trust with Charles A. Tatum as president and William Brookfield as vice-president were Whitall, Tatum & Co., New York and Philadelphia; Brookfield Glass Company, Brooklyn; Moore Brothers' Glass Works, Clayton, N. J.; Cumberland Glass Works, Bridgeton, N. J.; Salem Glass Works, N. J.; H. C. Fox & Sons, Philadelphia; Bodine Glass Works, Williamstown, N. J.; More-Jones Glass Works, Bridgeton, N. J.; George Jonas & Co., Minotota, N. J.; F. M. Pierce & Co., Elmer, N. J.; Standard Glass Works, Philadelphia; Lockport Glass Works, Lockport, N. Y.; S. M. Bassett & Co., Elmer, N. J.; T. C. Wheaton & Co., Millville, N. J.; Jeffries Glass Works, Rochester, Penn., and Fairton, N. J.; East Stroudsburg Glass Works, East Stroudsburg, Penn.
National Glass Screw Co.   1885 Haverhill, MA Company was listed by this name in 1885 and in 1886 as the National Insulator Co.
National Insulator Co.   1884-1885 Haverhill, MA The American Iron Glass Pipe & Plate Company (Iron Glass Works) produce insulators for this company.
National Insulator Co.   1897-?? Gainsville, FL The National Insulator Company was incorporated in May 1897 by J. E. Renault, E. W. Millican, B. F. Dillon, and W. W. Hampton, to manufacture insulators for telegraph and telephone companies. Capital stock, $20,000.
National Insulator Co.   1910-?? Clarksburg, WV / Bridgeton, NJ Formed in September 1910 by the Electric Insulator Co. The plant was to make "glass insulators, for which Jesse E. Inman, of 331 Caper St., Hartford, Conn., has a patent, and Mr. Inman will be the active head of the concern. The industry will consist of four factories, including a glass plant, a porcelain plant, a sherardizing plant and a machine shop.". No patent for Inman could be found. The plant was to be at Wellsburg, WV in the former plant of the Riverside Glass Co. In July 1911, Jesse Inman incorporated the National Insulator Co. in Camden, NJ for $300,000 in July 1911. In August 1911, the incorporation was changed to $500,000. Not sure if the plant was ever built. Other incorporators were John F. Harned, 424 Market Street, Camden, N. J., and William C. Aitkin, 334 Penn Street, Camden, N. J.
National Insulator Co.   c. 1913 Pittsburg, PA Plant was located at Ford City, PA. In Oct. 1913 the company shipped two carloads of insulators to the Georgia Railway & Power Co. (See article 12266)
National Lightning Protection Co.     St. Louis, MO Supplier of lightning protection equipment.
National Metal Molding Co. NATIONAL; NATL 1920's Pittsburg, PA Manufacturer of the National wireholders, house racks, and house brackets. The wireholders used dry process porcelain insulators.
National Porcelain Co.   1906-1953 Trenton, NJ The company was incorporated on March 10, 1906 by Bayard Dunkle and listed as located on Old Rose and Feeder Streets and employed 25 people. The plant was on the site of the old Excelsior Pottery Works built in 1857. Some time between 1915-1918 the plant was moved to 500 Southland St. at Brunswick St. and employed 75 people. On February 25, 1916, capital stock was increased to $100,000 (located on Southard St). This was the site of the Willets Mfg. Co. The new two-story plant featured an office on the first floor, manufacturing space on both floors, and three kilns. Directories listed products as mine insulators, telephone and telegraph insulators, porcelain sockets and insulators. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured porcelain sockets and insulators. President, Samuel L. Dunkle; secretary, treasurer and general manager, Bayard L. Dunkle. By 1934, the firm was producing "electrical porcelain, pyrometer tubes, radio insulators, [and] insulators". The president of the firm remained Bayard L. Dunkle, while the plant manager was J.A. Schermerhorn. The plant had 28 male employees and 45 female employees. No markings on insulators are attributed to this company. On the eve of World War II, the National Porcelain Co. had truly diversified their product line and were now producing "electrical porcelain, bathroom fixtures, vases and miniature novelties and china". The firm held several patents for their creations, including at least two for novelty ashtrays, among them the "Snuf A Rette," patent No. 2,100,078, issued during 1937, apparently soon after National installed their tunnel kiln. A second ashtray, the "Safety Ash Tray," patent No. 2,184,994, issued during 1938. The company stock was sold on receivers sale in 1953 for $186,120 to the former plant manager, Joseph A. Schermerhorn. This could have been when the name was changed to National Ceramic Co.
National Porcelain Co. NP 1947-1974 Medicine Hat, Alberta Dave Spencer (Alberta) wrote an article for the July/August 1995 issue of Canadian Insulator Collector. National Porcelain was established in 1947 by Arthur Cumming. In 1947, Cumming sold the Medalta pottery at Medicine Hat and wanted to reinvest the proceeds to make insulators for the growing network of electrical distribution. He had been experimenting with insulators at Medalta. The National Porcelain Co. plant was built across the railroad tracks from Medalta. When Cumming got sick in the late 1940's, the business was sold to National Products of Winnipeg, Manitoba. Motor Coach Industries of Winnipeg, the parent company of National Products was sold to Greyhound Bus Lines in 1959 who promptly put the company on the market. Medicine Hat Brick and Tile Co., Ltd, subsequently renamed I-XL Industries in 1971, bought the company and made it a division on May 1, 1959. The plant was destroyed by fire in 1974 and was not rebuilt. There are various NP markings that can be incuse, recess-embossed, or under-glaze.
National Telegraph Co.     Minneapolis, MN The president of the company, E. G. Simmons, designed the Kenosha hook insulator circa 1872.
National Telegraph Works   1891-? Birmingham, England Company owned by Slater Lewis to manufacture and supply various equipment including insulators to telegraph companies
Neman (Glass-works) Ltd   1883-present Beryozovka, Republic of Belarus (Russia) In 1883 the followers of masters from the famous Diatkovo factory J. Stolle and V. Kraevski organized the production of glass on the picturesque bank of the river Neman. A small factory with one glass melting furnace and twenty workers producing pharmaceutical and brewer’s ware. They produce small glass insulators in various colors including cobalt blue.
New Brunswick Porcelain Co.   circa 1918 New Brunswick, NJ Produced electrical porcelain on Allen Ave. In 1918 they had 75 employees.
New England Electric Co. N.E.E. Co.   Littleton, CO Electrical supplies; knobs and cleats
New England Glass Co.   1818-1888 Cambridge, MA Threadless insulators were made in the c.1846-1850 period for Ezra Cornell
New England Glass Mfg. Co. N.E.G.M.Co. 1898-1900 Boston, MA Manufacturer of glass insulators. The company was organized by Charles H. Jenkins, John W, Cawley and J Frank Neal who was the treasurer.
New England Tel. and Tel. Co.  N.E.TEL. & TEL.CO.; N.E.T. & T. CO. 1883-?? New England area Various glass insulators embossed "N. E. TEL. & TEL. CO."
New Granite Glass Works   1861-1871 Stoddard, NH Telegraph and lightning rod insulators; plant destroyed by fire
New Haven Clock Co.   circa 1890 New York, NY Electrical supplies, rubber ramshorn, Union Porcelain Works standard porcelain, glass insulators
New Haven Porcelain Co.   1925-1929  New Haven, WV Purchased from West Virginia Porcelain Co. and later sold to Superior Porcelain Co.
New Haven Porcelain Co. SUPERIOR; S.P.CO.; S.P. 1964-1970's? New Haven, WV Purchased from Superior Porcelain Co. and continued to produce insulators under the Superior Porcelain Co. name until the plant was destroyed by fire in December 1970. The plant was rebuilt and the first kiln firing was in January 1973.
New Jersey Porcelain Co., Inc.   1920-present Trenton, NJ Stephen Wenczel founded New Jersey Porcelain in 1920. The firm produced bathroom accessories and electrical porcelain. They are still operating out of their original plant at 100 S. Plum Street making electrical and refractory porcelain, sockets, fuse bases, porcelain bath accessories, switch plates and cabinet hardware.
New Lexington High Voltage Porcelain Co.   1903-1912  New Lexington, OH Manufacturer of porcelain insulators. Construction was begun in 1902 and finished in August 1903. Arthur S. Watts worked for the company 1903-1904 after leaving Bell Pottery Co. The book A Brief History of Perry County, Ohio states: "The projectors and owners are all local men noted for their business ability and acumen. The Board of Directors is composed of: A. Bringardner, Asbery Garlinger, Dr. G. S. Courtright, Judge Maurice H. Donahue, and Dr. J. G. McDougal. Judge Donahue is president and Mr. T. J. Weiland secretary and treasurer. Mr. Guy G. Jackson is the electrical engineer and manager of the sales department. Mr. Brown is foreman." (see article 8619).
New Zealand Insulators, Ltd NZI 1924-present Temuka, New Zealand Manufacturer of porcelain insulators (see Temuka Pottery). Originally it was the Dominion Porcelan and Tile Co. and renamed by National Electric and Engineering Co. (NEECO) as New Zealand Insulators on February 20, 1924. The pottery originated from William Hoare's brickworks started in 1894. The first insulators were made around 1917 or 1918 after John Redpath purchased the Temuka Pipe Co. in 1916 and persuaded William Brown to move to Tamuka to set up insulator manufacture after the discovery in 1903 at Kakahu a deposit of clay suitable for insulator manufacture. In 1965 a new factory was built at Ashburton in order to move non-ceramics there and allow the Temuka plant to concentrate on the growing ceramic trade. During World War II, output of insulators soared and millions of these were destined for India. In 1942, Tom Lovett took over as Manager, and many improvements were made when the New Zealand Government wanted communication insulators made to the British Standard specification. The company used 9 bottle kilns and installed an electric kiln in 1943. The main factory building burned down in March 1950 allow rebuilding with oil-fired tunnel kilns, which were put into operation in June 1954. Another fire in 1959 destroyed the electric kiln, so a second oil-fired kiln was installed. Both were 130 feet long and extended to 150 feet in 1975 and 1976. In 1964 several highly trained technical staff joined the company from the U. K. and and new 14,000 sq. ft. factory was built at Tinwald, Ashburton for the production of metal parts and plastic components used in the assembly of fuses, lampholders, switches, etc. In 1967 Cable Price Downer Group took over NEECO and made NZI an independent company within the CPD group. In March 1977, a new 10,000 sq. ft extension was opened for the production of Temuka Stoneware. The name "Temuka" is shortened from Te-umu-kaha, which means "The Fierce Oven", a place where local Maoris dug large pit-type ovens for communal cooking. In 2007, the Ashburton plant closed and the Temuka plant is managing to survive in a shrinking market. Information from Greg Howell, General Manager of NZI, Ltd and a 2-page company history from Marilyn Albers.
Newark Electrical Supply Co.   July 15, 1908 Newark, NJ Electrical supplies
Newell Porcelain Co., Inc. NP; NP with insulator 1955-2005 Newell, WV Company was purchased in 2005 by PSN Components, Poughkeepsie, NY. Currently manufacturers porcelain line post and station post insulators. [www.newellporcelain.com]
Newell-PSN   2005-present Newell, WV The Newell Porcelain Co., Inc. plant was purchased by PSN Components and name changed; however, the plant is still known as Newell Porcelain Co., Inc. [www.newellporcelain.com]
Newton Porcelain Co.   1902?? Trenton, NJ Located at Prince and Meade Sts. It was incorporated in January 1902 by George E. Maguire and Geo. E. Fell of Trenton, and F. H. Burroughs of Ewingville. The same organizers of this company formed the Trenton Porcelain Co. on January 7,1902 at the same location. Apparently the reporting of Newton Porcelain Co. was an error and should have been stated Trenton Porcelain Co.
NGK Insulators, Ltd. NGK May 1919-present Japan "The evolution of the Morimura Group began in January 1904 with the founding of Nippon Toki Gomei Kaisha (later to become Nippon Toki, Ltd. Currently Noritake Co., Limited) by the Morimura brothers. The sanitary ware divisions of both companies were then spun off in May 1917 to form Toyo Toki Co., Ltd. (currently TOTO Ltd.), which subsequently spun off its insulator department to establish NGK Insulators, Ltd. in May 1919. In the same year, Okura Toen (currently Okura Art China, Inc.) was established, with Ina Seito Ltd. (currently INAX Corporation and would later merge with Tostem Corporation in October 2001) later established in February 1924. Thereafter Nitto Seiko Ltd. (merged with Noritake Co., Limited in June 1985), NGK Spark Plug Co., Ltd. (a spin off from Nihon Gaishi NGK spark plug division), and Kyoritsu Genryo (currently KCM Corporation) were established in 1936, forming the basis of the Morimura Group today.
NGK Insulators of Canada, Ltd   1968    
NGK-Locke Polymer Insulators, Inc. NGK-LOCKE 1993-present Virginia Beach, VA NGK manufacturer for all US sold polymer high voltage insulators.
NGK-Locke, Inc. NGK-LOCKE 1965-present   Sales of porcelain insulators from Locke Insulators, Inc., Baltimore, MD and polymer insulators from NGK-Locke Polymer Insulators, Inc., Virginia Beach, VA. NGK-Locke, Inc. began its operation in the United States in 1965 under the name of NGK Insulators of America, Inc., as an exclusive sales division of NGK Insulators, Ltd., Japan. The name became NGK-Locke, Inc., when a joint venture between General Electric and NGK was formed. They sell products manufactured by NGK Japan, China, Indonesia, and our U.S. affiliates, Locke Insulators, Inc., Baltimore, MD, and NGK-Locke Polymer Insulators, Inc., Virginia Beach, VA. Product lines include electrical insulators, electrical equipment and transmission line insulator/hardware assemblies. This was a foothold for NGK into the U.S. to market their insulators with the famous Locke name. As years past the Baltimore plant became more of an importer than a manufacturer. GE stopped making pin-types in 1971 at Baltimore since it was cheaper to import them from NGK Insulators, Ltd. NGK bought controlling interest from GE in 1974 and finally became wholly owned by NGK in 1989.
Nilson Porcelains, Pty, Ltd.     Melbourne, Australia  
Nord-Verre (North Glass)   1958-1959 Reims, France From Charbonneaux and others; merged with L'Electro-Verre to form SEDIVER
Norek Technique Fabricken     Norway  
North American Glass Co.   1883-1891 Montreal, Quebec "Former Excelsior Glass Co. Name changed in 1892 to Diamond Glass Co. and in 1902 to the Diamond Flint Glass Co. Immediately prior to the formation of Diamond Glass in 1890, the main producer of insulators was the North American Glass co in Montreal. The had contracts with two of the big boys - Bell and CP. Insulators continued to be made here until at least 1910 when the factory and all equipment was destroyed by fire. Hamilton Glass also made insulators of course, but I'm not sure if they were still making them when they were taken over by Diamond. If they were still making them, this would be in the 1891-1898 time period, as this factory was closed in 1898 and didn't reopen until 1908 when it was refurbished for the production of bottles. The Hamilton factory was also destroyed by fire in 1912 and the new factory wasn't built in Hamilton until 1915 (at a new location, and now owned by Dominion Glass). The Lamont Glass Co. in Trenton NS was another possible producer of the Diamond embossed insulators, as they were also advertising that they made insulators before the take over by Diamond, but again I'm not sure if they were still making them at the time of the take over (this would be the 1898-1899 time frame, this factory was also destroyed by fire soon after becoming under Diamond control). The Montreal plant was soon rebuilt in 1910. I am unsure if insulators continued to be made there or if production was moved to another one of their factories in the interim. I have been unable to find any other information up until 1926, when the Hamilton factory of Dominion Glass was making them for sure (as shown in the mould inventory that I mentioned in my earlier post). In 1927 insulator production moved to the Wallaceburg location of Dominion Glass and remained there until 1967, apart from two periods where production was moved to another location - see http://www.insulators.info/articles/dominion.htm
Northern Electric Co.     Montreal, Quebec Electrical supplies, Thomas standard porcelain, tubes, Hewletts and pintypes, Hemingray, Dominion, Electrose, Canadian Porcelain Co.
Northwestern Electric Equipment Co.     New York, NY Electrical supplies, P&S tubes, standard porcelain, fireplugs, White strains, Brookfield, Thomas, Pittsburg, Holmes tree insulator, Westinghouse
Noti Insulator Co.   1895-? Syracuse, NY  The company was formed by Albert Vickers and William Dibb of Syracuse, NY to sell a no-tie insulator based on their patent 546,585 granted in 1895. One trade journal article shows a photograph of a glass version of this insulator, so it is assumed that some production was made, but no known examples have been reported.
Novelty Electric Co.   c. 1880's Philadelphia, PA Electrical supply company located at southwest corner of Fifth and Locust St.
Novelty Glass Co.   1901-1903 Elmer, NJ On February 9, 1910, the Novelty Glass Co. was incorporated and took over operations of the Gilchrist jar plant in Elmer, NJ. Knowles and Star insulators were made here, perhaps as late as 1907. The plant was closed in 1903 due to the Brookfield patent infringement suit regarding insulator machines. Plant was sold to the new Elmer Glass Co. in 1904.
Novelty Works   1840's Pittsburg, PA The Reid book mentions the company in discussing one of Ezra Cornell's projects: "The Novelty Works also, at Pittsburg, Pa., made great quantities of the brimstone insulator, which consisted of an iron hat filled with hot brimstone, into which an iron stem, with hook, was held until cooled."
O (top)
Oakman Mfg. Co.   1890-1897 Boston, MA Samuel Oakman's insulator business was located at 219 State St.
Octagon Insulator & Ceramic Co. O. I. & C. CO. June 1915-1918?? North East, MD (Baltimore) The Baltimore Chamber of Commerce reports Octagon was incorporated in June of 1915 by George Simcoe to "manufacture, purchase, sell and deal in iron, brass, bricks, plasters, lime, clays, chinas". The company was listed in the 1916 McGraw-Hill Electrical Trade Directory under porcelain specialties, high voltage insulators, strain, and porcelain insulators. They apparently went out of business by 1918. A handful of well-made nail-knobs and one cleat have been found with the recess-embossed marking O. I. & C. CO. No records for the company can be found past 1918. All references to the company are brief mentions in several trade journals as well as Maryland tax records. No advertising, or pictures of the plant are known, nor are any other products. It's quite likely that their excessively diverse business model, as well as the strain put on businesses during WWI all contributed to their rapid demise. O. I. & C. CO. marked insulators should be considered rare.
Ohio Brass Co. OB in an oval; O. BO. Co.; DIRIGO; SKY GLAZE; combined OB logo 1910-1987 Barberton, OH Ohio Brass purchased the entire production of Akron Hi-Potential Insulator Co when they started production in 1907. When Akron H-P filed for bankruptcy in 1910, Ohio Brass purchased the property in a receiver's sale and they formed a new company, The Ohio Insulator Co. The purchase of Akron HP Porcelain Co. was completed in August 1910.
Ohio Insulator Co. (The)   1910-1937 Barberton, OH The company was originally Akron Hi-Potential Insulator Co. The entire production of that company was sold to Ohio Brass until OB took complete ownership in August 1910 and change the company name to the Ohio Insulator Co. Akron Smoking Pipe Co. purchased their third rail business in 1905. According to 1921 Poor's and Moody's, Ohio Brass Co. owned entire $100,000 common stock of The Ohio Insulator Co., "which operates a plant containing 3 acres of floor space located on a tract of land of about 10 acres at Barberton, O., where high tension porcelain insulators are manufactured." Officers included A. O. Austin of Barberton. In 1937, the name of the plant was changed to Ohio Brass.
Ohio Porcelain Co. O. P. CO. 1897-1913 East Liverpool, OH The plant was located on 7th St. opposite of West End Pottery in East Liverpool. Company was established in 1897 with officers William J. Curry, president; J. Clemont McQuilken, secretary; and William A. Anderson, treasurer. The company manufactured a line of standard porcelain insulators and at least one pin-type, U-274. The marking used on insulators was "O. P. CO." The company was part of the 1911 and 1913 mergers with several other companies to form General Porcleain Co. The officers then bought another pottery in East Liverpool and formed the American Porcelain Co. Note that Onondaga Pottery Co. trademarked "O. P. CO." in December 1914 stating use since 1885. Perhaps they waited until Ohio Porcelain Co. was sold before registering the trademark.
Ohio Porcelain Co. O. P. CO. 1940-1956 Zanesville, OH This small company made various semi-porcelain ashtrays and decorative pieces. The dates are approximate.
Ohio Valley Glass Co. O.V.G.CO. 1902-1904 Pleasant City, OH This factory operated for a rather short period of time, but nevertheless produced a fairly large number of insulators that are found frequently throughout much of the U.S. Most commonly found types are CDs 106, 112 and 145. The embossing consists of the initials "O.V.G.CO." (Note: Another company with the same name operated in Bridgeton, Ohio circa 1881-1888. That company produced fruit jars with an OVGCO monogram, and had no connection with the later one in Pleasant City which produced insulators. Construction of the Ohio Valley Glass Co. was started by Burt and Bodine around April 1902. In May the company was purchased by prominent capitalists Landgon, Lewis & Co. of Cincinnati and the company was incorporated in September along with the Byesville glass works by F. A. Rothier, P. J. Lewis, Bayard Kilgour, P. S. Kiechler and John H. Cabel. Captial stock, $200,000. The first insulators were produced on November 4, 1902, employing about 25 men. In early 1904 operations ceased until the company was reorganized and operations resumed in June 1904. J. Keichler is president, and J.R. Sullivan, who was connected with the window glass factory at Eaton, Ind., is secretary. Jas. Burke, of Muncie, Ind., is superintendent. By November 1904, the factory was once again closed and receiver appointed in December. Apparently work was resumed but employed declared a strike in early December asking for back wages yet to be paid. A receiver was appointed in January 1905 and property sold in July, but legal conflict arose over the mortgage. There was another attempt to start the plant by December 1905 but it failed. The stock of insulators was sold in late July 1906 and the company purchased in early August by the Hemingray Glass Co.
Oliver Electrical Mfg. Co. OLIVER 1950's-1970's Battle Creek, MI Made/sold porcelain aerial line spacers in 1960's and marking found on some rack spools.
Oliver Iron & Steel Co. (Corp.)   1863-present Pittsburg, PA In 1896, James B. Oliver was granted patent 566,468 for a steel insulator bracket that was assigned to this company.
Onondaga Pottery Co. (Syracuse China Co.) O. P. Co. 1871-1966 Syracuse, NY  The company was founded in 1871 as the Onondaga Pottery Co. in Geddes and named after Onondaga County to celebrate the region's Native American population, according to a Syracuse China biography distributed by Libbey. In 1871, 16 businessmen who had purchased a struggling local pottery company incorporated that company, raised $50,000 in capital, and expanded its product line to include "earthenware" for table and toilet use. A 1944 patent application for a land mine was granted in 1949 (see patent 2,479,861). The Onandaga Pottery Co. changed to Syracuse China Corp. in 1966. The trademark O. P. CO. was filed on December 1914 stating use since 1885. See Ohio Porcelain Co., which used the same marking. Apparently Onondaga waited to register the trademark until Ohio Porcelain Co. was sold in 1913.
Ontario Glass Co., Ltd.     Kingsville, Ontario [see article 1735]
Opalescent Glass Co.   1888-to date Kokomo, NJ Insulators made 1888 to 1896
Orient Ceramics   modern Virddhachalam, India Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Organization of Telephones of Ellas OTE   Greece Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Osaka Togyo Kaisha, Ltd. OTK 1920-?? Osaka, Japan Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Owens-Illinois Glass Co. LOWEX; O-I 1933-1967 Muncie, IN "Owens-Illinois was the product of a merger in 1929 of two large glass companies, the Illinois Glass Company (of Alton, Illinois), and the Owens Bottle Company which was headquartered in Toledo, Ohio. After the merging, the total number of plants owned by Owens Illinois numbered more than 20 in several states, with each assigned a plant code number. In late April 1933 Owens Illinois bought the Hemingray Glass Company plant in Muncie, Indiana, and it then became Owens Illinois plant #26. Glass insulators were made by Owens-Illinois at Muncie (carrying the Hemingray name) until 1967. The following from Caleb Thimell (11-25-2014): "Libbey became part of Owens-Illinois in 1935 and with O-I's progressive management and commitment to R&D, Libbey thrived. In June of 1993, Libbey strategically positioned itself for the future by becoming a public company (NYSE:LBY). Since then, Libbey has fulfilled its promise to provide the largest selection of tabletop products for foodservice and consumer markets, purchasing Syracuse China in 1995, World Tableware in 1997, Royal Leerdam in 2002, Crisal in 2005, and Crisa in 2006. Libbey acquired from Vitro its 51 percent of Vitrocrisa holdings of Crisa, bringing Libbey's ownership of Crisa to 100 percent. Based in Monterrey, Mexico, the acquisition of Crisa positions Libbey as the world's second largest glassmaker. OURCE: <http://corporate.libbey.com/History/(language)/eng-US> Another interesting tidbit- O-I also bought Peldar, SA one of Colombia's largest glass manufacturers and I seem to recall they bought several other South American glass manufacturers. I spoke with an upper management official at Peldar who told me he was treated very generously by O-I on a factory visit to the States.
Oy Wartsila Ab Turku Pottery TP   Turku, Finland See Turku Pottery
P (top)
Pacific Clay Products Co.   1940's Los Angeles, CA Supplied IN-83 radio antenna insulators to Boeing for B-29 during WWII.
Pacific Glass Works [see Electrical Construction & Maintenance Co.] E.C. & M.CO. 1862-1876 San Francisco, CA Either this factory or the San Francisco Glass Works was in all probability the manufacturer of the E.C.& M.CO. insulators. Merged with San Francisco Glass Works to form the San Francisco & Pacific Glass Works in 1876.
Pacific Pottery Co.   circa 1858-1859 Sacramento, CA They made pottery insulators (probably pottery blocks) for the Placerville, Humboldt and Salt Lake Telegraph Co. line from Placerville, CA to Salt Lake City. The company primarily made fire brick, Rockingham ware, chemical jars, Rockingham ware, stone ware, butter and preserve jars, flower pots and vases. The owners were Hevener and Walter and the plant was located near Knauth's garden.
Paisley (S. T.)     Beaver Falls, PA Samuel Theodore Paisley
Paiste Co. (H. T.) H.T.P. Co.; entertwined letters H.T.P.Co.; MULTIPO; PAISTE 1887-?? Philadelphia, PA Electrical supplies. A short EW article in 1897 stated the porcelain parts were manufactured for them by Imperial Porcelain Works.
Paragon Electric Co. PARAGON c. 1900?-1920's? Chicago, IL The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured grounding devices, battery boxes, time switches, Paragon self-tying knob, and other insulators. Address was Old Colony Bldg. in Chicago with factory in Manitowoc, WI. President, E. M. Platt; secretary, E. V. Platt. They sold the patented "Paragon knob" (see patent 965,723).
Parker (J. H.) & Son, Inc. BENBOW; COLONIAL; DETROIT; DOUBLEX; DYKE; GRIP-IT; J. H. P. & S.; MULLER, MURDOCK, NAIL-IT; SCREW-IT c. 1900?-1920's? Parkersburg, WV Electrical supplies, Locke, New Lexington pintypes. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured porcelain and other insulations. President, J. H. Parker; secretary and treasurer, W. M. Parker. ("Nail-It", "Screw-It" knobs, "Bembow" insulators, "Bear-Deem" cleats, "Dyke", "Evans", "Fay", "Murdock", "Doublex")
Partrick & Carter Co.   1870's-1890's Philadelphia, PA Electrical supplies, Chester CD 136.7, La Bastie, Brooks, spool
Parvillee Frères & Compagnie (Anciens Etablissements), (Parvillee Brothers & Company) PFC 1899-1949 Cramoisy near Paris, France Original factory in Cramoisy only made porcelain insulators; another in Saint-Genou (France) has never made insulators; another in Le Daumail (France) was only a laboratory. Glass insulators with logo PFC in a circle were made by subcontractors.
Pass & Seymour Legrand   1984-present    
Pass & Seymour, Inc. ALADDIN; FLUTO; GOLIATH; LITTLE GEM; P & S; PASSMOUR; SHURLOK; TULIP 1890-1984 Syracuse, NY  Manufacturer of two early pin-type insulators, U-141, U-146, made by the casting process. They also produced cleats, knobs, tubes, electrical receptacles, and switches, etc. (see patent 476,827) (see patent 483,771) The company incorporated in July 1901. Acquired in 1984 by a French Solvay company, Legrand and name was changed to Pass & Seymour Legrand. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured electrical wiring devices. President, B. E. Salisbury; secretary and treasurer, J. W. Brooks.
Patent Self-Binding Telegraph Insulator Co., Ltd.   1883-1893 London, England This company was formed on August 19, 1883 by J. Slater Lewis and his investors "To purchase the letters patent of Joseph Slater Lewis, of Birkenhead, for improvements in or relating to insulating apparatus for overhead telegraph lines and other wires for carrying electric currents." This statement was in the April 28, 1883 issue of The Telegraphic Journal and Electrical Review, page 361. The works was at Helsby. Company address was 28 Hamilton Street, Birkenhead. Notice was given that the company was dissolved in 1893.
Patricio Sordo Sociedad Ananimo PSSA   Mexico  
Paulding, Inc. (J. I.) J. I. P. INC.; PAULDING   New Bedford, MA wiring devices
Peach Porcelain Co.   1929-1932 East Liverpool, OH Formerly the Adamant Porcelain Co. and then the T. V. Milligan Porcelain Co. Milligan left the company in 1929 after purchasing the idle Ravenswood Porcelain Co. plant from General Porcelain Co. At that time, company name was changed to Peach Porcelain Co. In 1932, from either name change or purchase, the company became Ceramic Specialties Co. The company went bankrupt in 1955.
Pearson, James   1880's Chesterfield, England Whittington Moor Potteries manufacturer of salt or dipped stoneware. 1883 advertisement in Berly's shows a type "Z" pottery insulator.
Peirce Specialty Co.   1907-1910? Chicago, IL Electrical supplies primarily from patents of Charles L. Peirce, Jr. Starting 1911, his patents were assigned to Hubbard & Co.
Pennycuick, James    1889-? ? Boston area  (see Electrical Glass Corp. and Sandwich Cooperative Glass Co.) 
Perfection Glass Co.     Washington, PA [see article 1735]
Perla Liza Industria Colombiana Materiales Electricos Limitada   1983-?? Bogota, Colombia PELICME Ltda, managing partner of ZICME
Peru Electric Co.   1911-1918 Peru, IN (see Peru Electric Mfg. Co.)
Peru Electric Mfg. Co. P; PERU; PEMCO 1892-1908 Peru, IN The company was originally founded in 1890 as the Peru Glass and Carbon Co. At some point they opened the Peru Porcelain Works apparently on the same site. In late 1892, Peru Electric Mfg. Co. was organized to take over both operations. The new company purchased the B. F. Dow and Co. factories known as the "Dow Plant," which had been vacant since January 1, 1887, and was across the Lake Erie and Western R.R. tracks. The new factory was occupied about the first of the following year and allowed them to doubled production. The new company was headed by J. O. Cole, president; Peter Cooper Burns, vice-president; S. F. Porter, treasurer and manager; R. H. Boslogne, secretary; who were also directors with Milton Shirk, R. A. Edwards, and C. H. Brownell. The company made, as before, but on a larger and more varied scale. Peru manufactured dry process porcelain switches, sockets, rosettes, cut outs, insulators, carbons, carbon batteries and electrical supplies. The only known pin-type made by Peru is U-928B. It was first produced in 1898 after the plant was expanded, and it was advertised only in 1898 and 1899. Apparently, U-928B was meant to compete with the wet process porcelain Thomas Boch patent U-928, which was made by fusing three shells together with glaze. U-928B was identical in shape to U-928, but had two ears on the top of the crown to aid in firing it upside-down, and, incredibly, it was made of one piece of dry process porcelain! To produce such a large insulator with thin petticoats and very deep recesses between the petticoats was an amazing accomplishment. Only one specimen is known of U-928B, and the porcelain is of very nice quality for a dry process insulator. Apparently U-928B did not capture much favor from electrical contractors. No transmission line has been identified which use this insulator. An article in the 5-19-98 issue of The Electrical Engineer describes and pictures the extensive exhibit of Peru Electric at a large electrical trade fair and stated, "They are exhibiting a full line of Peru specialties, such as high potential triple-petticoat, porcelain insulat¬ors, Peru style, and ....". The exhibit photo shows several large arrangements of high-voltage insulators, and one array are clearly identifiable as the U-928B style. In 1908, Peru Electric Mfg. Co. went into receivership. In October 1909, the business was purchased by C. H. Brownell, President of the Peru First National Bank. Brownell, the largest creditor, bought the business for $25,000, which was about $15,000 less than the indebtedness. In 1911, the Peru Electric Co., which manufactured similar porcelain goods as Peru Electric Mfg. Co., was incorporated by W. H. Zimmerman, J. H. Miller, John Cramer, C. R. Hughes, and C. H. Brownell. In 1918, Brownell leased the plant to E. F. Moeck who operated it at a loss. The company was sold to Square D on April 9, 1920. Representing Square D were Thomas J. Kaufman and Bryson Dexter Horton, both of Detroit. Horton was the president of Square D since 1903 when the company was incorporated and the son-in-law to R. H. Bouslog, of Peru, IN. Bouslog became the manager of the plant, which he had previously managed for a number of years before leaving to take charge of other manufacturing interests including recently the factories of Chute & Butler Piano Co. and the Peru Canning Co. Square D Co. had electric appliance plants in Detroit and Canada, which the Peru plant will supply with electrical porcelain.
Petrie & Cie (Petrie & Company)   1885-?? Baudour, Belgium Porcelain insulators
Pettingell-Andrews Co. P A Co.; EXEMPLAR 1888-1927  Boston, MA Electrical supplies, Brookfield, Locke glass and porcelain insulators, Holmes tree insulator, Brodie tree insulators, cleats, standard porcelain, P&S tubes, wooden cleats
PFC in a circle     France See Parvillee
Philadelphia Electrical & Mfg. Co. PEMCO c. 1895-1930's Philadelphia, PA Electrical supply company including street lights
Pilkington Brothers, Ltd   1826-1971 Lancashire, England Merged with Sediver
Pinder, Bourne & Co.   187?-?? Burslem, England Merged with Doulton in early 1878 (see article 5893)
Pingxiang Best Insulator Group Co., Ltd   1956-present Pingxiang, China Manufactures porcelain insulators. Pingxiang Best Insulator Group Co., Ltd was founded in 2007, with the merger of Pingxiang The Sixth Electroceramic Factory Co., Ltd (1956) and Pingxiang Xinyuan Insulator Co., Ltd. (1983) and has become the leading producer of low and high voltage insulators.
Pioneer Glass Co.     Seattle, WA The plant was started in 1904 under the direction of Joseph Buzby.
Pioneer Glass Works   1888-?? Denver, CO The Oil, Paint and Glass Reporter reported in August 18, 1888 that a glass factory will be formed in Denver, CO.
Pioneer Glass Works   1888-1891 Gate City (Birmingham), AL A Pioneer Glass Co. advertisement from the March 7, 1889 issue of Pottery and Glassware Reporter mentions among it's product lines insulators. The company was reportedly purchased by G. C. Vanderbilt, of New Jersey, G. C. Kelley, I. R. Hockstadter, and others in February 1891.
Pittsburg High Voltage Insulator Co.  PITTSBURG; P (recess-embossed) 1908-1922 Derry, PA The original small semi-porcelain tableware plant was started as the 7-kiln Derry China Co. and taken over by the Sevres China Co. in 1905. It was located in Derry Station, PA on the Pennsylvania Railroad. In 1908, the factory was purchased by the newly formed Pittsburg High Voltage Insulator Co. and converted to make wet process pin-type insulators. Conrad M. Semler came to Derry, PA in 1908 and took charge of the operation when it was formed. The officers were H. P. Davis, president; E. M. Herr, vice-president; and Conrad Semler, secretary, treasurer and general manager. Later Semler served as president and general manager until 1922 when he disposed of his interest to Westinghouse. Semler had no background in porcelain manufacturing, but he was a very successful businessman having a rather large flour milling operation in his home town of Hamilton, OH. The original small tableware plant was greatly ex-panded by Pittsburg High Voltage, and they stated that the plant was more than doubled between the issuance of their No. 2 and No. 3 catalogs. Although Westinghouse became the selling agent for Pittsburg around 1910 or 1911 and had bought a controlling interest in the company in 1914, catalogs continued to be issued under the name of Pittsburg High Voltage Insulator Co. The latest such catalog I have seen is one of 1921 entitled "Export Catalog No. 20". The insulator line was included in the Westinghouse general catalogs from 1921 onward. Pittsburg High Voltage was purchased by Westinghouse in 1922 for $80,000. Pittsburg H-V evidently had an obsession about not wanting to lose a sale for the lack of a suitable design, and they really got carried away with this in their cataloging. For instance, their 1918 catalog lists no less than nine "hat-shaped", double-petticoat, distribution insulators, some of which differed from others only because of a slightly different radius of the crown or some such factor. Along with these, they listed six different pony or semi-toll styles. While other companies cataloged only the more popular styles of each voltage class, Pittsburg evidently cataloged everything for which they had tooling. Perhaps the most unusual pin-type cataloged was a spiral groove identical to the glass insulator CD 147. There is also evidence that Pittsburg went out of their way to make special designs for their customers even though they already had a large line. Part of their production was for export to Canadian railroads and electric utilities, and many of those styles were still different. They were essentially a "short order house" for users of insulators. Although the modern Westinghouse plant completely overlies all the former Pittsburg plant and dump site, Jack Tod managed to locate a landfill site in Derry quite remote from the plant where Pittsburg had done all their early dumping for a number of years. Specimens and shards recovered answered many questions about Pittsburg insulators -- the unique styles they had made, special customer markings they had used, etc. Dump specimens indicated Pittsburg's use of the following markings: JOHNS-MANVILLE, P.R.R.„ SOO, POSTAL and N.A.T.Co. Additionally, export styles for Canadian railroads were found with C.P.R. and C.N.R. markings. Although already known from the nature of the specimens extant, the plant dumpage also confirmed Pittsburg's use of the various date stamp markings shown below. Typical examples of "full date" stampings used by Pittsburg are shown below. The latest such date known is FEB 17 1921 and is considerably later than most other dates known. Pittsburg never marked any of their own insulators with the exception of a very few known specimens bearing "Pittsburg" markings as shown below. Both types of “Pittsburg” marking are very rare.
P. L. M. Products   1977-1987 Cleveland, OH The company name was found on an aerial spacer. The aerial spacer was patented on November 10, 1959. The company name was registered on February 7, 1977 (RN33543), renewed on January 20, 1982, but cancelled by operation of law on February 17, 1987 after a renewal notice was sent on October 15, 1986. The agent listed was The Scott & Fetzer Co., 14600 Detroit Ave., Lakewood, OH 44107. Raymond G. Horrocks was one of the patent assignors and president of PLM Products who said the spacers which they sold were made by another company.
Porak-Isolatoren-Unternehmung   early 1900's Vienna, Austria Wiedener Gurtel 28, Vienna, Austria
Porcelain Appliance Co.   circa 1925 Cleveland, OH Company was the patent holding and licensing company for 16 companies: Brunt Tile and Porcelain Company, Columbus, Ohio; Colonial Insulator Company, Akron, Ohio; Davidson Porcelain Co., East Liverpool, Ohio; Federal Porcelain Co., Carey, Ohio; Findlay Electric Porcelain Company, Findlay, Ohio; General Porcelain Co., Parkersburg, W. Va.; Mogadore Insulator Co., Mogadore, Ohio; National Electrical Porcelain Co., Carey, Ohio; J. H. Parker and Son, Parkersburg, W. Va.; R. T. Thomas and Sons Co., East Liverpool, Ohio; Wheeling Tile Co., Wheeling W. Va.; J. H. Parker, Parkersburg, W. Va.; R. G. Spencer, Carey, Ohio; H. R. Holmes, East Liverpool, Ohio; G. O. Anderson, Parkersburg, W. Va.; and J. E. Bicknell, Findlay, Ohio. An anti-trust suit was filed against the companies in October 1925 (see article 7623).
Porcelain Electric Mfg. Co. PEMCO ??-1907 Trenton, NJ NJ records list the company charter was no longer in force in 1909. The idle plant was sold in late 1907 or early 1908. Apparently this was not the Electric Porcelain Mfg. Co. Some references state name as Porcelain Electrical Mfg. Co. In early 1907, they stopped making the famous PEMCO split-knob (patent 697,001) with the exclusive right to manufacture going to R. Thomas & Sons Co. Presumably the company went out of business at this time.
Porcelain Insulator Corp. PINCO 1920-Dec. 1985  Lima, NY 'The company was formed by William F. Harvey, a Ford dealer in Lima, in July 1920 after purchasing the old Lima plant from Locke. The plant had been destroyed by fire on January 8, 1919. The company was capitalized with $250,000 and included D. H. Finucane and E. P. Doran of Lima. The new Pinco plant produced the first insulators in 1921. M. L. Joslyn of Chicago was also involved from the beginning. Mr. Harvey died in January 1928. His son, Leo B. Harvey, who was working in California at the time, returned to Lima as President and Manager. Leo Harvey died in March 1958 after falling out of his car. On January 1, 1959, Pinco became a division of the Joslyn Mfg. and Supply Co., which previously was a major stockholder. The plant was purchased by Industrial Ceramics, Inc. in December 1985 continuing to use the PINCO marking on insulators. They ceased the manufacture of pin-type insulators in 1987.
Porcelain Products, Co. PP inside a rectangle 1959-2001  Carey, OH This plant produced dry process only. It was purchased by A. B. Chance in December 1955 and renamed in 1959 as Porcelain Products Co., but still owned by Chance. The plant was sold in June 1963 to Clarken Co. of St. Louis and continued to operate as PPCo. It was sold to Ceram Insulators in 2001, which changed the name to PPC Insulators 
Porcelain Products, Co. PP-KNOX 1975-2001  Knoxville, TN  Purchased from Knox Porcelain Corp. in September 1975; sold to Ceram Insulators which changed the name to PPC Insulators 
Porcelain Products, Co.   1999-2001 Macomb, IL Purchased from Cooper Power Systems; sold to Ceram Insulators which changed the name to PPC Insulators
Porcelain Products, Inc. P. P. Inc. 1927-1955 Parkersburg, WV The company was formed with the merger on July 10, 1927 of Ravenswood Porcelain Co., General Porcelain Co., Findlay Electric Porcelain Co., National Porcelain Co., and Federal Porcelain Co. After just a few years, most of the plants were shut down leaving Parkersburg to make wet process porcelain insulators and Carey to make dry process porcelain insulators. A. B. Chance purchased 50.4% controlling interest in the company in December 1955, but continued operations as P. P. Inc. In 1959, the Parkersburg plant became the insulator division of Chance.
Porcelain Products, Inc. ALLIGATOR; P; P in a circle 1927-1955 Carey (Findlay), OH Dry process only; sold controlling interest to A. B. Chance
Porcelan Szigetelok   ??-present Zsolnay, Vilmos, Hungary porcelain insulators
Porter & Berg Co.        
Porter (H. K.) Co. Thomas delta-star logo ?-2004 Pittsburg, PA Electrical supplies, and plastic pintype insulator. In 1957 the Thomas plant at Lisbon, OH was purchased by Porter and absorbed into its Delta-Star Electric Division. The Lisbon plant closed in 1963.Around 2004 TransTech purchase the purchased the Delta Star division of H.K. Porter
Porzellanfabrik Hermsdorf-Klosterlausnitz PHK (Australia only) PH 1898-2000 Hermsdorf and Klosterlausnitz (State of Thuringia), Germany The company used the "PHK" trademark from 1900 to 1913. From 1913 to 1923 a "triangle with the letter H in it" was used. From 1923 on the famous tridelta trademark (three triangles) was used. The factory only just closed its doors in 2000. They exported porcelain insulators to Australia. The 1898 issue of The Electrician Electrical Trades Directory listed this company as a major manufacturer of insulators.
Porzellanfabrik H. Schomburg & Söhne (see Schomburg (H.) and Sons)        
Porzellanfabrik Joseph Schachtel AG        
Porzellanfabrik Kahla, Filiale Hermsdorf Klosterlausnitz     Hermsdorf, Germany See Schomburg (H.) and Sons.
Porzellanfabrik Merkelsgrun   1920's Merkelsgrun, Bohemia (Czech Republic) porcelain insulators
Porzellanfabrik P. Rosenthall Co., A.-G.        
Porzellanfabrik Teltow     Holenbrunn (Oberfranken), Germany Porcelain insulator manufacturer.
PPC Insulators    2001-present Macomb, IL; Knoxville, TN; Carey, OH In 2001, the Porcelain Products Co. plants at Carey, Macomb, and Knoxville were purchased by Ceram Insulators and the name was changed to PPC Insulators. The Macomb plant closed in 2004. The Carey plant is used for assembly only with office in Tiffin, OH. There are porcelain manufacturing plants in Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Sweden, and Thailand as well as joint venture with WUXI Huaneng Ceram, China
Price, Sons and Co.   1880's Bristol, England The 1885 Electricians' Directory stated company was insulator and battery jar makers at The Potteries, Bristol.
Pringle Electrical Mfg. Co., Inc.   1891-1920's? Philadelphia, PA W. T. Pringle operated the business under his name. In June 1906, the business was incorporated as Pringle Electrical Mfg. Co., Inc. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured panelboards, switchboards, switches, steel cabinets, boxes, etc. Known for electrical supplies. Address was 1906-12 N. 6th St. President, secretary, treasurer, William T. Pringle; vice-president and general manager, Arthur K. Pringle.
Prospect Hill Pottery Co.   c. 1910 Trenton, NJ A 1909 Trenton newspaper had an add for dust pressers in this company's electrical department.
PSN Components   1998-present Poughkeepsie, NY Company purchased the Newell Porcelain Co., Inc. in 2005. It is doubtful that porcelain insulators were produced at Poughkeepsie, NY. The company appears to be a supplier of insulators made in Korea and, since 2005, porcelain line post and station post insulators were made at their Newell, WV plant. They are a global manufacturer of high quality electro-porcelain insulators for medium and high voltage applications. PSN Components' insulators are currently used by Commonwealth Edison, The Southern Company, New York Power Authority, Orange and Rockland, and other major electric utilities. The new name, Newell-PSN, will be used for the Newell, WV plant. [www.psncomponents.com]
PYREX [see Corning Glass Works]        
R (top)
R. Good Jr. [see Colorado Glass Works]        
Raco Electrical Products Div, All Stell Co. RACO   Chicago, IL Porcelain insulators marked RACO were made by the Ceramic Specialties Co. for the RACO steel bracket
Rajeev Industries   modern Khurja, India Manufacture of porcelain insulators.
Randolph Insulator Co.     Newark, NJ Incorporated in 1909 by Leonard M. Randolph, Edwin R. Lines and Theodore McCurdy Marsh. The company was to deal In general electric, machinery and apparatus, dynamos, motors, etc.
Raneegunge Pottery Works   1868 Delhi, India The pottery produce insulators in 1868 within a year of the new plant starting construction. Various pottery ware was produced with insulators being a minor product.
Rashtriya Electrical and Engineering Corp.   modern New Delhi, India Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Ravenswood Porcelain Co. R; R. P. Co. 1921-1927 Ravenswood, WV Company was started in 1921 by Charles Turnbull, general manager; C. E. Mason, president; and Mike E. Ginther, secretary. Turnbull learned the porcelain business in East Liverpool, OH and New Haven, WV. The company made only dry process porcelain insulators and sold a line of standard porcelain, knobs, cleats, tubes, etc. Also made contract insulators such as Sackett mine insulators, rack spools, etc. It was merged into Porcelain Products Inc. in 1927 along with five other companies. Turnbull then built, owned and operated the Ravenswood Novelty Works, makers of toy glass marbles until his death. Paul Cox then operated it until it closed in the late 1950's. The pottery property was purchased in 1929 by T. V. Milligan but remained idle until 1937. He had owned the T. V. Milligan Porcelain Co. in East Liverpool, OH from 1915 until selling it to Peach in 1929. Gus Trenle, former owner of Trenle Porcelain Co. in East Liverpool, bought the Ravenswood plant in partnership with H. W. Blake in 1937. The company name was Trenle-Blake China Co. making a line of hotel china until closing in 1965. It was purchased by Harold Compston, first employed by the plant in 1921, and operated the plant until closing in 1969.
Rayburn-Hunter & Co. R-H & CO.     Lightning rods and porcelain insulators
Reconstructed Granite Co.   c. 1898-1920? Norristown, PA Made third rail insulators from reconstructed granite for the New York subway. Thomas Wilkinson Blakey and president William Courtenay received the John Scott Award in 1901 for reconstructed granite. They may have been the founders of the company. Address was 17 Dey St., NYC. The building floor space covered seven acres. (see patent 664,470). Ohio Brass cataloged several third rail styles made by this company. 1905 Thomas Register said they make granite and third rail insulators.
Reid Bros. REID BROS. LONDON; C. LUNDY 1880's London, England Company was located at 12 Wharf Road. The Journal of the Society of Telegraph Engineers and Electricians published in 1881 stated they were the sole licensees for Crighton's 1878 patent insulator (gb1878-0004696) for fixing wires without the use or aid of binding wire (see article 5365). See "Lundy, C." in this list.
Reliable Electric Co. ACME 1920's Chicago, IL Electrical supplies, switches, connectors, cutouts. Address was 3145 Carroll Ave. President, Wallace L. Cook; vice-president, Fred J. Wegg.
Renim Specialty Co.   c. 1905 Boston, MA Porcelain wiring tubes. Found in 1905 Thomas Register.
Reyburn, Hunter & Co.   1849-c. 1870's Philadelphia, PA Business located at 488 & 490 St. John Street. Manufacturer of lightning rods and insulators. A 1871 advertisement shows the "Reyburn-Hunter egg" lightning rod insulator (http://www.insulators.info/pictures/?id=63963262). (http://www.insulators.info/pictures/?id=268135405)
Rhein-Westfalishe Isolatoren Werke     Siegburg, Germany  
Ricardo Dos Santos Gallo, Fo., Lda   1949-?? Marinha, Portugal  
Richard Ginori Societa Ceramica   1890's to present Milan, Italy  
Richmond Glass Works (Virginia Glass Mfg. Co.)   mid-late 1850's Richmond, VA Glass egg insulator
Ridlon (Frank) Co. [see Frank Ridlon Co.]        
Riverside Knob Mfg. Co. [see Brunt (William) Pottery Co.]        
Riverside Mfg. Co. [see Brunt (H.) and Sons Co.]        
Robert Fowler, Ltd.   1922-? Sydney, Australia Robert Fowler became a partner in the pottery when his father, Enoch, died in 1879. He ran for parliament and died in 1906 but the firm continued. Robert Fowler Pty. Ltd (R.F. Ltd) dates from 1922 when it became a public company but he seems to have started making insulators in the mid 1930’s. They now trade as Fowler and make bathroom wares. Don't know when they stopped making insulators.
Robinson-Merrill Pottery Co.   1900-1903 Akron, OH Manufactured stoneware and reportedly one third rail insulator was dug at the site circa 2002. Plant was located at South Main and State streets. In early 1903, the company was merged into one large tile and pottery company. Henry Robinson was one of the owners.
Rosenthal Insulators, Selb     Selb, Bavaria Porcelain
Rosenthal Technik AG     Bayreuth,, Germany  
Rosenthal Technische Werke     Germany Porcelain
Rosenthal-Stemag-Technische Keramic   1971-present Bavaria, Germany In 1971, the "Rosenthal Technik AG" head office created the "Rosenthal STEMAG" division by merging "Steatit Magnesia", "Rosenthal Isolatoren" (which produced pintype insulators in Selb-Erkersreuth, Bavaria, Germany) and "Rosenthal Technische Werke". The STEMAG office and main factory was located in the town of Marktredwitz, Bavaria, Germany (the factory had formerly housed the Porzellanfabrik Thomas, since 1908 owned by Rosenthal). The whole "Rosenthal Technik AG" was on January 1st 1985 taken over by the "Hoechst AG" from Frankfurt and renamed to "Hoechst CeramTec AG"; this name was kept until the company acquired the Cerasiv GmbH from the town of Plochingen, Bavaria, Germany in 1996; the company was once again renamed, to simple "CeramTec AG", and is still operational (www.ceramtec.de)
Roses, Sociedad Limitada     Girona, Spain porcelain insulators
Royal Electric Mfg. Co. ROYAL 1910's to 1920's Chicago, IL Located at various addresses such as 556, 616, and 621 E. 40th St. They were designers and manufactures of high tension apparatus and electrical specialties such as wiring cleats, switches, and supports for choke coils.
Royal Electrical Specialty Co.   ?-1920's? Chicago, IL The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured high-tension and electrical specialties. President, C. R. Lininger; vice-president, C. H. Thomas; secretary, H. H. Herbert; treasurer, F. M. Utt. Address was 556-606 E. 40th St. Advertised glass floor tubes with external threads and hexagonal head.
Royal Porcelain Factory   c. 1897 Berlin, Germany Manufactured an especially hard grade of porcelain tubes. (see EW May 13, 1897 page 367)
S (top)
S. Fobes & Co. [see Fobes Supply Co.]       Electrical supplies; possible distributor of SF glass insulators 
S. H. Supply Co.   early 1900's Denver, CO Electrical supplies, cleats, tubes, standard porcelain, small glass insulators
Sackett Mine Supply Co. SACKETT   Columbus, OH Mining supplies
SAG Ceramics Ltd.     South Africa Division of Electric Line Components Pty, Ltd formed in 1967 along with Cullinan Industrial Porcelain Ltd, which made porcelain insulators and Glass Insulators Ltd.
Sandwich Cooperative Glass Co. Diamond-P; C.E.L.CO.; and Pettingell-Andrews 1888-1891 Sandwich, MA When the Sandwich Glass Co. closed in 1888, several workers formed Sandwich Cooperative Glass Co. James Pennycuick had insulators made based on his 1885 patent.  Some embossed with P inside a diamond.  (see Electrical Glass Corp.)
San Francisco Glass Works   1865-1876 San Francisco, CA This factory may be the source of some of the E.C.& M.CO. insulators. SFGW merged with the Pacific Glass Works in 1876 to form the San Francisco & Pacific Glass Works (1876-c.1901). Insulators may likely date from after the merger as well.
Santana (Isoladores)     Brazil Manufacturer of all sorts of porcelain insulators. Became part of the Seves Group in 2002 along with Sediver and Porcelain Products Co.
Santos Barosa & Co., Lda     Marinha, Portugal  
Satraj Ceramics   modern Khurja, India Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Saunders (J. E.) & Co.   1885-1970 Cardiff, South Wales  
Schomburg (H.) and Sons (PORZELLANFABRIK H. SCHOMBURG & SÖHNE)   1800's to 1940's Berlin, Germany "Reported in a 1922 article, Kahla formed a 99 year joint venture with H. Schomburg and Sons and they have porcelain plants in Kahla, Hermsdorf, Freiberg. Zwickau, Margarethenhutte, Rosslau, Wiesau. Pirkensee, Schwarzenfcld and Schwandorf. They made electrical porcelain for export in 1922. From Zac Mirecki: The PORZELLANFABRIK H. SCHOMBURG & SÖHNE and the KPM were the major insulators producers in the 19th century. Both had their factories in the city center of Berlin near the river Spree. It was not possible for SCHOMBURG to enlarge the factory, therefore they moved to other locations (Roßlau, Teltow, Großdubrau near Bautzen) at the beginning of the 20th century. From 1923 on there was a fusion of SCHOMBURG and the Porzellanfabrik HERMSDORF/ KAHLA. The new group was named HESCHO (after HErmsdorf and SCHomburg) and became the largest insulator producer in Germany. HESCHO was well-known for quality worldwide. The mark of HESCHO consists of three triangles (like a christmas tree) and was used up to 1954 (in the German Democratic Republic).
Schweitzer & Conrad, Inc. S & C   Chicago, IL cutouts, wiring devices
Security Insulator Co.   1890's New Jersey Electrical cleats and knobs (see patent 480,011)
SEDIVER EIV (Europeenne d'Isolateurs en Verre) 1959-?? Saint-Yorre, France Societe Europeenne d'Isolateurs en Verre
Seidlmyer Bros. Glass Works   1880's-1891 Long Island City, NY Glass works was purchased by Homer Brooke, the New York mold maker, and will operate the works on glass insulators [see article 853]
Seiler (Paul) Electrical Works SEILER'S PATENT   San Francisco, CA Electrical supplies. Paul Seiler obtained patent 187,183 for a glass insulator, CD 130.2, while he was employed by California Electric Works.
Seyler Mfg. Co.     Pittsburg, PA Electrical and pole line supplies; distributor for Locke. Address was 525 Aspen Ave.
Shaw Insulator Co.   1920-?? Berkeley Heights (Irvington), NJ Manufacturer of Bakeline and plastic insulators. The company was founded by Louis E. Shaw who, in 1928, invented the transfer molding process of thermosetting materials. Address was 150 Colt St., Irvington, NJ. In 1920, he bought large interest in the Moorhead Laboratories in San Francisco which manufactured telephone and wireless supplies. The newspaper article (see article 7633) stated Shaw Insulator Co. was in Newark, NJ. In 1944 J. Harry Dubois became vice president of Shaw Insulator Company.
Shay, Stephens & Co.   c. 1889-early 1890's Chicago, IL Produced glass knobs for electric light construction as well as battery jars, globes, glass floor tubes, porcelain knobs, and pin-type glass insulators. In July 1890 they moved their offices from 134 Van Buren St. to a location on the West side. Charles Stephens was the owner.
Sheldon Foster Glass Co.   1895-1913 Gas City, IN Possible manufacturer of Star and SF insulators.
Siemens        
Siemens Brothers & Co., Ltd     London, England Electrical Review (London) dated Sept. 16, 1882 stated this company manufactured the porcelain slot-top insulator based on the Capanema patent gb1873-0004171. Their 1910 catalog shows many different patented styles including iron-clad styles.
Siemens-Halske   1847-?? Berlin, Germany The August 15, 1878 issue of The Telegraphic Journal (London) page 327 stated: "The firm have also a porcelain factory in Russia for the manufacture of insulators." The company (telegraph factory: Telegraphen-Bauanstalt Siemens and Halske) was founded in 1847 by Ernst Werner Siemens (died in 1878) and Halske (retired in 1867). Siemens-Halske registered in England in 1858. They also designed and manufactured the metal clad insulators used all over the world. It was a porcelain shell cemented in a cast iron cover with sulfur. The cast iron cover had a bracket to attach the insulator. The earliest version, U-1966, had a ramshorn cemented in the porcelain shell to secure the conductor.
Siemens-Schuckertwerke Aktiengesellschaft     Berlin-Siemensstadt, Germany  
Silver (S. W.) & Co.   1860's Silvertown, London, England They produced their patent ebonite insulators for the associated two-wire overhead land line in South Wales. The iron-wire armour was provided by Glass, Elliot & Company of Greenwich, London. In total it possessed 454 miles of wire, being 50 miles of land line in South Wales and Ireland as well as the 62 mile underwater cable.
Sissell Co. (Lloyd D.) SISSELL   Los Angeles, CA Rack spools
S. K. M. Agencies & Industries   modern Kolkata, India Manufacturer of porcelain insulators.
Smith & Stone, Ltd S & S; SS in two diamonds 1920-?? Georgetown, Ontario Address was 2 Glen Road. Only pin-type made was U-294A.
Smith Manual of Telegraph       Electrical supplies: CD 102, 131, ramshorn, glass block, La Bastie
Snyder-Hunt Co. S-H Co.   Belle Plaine, IA Company had three patents (753,398, 753,399, and 776,514) for various knobs and cleats, which were made by the Illinois Electric Porcelain Co.
Sociedad Anonima Fabrica Nacional de Vidrio SAFNV   Uruguay S.A.F.N.V.
Societe Anonyme de Verrerie Industrielle (Limited Company of Industrial Glassmaking) SAVI (in circle) 1920-1970 Masnieres, France logo: SAVI in a circle
Societe Anonyme des Produits Ceramiques de Fuisseaux, a Baudour (Limited Company of the Former De Fuisseaux of Baudour)   1883-1927 Baudour, Belgium On January 28, 1881, Madame Louise Messine, the widow of Nicolas-Joseph De Fuisseaux, died. Fernand de Fuisseau took over, changed the focus of the company to insulators and on October 17, 1883 created the "Societe Anonyme des Produits Ceramiques de Baudour" and named the company the "Societe Anonyme des Ancienes Usines De Fuisseaux". On June 29, 1912, Fernand De Fuisseaux died. In 1927, La Societe Anonyme de Fuisseaux was acquired by La Societe des Pavillons. See Rick Soller's article in April 2010 CJ for more information.
Societe de Folembray     Parville, France The 1904 St. Louis Electrical Handbook mentioned this company's "exhibit insulators for both high and low-pressure, telephone and telegraph work" on page 127.
Societe H. Parra Et. Cie.     Toulouse, France  
Societe L'Electro Verre [see L'Electro Verre]     France  
Societe Vedovelli Priestley     Paris, France  
Southern Electrical Porcelain Co., Inc.   1920-? Erwin, TN Listed in the 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book as a manufacturer of porcelain cleats, tubes, sockets, pin-type insulators, knobs, bushings, and other porcelain specialties. President and sales manager, J. S. Thorp; vice-president and general manager, J. W. Owen; secretary and treasurer, C. D. Davis. Company was formed April 1, 1920 at Bristol, VA. The 1926 EMF Electrical Year Book listed it as making pin-type insulators, and the description of the company stated manufacturer of porcelain sockets, insulators, knobs, bushings, cleats, etc.
Southern Massachusetts Telephone Co.  So. Mass. Tel. Co.; SMTCO 1878-1939 SE Mass and Cape Cod CD 102 embossed "So. Mass. Tel. Co."
Southern New England Electric Co.     Hartford, CT Electrical supplies
Southern Porcelain Co. S. P. / COMPANY / KAOLIN / S. C. 1856-?? Kaolin, SC The Southern Porcelain Manufacturing Co. was established on June 5, 1856 at Kaolin, SC (near Bath) by William H. Farrar, who had been a stockholder of the United States Pottery Co. in Bennington, VT. Numerous potters followed him there. The modeler, Josiah Jones, became manager in 1857, when the Charles Cartlidge & Co. factory closed (1856 at Greenpoint, NY), and next year (when Bennington also failed) Fenton was there briefly on his way to Peoria, Illinois, where he built an unsuccessful works. Until fire destroyed the factory in 1864, only “a fair porcelain” was produced at Kaolin of white or cream-colored earthenware, high-fired ironstone, porcelaneous stoneware, true porcelain, and Rockingham-type wares, such as the coarsely designed Corn pitchers of 1859-61 [Barber, pp. 188-9]. During the Civil War, the company produced porcelain teapot insulators, U-990, the “milk bottle”, U-989, and porcelain block insulators. Reference link: http://www.noteaccess.com/APPROACHES/DecorativeAA/PAmerican3.htm
Southern Porcelain Mfg. Co.     Kaolin, SC See Southern Porcelain Co. At the outbreak of the Civil War the company was reorganized as the Southern Porcelain Manufacturing Company, which went into the extensive manufacture of porcelain and pottery telegraph insulators for the Confederate Government.
Specialty Porcelain Works SPW; S. P. W.; S. P. W'KS. c. 1910-1949 East Liverpool, OH Owned by John W. Boch, who worked for R. Thomas & Sons Co. leaving in 1907. The plant is located on the west side of Pearl St. at Michigan and Elizabeth Streets. At one time produced standard porcelain with the S. P. W. marking. The company was listed in the 1922 Journal of the American Ceramic Society under the direction of J. W. Boch.
Spratt (James)   early 1850's-?? Cincinnati, OH Lightning rods, points, and insulators
Square D Co. SQUARE D; D inside a Square 1920-1957  Peru, IN On April 5, 1920, Square D purchased the porcelain plant of Peru Electric Mfg Co. at Peru, IN from Frank Moeck, the owner for the previous two years. Representing Square D were Thomas J. Kaufman and Bryson Dexter Horton, both of Detroit. Horton organized Square D and was its president since October 27, 1903, when the company was incorporated and he was the son-in-law to R. H. Bouslog, of Peru, IN. Bouslog became the manager of the plant, which he had previously managed for a number of years before leaving to take charge of other manufacturing interests including recently the factories of Chute & Butler Piano Co. and the Peru Canning Co. Square D Co. had electric appliance plants in Detroit and Canada, which the Peru plant will supply with electrical porcelain. From 1925 to 1951 the company operated a dry process porcelain plant at Peru, Indiana for manufacture of electrical porcelain items for their use and sale to other manufacturers, and this included some styles of pin-type insulators. All of these pin-types bear markings incorporating either the company's name or their Square-D trademark (registered 9-5-22, used since 10-15-14).
St. Johns Glass Co.   1875-1877 St. Johns, Quebec  
St. Johns Potteries   1890's?? St. Johns, Quebec Produced white porcelain insulators for the Yukon telegraph line in 1899.
St. Louis Lightning Rod Co. KRETZER BRAND   St. Louis, MO  Lightning rod accessories
Standard China Works   1870's-?? Trenton, NJ The company was the only one in Trenton which made door knobs. This company name was not shown in the NJ listing of incorporated companies. In 1881, 1882 and 1900 city directories, Warren Kimble was the proprietor with address on Prospect Ave at Stuyvesant Ave. In 1898, products were hardware and electrical goods. In 1908, company was headed by J. C. Sharkey (formerly treasurer of Artistic Porcelain Works) and apparently ceased manufacture of electrical porcelain (see ID 5929). The company was listed in a Trenton newspaper in 1917 as Standard China Co. See "Warren Kimble". By 1920, the plant taken over by Connecticut Electric Mfg. Co. which called the pottery Connecticut Porcelain Co. They likely made U-923F for Fred Locke.
Standard Glass Insulator Co.   1893-1894 Boston, MA Lawrence B. Gray patented process. The business was located at 129 Tremont.
Standard Electric Mfg. Co. STANDARD 1911-1920's? Chicago, IL Outlet bushings, switches. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company address was 925-941 Wrightwood Ave. President, L. E. Parker; vice-president, E. Parker; secretary and treasurer, T. L. Parker.
Standard Electrical Mfg. Co. STANDARD; STANDARD ELEC. MFG. CO.   Cleveland, OH Outlet bushings
Standard Porcelain Co.   1905-c. 1920's New Cumberland, WV Plant was started by A. L. Dyke (former manager of the Akron Insulator & Marble Co.). There were eight kilns with electric porcelain as the chief product. It was probably one of the plants taken over by the formation of General Porcelain Co. The company was listed in the 1922 Journal of the American Ceramic Society under the direction of Harry Yeates. The 1926 EMF Electrical Year Book listed the company making pin-type insulators with plant location East Liverpool, OH.
Standard Pottery Co.   1921-? Los Angeles, CA Company started either late 1920 or early 1921 manufacturing hotel chinaware, porcelain table, bath, lavatory and toilet wares using Riverside county native clays and Nevada china clays. Trade journal stated plans to add equipment to make "high grade porcelain and enamel insulating devices for electrical installations".
Standard Vitrified Conduit Co.   circa 1903 New York, NY Office was at 39 Cortlandt street. The manufactured semi-vitrified conduit and third rail composition insulators. One advertisement said the insulators were made of vitrified clay. A 1905 article stated they supplied all the third rail insulators for the Interborough Rapid Transit Co. They also supplied third rail insulators for the Brooklyn Rapid Transit Co. and Scioto Valley Traction Co. in Ohio. In 1903, the Interborough Rapid Transit Co. of New York City purchased 55,000 third rail insulators of the "Manhattan" type and the Scioto Valley Traction Co. placed an order for 29,000 "Manhattan" insulators and the U. S. Steel Co. has equipped several of its plants with this insulator.
Stanley & Patterson PATTERSON   New York, NY specialties
Star Glass Works   1869-c. 1880 New Albany, IN David Whitten wrote: Gerald O. Haffner in The Glass Industry of New Albany (1983:44), indicates insulators were produced here, apparently referring to contemporary newspaper articles. However, no actual insulators are confirmed to exist that were made by this factory, as far as is known to collectors. If any exist they would be, at present, still unattributed examples. Star Glass Company became the W. C. DePauw Glass Company (aka DePauw's American Plate Glass Works) before 1880, and operated under that name until the summer of 1893, when the plant closed down production. Occasional brief re-starts evidently occurred as late as 1895 or 1896, but for all practical purposes, the Panic of 1893 led to the demise of this factory. Most of their product consisted of plate and window glass (and fruit jars) in later years. (NOTE: None of the insulators with the embossed "star" markings were manufactured here. They are of a somewhat later era and were made by (principally) three glass companies: Novelty, Sterling, and Harloe).
Star Porcelain Co. IDEAL; STAR; 5-point star 1899-2003 Trenton, NJ This company was located in Trenton, NJ and was incorporated June 24, 1899, for the manufacture of dry process electrical porcelain and specialties. The founder of the company was Dr. Charles P. Britton, a druggist, who sold his drug store in 1900 in order to devote all his time to the pottery’s manufacture electrical insulators. Other owners were Dr. Thomas H. MacKenzie and Herbert Sinclair. The factory was located on Muirhead Ave near Dewey. In the December 30, 1905, issue of Electrical World and Engineer they advertized black glazed porcelain. The factory was enlarged and work completed in June 1905 that would double the production of electrical porcelain, and, for the first time, start making porcelain tubes, which commenced in August. Herbert Sinclair patented an oval split knob (patent #806,588) in 1905 and a unique style of split knob (patent #855,208) in 1907. Star Porcelain started making insulators for spark plugs in 1916 from steatite along with Jeffery-Dewitt Co. In mid-1922 they announced the manufacture of radio antenna insulators for M. M. Fleron & Son, Inc. In 1925, a trade journal article mentioned they had plants in Annandale, NJ (equipment was being moved to Trenton) and in Frenchtown. In the Arthur Watts 1939 article, there is a reference to Star having made a line of high-voltage insulators from 1901 to 1907. There is no other information regarding this, and no pin-type insulators are known which can be attribut¬ed to this company. The company was closed in 2003.
Steatit Magnesia     Germany Merged into Rosenthal-Stemag
Steatite & Porcelain Products Ltd. FARADEX c. 1950's-present Stourport-on-Severn, Worcestershire, England Manufacturers of hard porcelain for high voltage and porcelain and steatite for low-tension components, radio ceramics, and specialties.
Steel City Electric Co. CAMPBELL   Pittsburgh, PA receptacles
Sterling Glass Co. STERLING; £ June 1902-March 1903 Elmer, NJ STERLING, £, and some of the embossed star insulators
Steward (D. M.) Mfg. Co. LAVITE circa 1900-1920's Chatanooga, TN Manufacturer of "Lava" and "Lavite" insulators (see American Lava Corp.)
Stiff (James) & Sons   1830's-1912 Lambeth and London, England Manufacturer of telegraph insulators in brown or white including J. Slater Lewis self-binding insulator (like CD 110.5, CD 110.6 and U-2021). The 1883 Telegraphic Journal and Electrical Review (London) stated they were making the Slater Lewis self-binding (screw-top) insulator. The 1885 Electricians' Directory said they made porous cell and plate, battery jars, and insulators located at High Street, Lambeth, S. E. James Stiff was born in 1808 at Rougham, son of Robert Stiff. In 1831, he married Sarah Faulkner Philpot and then Lucy Potter in 1878, both names connected to his pottery career. In 1830, James began working at Doulton & Watts Pottery. He left to work as a potter at his own pottery in Ferry Street at Lambeth. He was famous for stoneware pottery. His two sons, William and Ebenezer, entered the business in 1863 and the name was changed to James Stiff & Sons. James retired in 1895 and the company was dissolved in 1912. A year later it was sold to Royal Doulton. James died in 1897.
Stewart (Frank H.) Electric Co. [see Frank H. Stewart Electric Co.]        
Stewart-Howland Co. SHCo entertwined logo   Boston, MA Standard porcelain. Piece of a cleat with this logo was found at Electric Porcelain Co. plant in East Liverpool, OH.
Stickla Turda     Turda, Romania  
Stocker & Co Telephon und Telegraphenwerke        
Stromberg-Carlson Telephone Mfg. Co.     Rochester, NY Electrical and telephone supplies, Hemingray, Pittsburg, Cutter, standard porcelain, tubes, telephone listening device
Stuart-Howland Co.     Boston, MA Electrical supplies. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company was located at Congress and Purchase Streets. President and treasurer, Guilford M. Stuart.
Stupakoff Ceramic & Mfg. Co.   1940's Latrobe, PA Supplied IN-83 radio antenna insulators to Boeing for B-29 during WWII.
Suisse Langenthal     Langenthal, Switzerland  
Summit Porcelain Co.   1920-?? Summit, NJ (Trenton) The Summit Porcelain Co. was incorporated in late 1920 by E. F. Anderson, president; Anthony Comfort, vice-president; E. C. DeDreaux, treasurer, and E. L. McKirgan, secretary. The intention of the company was to manufacture the highest grade of porcelain "standards" and "specialities." The plant was located at Park and Chestnut Avenues in Summit, NJ in a building formerly owned by Mr. Anderson for his merchandising business. The building is three-story and fireproof and has easy access to two large railroads. Mr. Comfort was one of the best known pottery men in New Jersey. The plant started operation around January 15, 1921, with two kilns. The company was listed in the 1922 Journal of the American Ceramic Society under the direction of Anthony Comfort.
Sun Electric Insulator & Apparatus Manufacture-Ltd     Liling, Hunan, China  
Sun Electrical Co., Ltd.     London, England Electrical supplies, British pintypes, knobs, cleats, tubes
Sun Porcelain Co.   1905-1911 Trenton, NJ Incorporated on November 13, 1905 and located on Oakland Street. Agent was listed as Alfred G. Grainger. Other people involved in the start of the company were Charles J. Hetzel and George F. Wyckoff. They bought the plant of the former brick maker Oakland Mfg. Co. Capitalization was increased to $750,000 on April 24, 1911. Sun was merged into General Porcelain Co. on May 12, 1911.
Sunshine Potteries   1922-?? Sunshine (Melbourne), Australia They were still in business as late as 1961.
Superior Porcelain Co.   1905-1910 New Cumberland, WV Sold to U.S. Electric Porcelain Co.
Superior Porcelain Co. S.P.; S. P. Co.; SUPERIOR 1929-1964 New Haven, WV (Parkersburg) The company was purchased from the first New Haven Porcelain Co. in 1929 by George O. Anderson who had been with General Porcelain Co. at Parkersburg, WV when his Anderson Porcelain Co was purchased by General Porcelain Co. in 1911. Superior Porcelain Co. operated by George Anderson and his son, Smith Anderson, to make specialty and standard porcelain insulators until 1964 when it was sold by the Anderson estate. They made wire holders for Line Material. The new owners changed the name to New Haven Porcelain Co., but continued to produce insulators under the Superior Porcelain Co. name and marking the insulators as Superior did.
Suzhou Porcelain Insulator Works Co., Ltd.   1945?-present Suzhou, China Company was founded in 1959 and currently employ about 1300 people.
Swift (H. E.) Manufacturing Co.   1890-? Boston, MA Company was at 34 Oliver St. and claimed to be manufacturers and seller of the Brodie tree insulator. They also made rosettes, fuse boxes, cut-outs, safety appliances, and all incandescent light supplies in porcelain and wood. In June 1890 they had 100 people working in the factory on the top floor with offices on the second floor.
Syndenham Glass Co.     Wallaceburg, Ontario  
T (top)
T. V. Milligan Porcelain Co. ADAMANT 1915-1929 East Liverpool, OH Formerly Adamant Porcelain Co. plant purchased by Harry Peach and George Reid. The plant was destroyed by fire in WW I. Milligan left the company in 1929 after purchasing the idle Ravenswood Porcelain Co. plant from General Porcelain Co. At that time, company name was changed to Peach Porcelain Co. In 1932, from either name change or purchase, the company became Ceramic Specialties Co. The company went bankrupt in 1955.
Taruna Dechome Private Limited   modern Bikaner, India Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Tasker, Sons & Co.     Sheffield, England 32 Angel St.; India rubber insulators
Taylor, Goodhue & Ames Co.   Oct. 1892-?? Chicago, IL Electrical supplies
Taylor, Tunnicliff & Co. Ltd.   1867-1959 Hanley, Staffordshire, England This firm, which has achieved world fame in the manufacture of high-grade ceramics for the electrical industry was founded in the year 1867 by engineer Thomas Taylor and potter William Tunnicliff for the purpose of making specialized pottery articles. Operations were started at a small factory at Shelton, which soon became inadequate to meet demands and its activities were transferred to much larger premises at Eastwood, Ltd, Hanley (more recently enlarged by adjacent buildings housing well-equipped laboratories) which, to this day, remain the Registered Offices of the group of firms controlled by Taylor Tunnicliff (Electrical Industries) Limited. When William Tunnicliff retired in 1895, a Private Limited Company was formed. To increase production capacity, factories were built at Stone and Longton, and in 1938, the Holding Company, under the Chairmanship of Sir John Kent, C.B.E., was formed to control the Companies in the Taylor Tunnicliff group comprising: Taylor Tunnicliff & Co. Ltd., Hanley and Stone; Taylor Tunnicliff (Refractories) Limited, Longton; Electric & Ordnance Accessories Co. Ltd., Shelton; with a majority holding in Electric Transmission Ltd., at Etruria. In 1959, Merged with Bullers Ltd to form Allied Insulators Ltd. The Hanley plant closed in 1972.
Teal, Frank C. Co.        
Technical Ceramics Lava Corp.        
Telefunken Geselleschaft fur Drahtlose Telegraphie m. b. H.     Berlin, Germany Patented heavy glass radio strain
Telegraph Insulator Co.   1880's England The 1885 Electricians' Directory stated they were insulator makers located at 28 Hamilton Street, Birkenhead and that they were "owners of J. Slater Lewis's Patents".
Telegraph Mfg. Co.   1880's-1902+ London, England Company was located at Helsby near Warrington and 29 Queen St.
Temiskaming & Northern Ontario Railway T. & N. O. Ry. 1902-1941 Canada Under-glaze ink marking, T. & N. O. Ry, found on porcelain Canadian beehives  
Temuka Pottery   1894-1914 Temuka, New Zealand See New Zealand Insulators, Ltd. The business was started as a brick yard in 1894 by William Hoare. In October 1903 the business, known as the Hoare & Page of Temuka, was taken over by William Berry. In February 1916 the plant was bought by the Temuka Pipe Works Company Ltd and in April the title was transferred to the Canterbury Pipe and Tile Co. Ltd. Shortly thereafter the name was changed to the Dominion Porcelain and Tile Industries Ltd. The company began making insulators in 1918 credited to a Mr. Brown and a Mr. Ballantyne. In February 1924, the company was taken over by the National Electrical & Engineering Co. Ltd (NEECO), and became New Zealand Insulators Limited.
Thames Glass Works   1863-1865 New London, CT "Thames Glass Works was erected by parties from Stoddart, NH, who were operating it in 1863. Later it was purchased by N. Y. Fish and William Batty, who subsequently sold it to some Ellenville, NY people.
They made threadless insulators."
Theodor Pohl Zacler TP   Zacler, Czech Republic Manufacturer of porcelain insulators
Thomas (R.) & Sons, Co. THOMAS; T; R. T. & S. CO.; R. T. & SONS 1884-1927  East Liverpool, OH Door knobs, Standard Porcelain, ribbed trolley supports, pintypes. Address was West Seventh St. Original company was American Knob Works founded in 1873. Company was reorganized and expanded in 1884 as the R. Thomas & Sons (marking R. T. & SONS). First low-voltage insulators were produced in 1884. In 1892, the company expanded by purchasing the Westinghouse Electric Co. porcelain plant and incorporated under the name R. Thomas & Sons Co. In 1905, the company was heavily into making insulators for the rapidly expanding high-voltage market and had outgrown the East Liverpool plant. At that time it expanded by purchasing a small plant in Lisbon. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book listed the president as George W. Thomas; secretary, Atwood W. Thomas; treasurer, Lawrence M. Thomas; general manager, H. R. Holmes.
Thomas (R.) & Sons, Co. THOMAS 1905-1957 Lisbon, OH In 1905, Thomas purchased the Thomas China Co. plant from family member, A. G. Mason. The plant was converted to produce porcelain insulators. In 1918, the plant was converted to a large, modern insulator manufacturing plant. In 1957, the company was purchased by the H. K. Porter Co. and absorbed into its Delta-Star Electric Division. The plant was closed in 1963.
Thomas China Co.   1901-1905 Lisbon, OH The Thomas China Co. was organized in late 1899 or early 1900 by George Thomas (president of R. Thomas & Sons Co.), George's sister, Ellen Thomas Mason, and her husband, Albert G. Mason, and another sister, Mary Thomas Harvey, and her husband, George Harvey. They were given $50,000 by the city of Lisbon as an inducement to build the plant. Construction of the plant was begun in early 1901 and was nearly completed in December 1901. The company made semi-porcelain dinner ware, toilets, jardinières, specialties, and ceramic mantel rings for Welsbach gas light mantles. In 1903, they sold all their general ware mechanical equipment to East Palestine Pottery Co., bought new equipment, and built 6 kilns to produce electrical porcelain. With the rapid growth of electricity and demand for insulators, the East Liverpool plant was too small and could not be expanded further, so it was decided in 1905 to purchase the Lisbon plant from A. G. Mason and expand it to produce even more electrical porcelain. A. G. Mason stayed on as general manager.
Thomas De La Rue & Co., Ltd   1920's London, England Manufacturers of the Telenduron composition insulator. In 1914, Thomas De La Rue acquired interests in Telenduron products, whereby battery boxes and electrical insulators were moulded from bituminous compounds. In 1937, they started producing Bakelite insulators.
Thompson-Houston Electric Co. T-H.; T-H. E. CO. 1883-1892   The Thomson-Houston Electric Company was created in 1883 when Elihu Thomson's American Electric Company and the interests of Edwin Houston merged into a single company. In 1892, Thomson-Houston merged with the Edison General Electric Company to form the General Electric Company. This electrical supply company had glass insulators embossed with "T-H." and "T-H. E. CO."
Tillotson (L. G.) & Co. L.G.T. & CO. ?-1880 New York, NY Electrical supplies, CD 131, battery insulator. Address up to 865 was No. 16 Broadway; 1865-1868 at No. 26 Dey St.; 1868 to about 880 at No. and No. 8 Dey St. for office, salesroom and warehouse and manufactory at 139, 141, 143 Centre St. In 1880, taken over by E. S. Greeley & Co. at the Dey St. address.
Tower-Binford Electric & Mfg. Co.     Richmond, VA Electrical supplies
Transadean Associates, Inc.     New York, NY Telephone transposition brackets
Trans-Canada Railway Co. TCR 1892-? Canada Incorporated in 1892.
Trenle Porcelain Co. TRENLE; T. T. P. Co.; GLANCE-OFF; JIFFY; KWIKON; SURE-GRIP 1917-1920's East Liverpool, OH The company was founded by S. Turnbull, J. Doekin, E. J. Owen, and Gus A. Trenle. Located on the north side of Railroad St. east of Boyce St. The East End Pottery Co. was started in 1894 on this site. Name changed to East Liverpool Potteries Co. in 1903 and then East End Pottery Co. in 1905. Later became East End China Co., Trenle China Co. and then refitted in 1917 as the Trenle Porcelain Co. to produce electrical porcelain. Ohio records show the name of Trenle China Co. was changed on June 24, 1898 to the Trenle Porcelain Co. The company was listed in the 1922 Journal of the American Ceramic Society under the direction of G. A. Trenle and H. W. Blake. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured porcelain knobs, tubes, and cleats. The address was P. O. Box 493. President, G. A. Trenle; vice-president, H. D. Brookman; secretary-treasurer, H. W. Blake. It also stated "business established 1893", which refers to the East End Pottery. ("Quickon" knob). The 1926 EMF Electrical Year Book listed the company makine pin-type insulators.
Trenton China Co.   1859-1891 Trenton, NJ The 1901 book, The Pottery and Porcelain of the United States, stated the company was incorporated in 1859. The works were closed in 1891 under the management of Frederick A. Duggan. Another source said the company was incorporated on November 10, 1880 with $40,000 with James Moore as president and located on 3rd Street. Capital stock was increased to $100,000 on September 10, 1883 and again to $200,000 on December 16, 1887. In 1882, Thomas Bell, president; Charles Cadwallader, secretary; James Clark, treasurer. The company was in the hands of a receiver in June 1891 and purchased by Thomas Maddock & Sons on May 11, 1892. Frederick A. Duggan and B. B. Dinsmore left after the failing in 1891 and founded Imperial Porcelain Works for the manufacture of electrical porcelain.
Trenton Fire Clay & Porcelain Co.   c. 1902 Trenton, NJ Manufactured a full line of electrical porcelain as well as fire clay goods.
Trenton Porcelain Co. JIFFY; T. P.; T. P. Co. 1902-1924 Trenton, NJ The company was incorporated on January 7, 1902, with capital stock of $100,000 by George F. Fell, Franklin H. Burroughs, and George E. Maguire. Plant was located on the corner of Prince and Mead St., which is the same location and same organizers as the Newton Porcelain Co. incorporated in January 1902. Apparently they decided on Trenton Porcelain Co. instead of Newton Porcelain Co. At that time the agent was shown as George F. Fell with officers: President, B. H. Maguire; secretary and treasurer, George E. Maguire. The factory started operation in May 1902 manufacturing dry process electrical porcelain. An undated catalog found at the Smithsonian shows 11 styles of pin-type insulators and three types of guy strains along with a complete line of standard porcelain, cleats, split knobs, and one-wire cleats and switch bases made by Findlay. The 1915 Freeman patent (1,147,498) for the “Buckeye” split knob was also shown, which was also marketed by the E. H. Freeman Co. The patent was assigned to Trenton Porcelain. In January 1913, Cook Pottery Co. and Frerdinand Schaub brought suit against Trenton Porcelain and the E. H. Freeman Electrical Company for patent infringement over the Wedge insulator patent 919,386. In 1921, the officers were E. H. Freeman (president), George E. Maguire (sec-treas) and P. T. Bradley (sales manager). This agrees exactly with the officers of E. H. Freeman Electric Co. Listed in the 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book as a manufacturer of porcelain cleats and other electrical porcelain products with address of 803 E. State St. This is the same address as E. H. Freeman Electric Co. in the same book, but it is not a factory location. It is a business office used by factory representatives. In 1924-5, Trenton Porcelain Co. name was changed to the Circle F Mfg. Co., manufacturer of electric wiring devices .At least one dry process porcelain pin-type style shown in the catalog had a distinctive shape -- U-236A. Several other insulators have similar glaze characteristics and are thought to have been made by Trenton Porcelain. The plant continued making electrical porcelain for the Freeman Co. into the 1940's and was often referred to as Trenton Porcelain Co. ("Jiffy" knobs, "Little Joe", "Big Joe" antenna insulators)
Trenton Potteries Co.   1892-19? Trenton, NJ The plant was started in 1868 under the name Coxon and Thompson. It was known as the Empire Plant. Company was incorporated on May 28, 1892 with capitalization of $3,000,000. Address was 309 N. Clinton Ave. President and General Manager was John A. Campbell. The company took over operations of the Empire, Enterprise, Delaware, Equitable, and Crescent potteries and also built the Ideal pottery. Certificate relative to additional capital stock on June 22, 1892. Amended certificates on July 1, 1902 and June 23, 1903. One reference to East Trenton Pottery Co. dissolved in 1895, but not sure if this is the same company.
Trimble Patent Insulator Co.   c. 1894 Baltimore, MD Located at 311 W. Baltimore. Company sold insulators made by two patents granted to William D. Trimble: 503,778 and 527,254.
Trumbull Electric Mfg. Co. T in a circle; CARBONOT; TEMCO ?-1920's? Plainville, CT The company was listed in the 1922 Journal of the American Ceramic Society under the direction of J. M. Gilfillan. The company made electrical porcelain and plumbing fixtures. The 1921 EMF Electrical Year Book said the company manufactured wiring devices. President, J. H. Trumbull; vice-president, F. T. Wheeler; secretary, S. S. Gwillim; treasurer, Henry Trumbull. Factories in Plainville, CT and Trenton, NJ.
Turner Tunnicliff & Co.     England 0
Turku Potteries TP 1918-present Turku, Finland The name of the company is Oy Wartsila Ab Turku Pottery. They manufacture all sorts of porcelain insulators and for other ceramic applications.
U (top)
Union Electric Co.   c. 1906-?